California Department of Food and Agriculture (CDFA) Minutes

of the Meeting/Video Conferencing of the Nursery Advisory Board (NAB) Held on Monday, December 30, 2024 1220 N Street, Room 133 Sacramento, CA 95814

NURSERY ADVISORY BOARD MEMBERS

Voting Members Present: David Cox, Michael Frantz, James Hessler, Dustin Hooper, Bruce Jensen, Jay Jensen, Phillip Johnson, David Kirby, Josh Puckett, Daniel Waterhouse

Voting Members Absent: None

Ex Officio Nonvoting Members Present: Marcie Skelton

Ex Officio Nonvoting Members Absent: Kamal Bagri, Loren Oki, Emily Robidart Rooney, Wolfgang Schweigkofler, Marcie Skelton, Gerry Spinelli

OTHER ATTENDEES*

Michael Paule, Marcie Skelton, Kristina Weber

*As self-reported in the Zoom application

CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL

David Cox, Chair, called the meeting to order at 9:03 a.m. and conducted roll call. A quorum was present for the Board.

WELCOME AND OPENING REMARKS

Cox welcomed everyone and reviewed the topics of discussion.

NOMINATING COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATIONS FOR BOARD VACANCIES

Cox summarized the meeting of the Nominating Committee held on December 30, 2025. The Nominating Committee reviewed all applications for appointment to the Board, and recommended reappointment of Daniel Waterhouse, Michael Frantz, and Bruce Jensen and appointment of Mike Doiron and Carl Pongs. The Board discussed and accepted the recommendations from the Committee.

Board Motion #1

The Board recommended the approval of Daniel Waterhouse as a voting member of the NAB.

Motion: Michael Frantz Second: Jay Jensen

Details of Board Vote

In Favor: David Cox, Michael Frantz, Jim Hessler, Dustin Hooper, Bruce Jensen, Jay

Jensen, Phillip Johnson, David Kirby, Josh Puckett, Daniel Waterhouse

Against: None Abstain: None Absent: None

Board Motion #2

The Board recommended the approval of Michael Frantz as a voting member of the NAB.

Motion: Daniel Waterhouse

Second: Bruce Jensen

Details of Board Vote

In Favor: David Cox, Jim Hessler, Dustin Hooper, Bruce Jensen, Jay Jensen, Phillip

Johnson, David Kirby, Josh Puckett, Daniel Waterhouse

Against: None

Abstain: Michael Frantz

Absent: None

Board Motion #3

The Board recommended approval of Bruce Jensen as a voting member of the NAB.

Motion: Michael Frantz Second: Jim Hessler

Details of Board Vote

In Favor: David Cox, Michael Frantz, Jim Hessler, Dustin Hooper, Bruce Jensen, Jay

Jensen, Phillip Johnson, David Kirby, Josh Puckett, Daniel Waterhouse

Against: None Abstain: None Absent: None

Board Motion #4

The Board recommended approval of Mike Doiron as a voting member of the NAB.

Motion: Daniel Waterhouse

Second: David Kirby

Details of Board Vote

In Favor: David Cox, Michael Frantz, Jim Hessler, Dustin Hooper, Bruce Jensen, Jay

Jensen, Phillip Johnson, David Kirby, Josh Puckett, Daniel Waterhouse

Against: None Abstain: None Absent: None

Board Motion #5

The Board recommended approval of Carl Pongs as a voting member of the NAB.

Motion: Jim Hessler Second: Michael Frantz

Details of Board Vote

In Favor: David Cox, Michael Frantz, Jim Hessler, Dustin Hooper, Bruce Jensen, Jay

Jensen, Phillip Johnson, David Kirby, Josh Puckett, Daniel Waterhouse

Against: None Abstain: None Absent: None

Election of Officers

Cox reviewed the requirement to annually elect a chair and other officers and called for nominations. The Board discussed nominations for Chair and Vice Chair, and reached a consensus to re-elect David Cox and Daniel Waterhouse as Chair and Vice Chair, respectively.

Board Motion #6

The Board re-elects David Cox as the Chair of the Nursery Advisory Board.

Motion: Michael Frantz Second: Jay Jensen

Details of Board Vote

In Favor: Michael Frantz, Jim Hessler, Dustin Hooper, Bruce Jensen, Jay Jensen,

Phillip Johnson, David Kirby, Josh Puckett, Daniel Waterhouse

Against: None Abstain: David Cox Absent: None

Board Motion #7

The Board re-elects Daniel Waterhouse as the Vice Chair of the Nursery Advisory Board.

Motion: Michael Frantz Second: Jay Jensen

Details of Board Vote

In Favor: David Cox, Michael Frantz, Jim Hessler, Dustin Hooper, Bruce Jensen, Jay

Jensen, Phillip Johnson, David Kirby, Josh Puckett

Against: None

Abstain: Daniel Waterhouse

Absent: None

UPCOMING AND CURRENT BOARD VACANCIES

Weber noted that Phillip Johnson's and Josh Puckett's terms were set to expire on January 31, 2026.

There were three ex officio nonvoting member vacancies: representatives from Plant California Alliance, California Farm Bureau Federation, and PlantRight.

ADDITIONAL PUBLIC COMMENTS

None.

NEXT MEETING/AGENDA ITEMS

The next Board meeting was planned for Spring 2025, to be held in-person in Sacramento.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 11:54 a.m.

Respectfully submitted by:
Michael Paule, Associate Governmental Program Analyst
Nursery Services Program
California Department of Food & Agriculture