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CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS 
TITLE 3.  DEPARTMENT OF FOOD AND AGRICULTURE 

Division 4.  Plant Industry 
Chapter 2.  Field Crops 

Subchapter 2.  Commercial Feed 
Article 11. Inspection Tax and Plant Licenses 

 (Notice published April 3, 2015) 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING 
  
 
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the California Department of Food and Agriculture 
(Department) proposes to amend Section 2751(b) of the California Code of Regulations 
pertaining to Licensing. 
 
PUBLIC HEARING 
 
The Department has not scheduled a public hearing on this proposed action.  However, 
the Department will hold a hearing if it receives a written request for a public hearing 
from any interested person, or his or her authorized representative, no later than 15 
days before the close of the written period. 
 
WRITTEN COMMENT PERIOD 
 
Any interested person, or his or her authorized representative, may submit written 
comments relevant to the proposed regulatory action to the Department.  Comments 
may also be submitted via facsimile (FAX) at (916) 900-5349 or by e-mail to 
jenna.areias@cdfa.ca.gov.  The written comment period closes at 5:00 p.m. on May 
18, 2015.  The Department will only consider comments received at the Department by 
that time.  Submit comments to: 
 
 Jenna Areias, Agriculture Program Supervisor 
 Feed, Fertilizer, and Livestock Drug Regulatory Services Branch 
 California Department of Food and Agriculture 
 1220 N Street, Sacramento, CA 95814 
 Telephone: (916) 900-5022; Fax: (916) 900-5349 
 
AUTHORITY AND REFERENCE 
 
Notice is hereby given that the Department of Food and Agriculture, pursuant to the 
authority vested by Sections 407 and 15051 of the Food and Agricultural Code (FAC), 
proposes to amend regulations in Title 3 of the California Code of Regulations and to 
implement, interpret, or make specific Section 15053 of the Food and Agricultural Code. 
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INFORMATIVE DIGEST/POLICY STATEMENT OVERVIEW 
 
Section 15053 of the California FAC authorizes the Secretary, with recommendation 
from the Feed Inspection Advisory Board, to set the feed license fee between $100 and 
$600 annually. 
 
Within the authority of the California FAC, Section 15053, the Department is proposing 
to amend Section 2751(b) of the California Code of Regulations, effective July 1, 2015, 
to increase the feed license fee from four hundred dollars ($400) to five hundred dollars 
($500) annually.  Existing regulation: Section 2751(a) exempts retail stores who sell 
packaged commercial feed labeled by licensed feed manufacturers from the licensing 
requirement. 
 
There is no existing, comparable federal regulation or statute regulating the commercial 
feed license fee.  The Department is the only agency which can implement regulations 
pertaining to animal feed licensing.  The additional funds will be used to hire staff 
necessary to maintain acceptable inspection frequency rates, feed sample collection 
levels, and expand feed safety outreach and education activities (Section 14961) to 
industry and farmers, and ensure the program reserve funds are maintained at a 
minimum of 25 percent as mandated in Food and Agriculture Code, Section 15053(b).  
 
Benefits of the Proposed Action: This proposed regulatory action will benefit the 
regulated industry by ensuring the program is effective and properly funded as required 
by Government Code Section 11346.5(a)(3)(d).  The Department has conducted an 
evaluation of this regulation and has determined that it is not inconsistent or 
incompatible with existing state regulations.  These regulations will contribute to a clean 
and wholesome supply of milk, meat, and eggs, as well as providing assurance that the 
product received by the consumer is of the quality and quantity purported by the 
manufacturer. 
 
DISCLOSURES REGARDING THE PROPOSED ACTION 
 
The Department has made the following initial determinations: 
 
Mandate on local agencies and school districts: None. 
 
Cost or savings to any state agency: None. 
 
Cost to any local agency or school district which must be reimbursed in accordance with 
Government Code sections 17500 through 17630: None. 
 
Other nondiscretionary cost or savings imposed on local agencies: None. 
 
Cost or savings in federal funding to the state: None. 
 
Cost impacts on a representative person or business: $100 yearly. 
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RESULTS OF THE ECONOMIC IMPACT ASSESSMENT/ANALYSIS 
 
As of September 2014, there are approximately 1,800 commercial feed licensees.  This 
number has remained fairly stable for a number of years and the Department does not 
anticipate a significant change in the number of licensees as a result of the proposed 
amendments of the regulations. 
 
The Department has determined that the proposed increase in the commercial license 
fee will cost each commercial feed licensee one hundred dollars ($100) per year to 
manufacture and/or distribute feed in California; hence the impact to the entire feed 
industry will be approximately $180,000.  The Department determined that the proposed 
increase in the commercial license fee will not have any impact on a person that makes 
only retail sales of commercial feed, or a person who manufacturers feed exclusively for 
feeding to his or her own animals as they are exempt from obtaining a commercial feed 
license (FAC Section §15051(b)(c)). 
 
The Department has approximately 800 licensees which qualify as small businesses in 
California, and the impact to these firms will be negligible.  The program raised the 
tonnage tax from $0.09 per ton to $0.12 per ton effective October 1, 2013, to minimize 
the impact of the license fee increase.  This provided some assistance, but increasing 
the license fee is an attempt to remedy the unbalanced fiscal dependence on tonnage 
tax and share the cost of the Feed Inspection Program with the commercial feed 
licensees. All commercial feed licensees have services provided by the program 
through inspection, label review for any feed product sold, and are also provided 
outreach and educational services by the Safe Animal Feed Education (SAFE) 
Program. Cost saving measures by the program include: reassigning staff to areas 
where animal feed production is greater, thereby minimizing travel distances and 
response times, and utilizing seasonal employees to assist in high feed tonnage 
reporting areas throughout the state. 
 
These regulations will not: 
 

(1) Create or eliminate jobs within California; 
(2) Create new businesses or eliminate existing businesses within California; or 
(3) Affect the expansion of businesses currently doing business within California. 
(4) Affect the benefits of the regulation to the health and welfare of California 

residents, worker safety, and the state’s environment. 
 
Benefits of the Proposed Action: This proposed regulatory action will benefit the 
regulated industry by ensuring equity in the marketplace (Section 14901(a)(b)) and the 
increased funds will be focused on feed safety issues (Section 14961). 
 
Statewide adverse economic impact directly affecting businesses and individuals: 
Although the proposed action will directly affect businesses statewide, including small 
businesses, the Department concludes that the adverse economic impact, including the 
ability of California businesses to compete with business in other states, will not be 
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significant. 
 
Significant effect on housing costs: None. 
 
SMALL BUSINESSES 
 
The proposed regulations will affect approximately 800 small businesses by one 
hundred dollars ($100) annually by increasing in the commercial feed license fee. 
 
CONSIDERATIONS OF ALTERNATIVES  
 
In accordance with Government Code section 11346.5, subdivision (a)(13), the 
Department must determine that no reasonable alternative it has considered or that has 
otherwise been identified and brought to the attention of the agency would be more 
effective in carrying out the purpose for which the action is proposed, would be as 
effective and less burdensome to affected private persons than the proposed action, or 
would be more cost-effective to affected private persons and equally effective in 
implementing the statutory policy or other provision of law. 
 
The Department considered leaving the feed license fee at the current annual rate of 
four hundred dollars ($400) annually.  If the fee remained the same, the program will not 
have sufficient funds to maintain and carry out the legislative intent of the program to 
provide a clean and wholesome supply of milk, meat, and eggs and provide assurance 
that product received by consumers is of the quality and quantity purported by the 
manufacturer. 
 
The Department additionally considered raising the tonnage tax modestly, to a rate of 
$0.13 per ton which, at 19 million tons of feed sold would cost the industry $190,000. 
However, like the alternative option above, only a small subset of the licensees pays the 
tonnage tax. This would place an unnecessary burden on a very small sector of the 
industry that is already paying a high percent of the overall tonnage tax to the program. 
 
The Department also considered raising the tonnage tax to its maximum rate of $0.15 
per ton.  However, only a small subset of the licensee’s pays the tonnage tax, and the 
Department raised the tonnage tax from nine cents ($0.09) per ton to twelve ($0.12) per 
ton in October 2013.  This increase assisted the program in increasing revenue, but 
would be a disproportionate increase to only one sector of the industry.  If the program 
raised the tonnage tax to fifteen cents ($0.15), it would cost the industry, as a whole, 
$570,000.  The significant increase would be disproportionate to the needs of the 
program. Furthermore, it would place an unnecessary burden on a small sector of the 
industry that pays the tonnage tax to the program.  
 
The Department has determined that no reasonable alternative considered by the 
Department, or that has otherwise been identified and brought to the attention of the 
Department, would be more effective in carrying out the purpose for which these 
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regulations are proposed, or would be effective as and less burdensome to affected 
private persons than the proposed regulations. 
 
The Department invites interested persons to present statements or arguments with 
respect to alternatives to the proposed regulations during the written comment period 
or, if requested, at a scheduled hearing. 
 
CONTACT PERSONS 
 
Inquiries concerning the proposed administrative action may be directed to: 
 
 Jenna Areias, Agriculture Program Supervisor 
 Feed, Fertilizer, and Livestock Drugs Regulatory Services Branch 
 California Department of Food and Agriculture 
 1220 N Street, Sacramento, CA 95814 
 Telephone: (916) 900-5022; Fax: (916) 900-5349 
 
The backup contact person for these inquiries is: 
 
  Maria Tenorio, Agriculture Program Supervisor 
  Feed, Fertilizer, and Livestock Drugs Regulatory Services Branch 
  California Department of Food and Agriculture 
  1220 N Street, Sacramento, CA 95814 
 Telephone: (916) 900-5022; Fax: (916) 900-5349 
 
Please direct requests for copies of the proposed text (the “express terms”) of the 
regulations, the initial statement of reasons, the modified text of the regulations, if any, 
or other information upon which the rulemaking is based to Jenna Areias at the above 
address. 
 
AVAILABILITY OF STATEMENT OF REASONS, TEXT OF PROPOSED 
REGULATIONS, AND RULEMAKING FILE 
 
The Department will have the rulemaking file available for inspection and copying 
throughout the rulemaking process at 2800 Gateway Oaks Drive, Sacramento, CA 
95833.  As of the date this notice is published in the Notice Register, the rulemaking file 
consists of this notice, the proposed text of the regulations, the initial statement of 
reasons, and Feed Inspection Advisory Board meeting minutes dated December 19, 
2012, April 30, 2013, December 10, 2013, and September 23, 2014.  Copies may be 
obtained by contacting Jenna Areias at the address or phone number provided. 
 
AVAILABILITY OF CHANGED OR MODIFIED TEXT 
 
After considering all timely and relevant comments received, the Department may adopt 
the proposed regulations substantially as described in this notice.  If the Department 
makes modifications which are sufficiently related to the originally proposed text, it will 
make the modified text (with the changes clearly indicated) available to the public for at 
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least 15 days before the Department adopts the regulations as revised.  Please send 
requests for copies of any modified regulations to the attention of Jenna Areias at the 
address provided.  The Department will accept written comments on the modified 
regulations for 15 days after the date on which they are made available. 
 
AVAILABILITY OF FINAL STATEMENT OF REASONS 

Upon its completion, copies of the Final Statement of Reasons may be obtained by 
contacting Jenna Areias at the address provided above. 
 
AVAILABILITY OF DOCUMENTS ON THE INTERNET 

Copies of the Notice of Proposed Action, the Initial Statement of Reasons, and the text 
of the regulations in underline and strikeout can be accessed through our website at: 
http://www.cdfa.ca.gov/is/regulations.html. 
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