State of California Office of Administrative Law

In re:

Department of Food and Agriculture

Regulatory Action:

Title 03, California Code of Regulations

Amend sections: 4940, 4944, 4946

NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF CERTIFICATE OF COMPLIANCE

Government Code Sections 11349.1 and 11349.6(d)

OAL Matter Number: 2021-1118-01

OAL Matter Type: Certificate of Compliance (C)

This certificate of compliance action by the Department of Food and Agriculture makes permanent emergency regulations that amend the harvest timeframe for industrial hemp from within 15 days after sampling to within 30 days and amend the timeframes for pre-harvest and laboratory testing notifications.

OAL approves this regulatory action pursuant to section 11349.6(d) of the Government Code.

Date: December 30, 2021

Nicole C. Carrillo Attorney

For: Kenneth J. Pogue Director

Original: Karen Ross, Secretary Copy: Rachel Avila

D. 400 (REV. 10/2019) OAL FILE NOTICE FILE NUMBER NUMBERS Z- BOSISISION NUMBER REGULATORY ACTION NUMBER BOSISISION NUMBER			
For use by Office of Administrative Law (OAL) only			ENDORSED - FILEC in the office of the Secretary of State of the State of California
			DEC 30 2021
		E OF ADMIN. LAW 1 NOV 18 PM2:11	1:26 PM
NOTICE		REGULATIONS	
AGENCY WITH RULEMAKING AUTHORITY Department of Food and Agriculture	<u></u>	REGULATIONS	AGENCY FILE NUMBER (If any)
A. PUBLICATION OF NOTICE (Comple	te for publication in N	otice Register)	
1. SUBJECT OF NOTICE	TITLE(S)	FIRST SECTION AFFECTED	2. REQUESTED PUBLICATION DATE
Regulatory Action Other	GENCY CONTACT PERSON	TELEPHONE NUMBER	FAX NUMBER (Optional)
OAL USE ACTION ON PROPOSED NOTICE ONLY Approved as Approved as Modified	Disapprove Withdrawn		PUBLICATION DATE
B. SUBMISSION OF REGULATIONS (C	omplete when submit	ting regulations)	
a. SUBJECT OF REGULATION(S) 1b. ALL PREVIOUS RELA			ELATED OAL REGULATORY ACTION NUMBER(S)
adustrial Hemp Harvesting 2021-0330 SPECIFY CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS TITLE(S) AND SECTION(S) (Including title 26, if toxics related)		2021-0330-04E	E , ¹
(List all section number(s) individually. Attach AMEND additional sheet if needed.) 4940, 4944, 4 TITLE(S) REPEAL 3 REPEAL	946		•
3. TYPE OF FILING			
Resubmittal of disapproved provisions of Go or withdrawn nonemeroency before the emer	ompliance: The agency officer na hat this agency complied with the bv. Code §§11346.2-11347.3 eith gency regulation was adopted or period required by statute.	Gov. Code, §11346.1(h)) Changes Without Regulatory Effect (Cal. Code Regs., title 1, §100) Print Only
§11346.1(b)) emergency filing	lisapproved or withdrawn J (Gov. Code, §11346.1)	Other (Specify)	
ALL BEGINNING AND ENDING DATES OF AVAILABILITY OF MC	DIFIED REGULATIONS AND/OR MA	FERIAL ADDED TO THE RULEMAKING	FILE (Cal. Code Regs. title 1, §44 and Gov. Code §11347.1)
October 1 (Gov. Code §11343.4(a))	ve on filing with S100 Char ary of State Regulator		
CHECK IF THESE REGULATIONS REQUIRE NOTICE TO, OR RE Department of Finance (Form STD. 399) (SAM §6660)		OR CONCURRENCE BY, ANOTHER AC	GENCY OR ENTITY
Other (Specify)			
achel Avila	TELEPHONE NUMBER 916-698-2947	FAX NUMBER (Optional)	E-MAIL ADDRESS (Optional)
I certify that the attached copy of the regulation(s) is a true and correct copy of the regulation(s) identified on this form, that the information specified on this form is true and correct, and that I am the head of the agency taking this action, or a designee of the head of the agency, and am authorized to make this certification.		I on this form	use by Office of Administrative Law (OAL) only NDORSED APPROVED
GNATURE OF AGENCY HEAD OR DESIGNEE	DATE		DEC 3 0 2021
Mark A. McLoughlin Digitally signed by Mark A. McLou Date: 2021.11.18 10:11:07-08007 PED NAME AND TITLE OF SIGNATORY	^{ighlin} 11/18/2 ⁻		

In Title 3, California Code of Regulations, Division 4, Chapter 8, Article 2, amend:

§ 4940 Sampling Timeframe and Pre-Harvest Notification for Industrial Hemp

- (a) Sampling Timeframe.
 - (1) Samples shall be collected no more than 11 calendar days prior to the anticipated harvest start date listed on the pre-harvest report.
 - (2) Any changes to the harvest date that result in harvest activities to occur more than 30 calendar days after the sample collection date shall require additional sampling for THC concentration prior to harvest.
- (b) Sampling Request and Pre-Harvest Report.
 - (1) In order to request sampling, registrants shall submit a signed pre-harvest report to the commissioner at least 30 calendar days before the anticipated harvest start date to initiate the sampling process.
 - (2) A separate pre-harvest report shall be completed for each planting to be harvested. The pre-harvest report shall include the:
 - (A) registrant's registration number,
 - (B) name and contact information of the registrant,
 - (C) anticipated harvest start date,
 - (D) name(s) of the cultivar(s) to be harvested,
 - (E) physical address, Global Positioning System coordinates, general description of the planting location, and total acreage or square footage of the planting to be harvested, and
 - (F) name and contact information of the laboratory to conduct the testing for THC concentration.
 - (3) The pre-harvest report shall be accompanied by a sample analysis request form for each composite sample to be taken. The sample analysis request form shall be used to record the:
 - (A) name, contact information, and signature of the sample analysis requester,
 - (B) registration number,
 - (C) name and contact information of the commissioner,
 - (D) physical address, general description of the planting location, and total acreage or square footage of the planting sampled,
 - (E) lot identification number as provided by U.S. Department of Agriculture Farm Service Agency,
 - (F) name of the cultivar sampled,
 - (G) description of the planting to be sampled including estimated average height, appearance, approximate density, homogeneity, condition of the plants, and degree of maturity of flowering material,
 - (H) unique sample identification number for the composite sample,
 - (I) number of the samples taken,
 - (J) date and time of the sample collection,
 - (K) name and signature of the sampler,
 - (L) name and contact information of the approved laboratory conducting the THC testing,
 - (M) name and signature of the person testing the sample,
 - (N) date and time of the sample testing,
 - (O) testing instrumentation used to analyze the sample for THC concentration,

- (P) laboratory determination of THC concentration in accordance with Section 4942(c) and limit of detection (LOD), and
- (Q) chain of custody information including the name and signature of the person who received and delivered the sample, and the date, time, and location of each possession or transfer of the sample.
- (4) The Department shall make a template of a pre-harvest report and sample analysis request form available on the Department's website.
- (5) The sampler, as described in Section 4941(a)(1), shall schedule a sampling date.
- (6) Registrants shall notify the commissioner of any changes to the above information no less than two calendar days prior to the scheduled sampling date.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 407 and 81006, Food and Agricultural Code Reference: Section 81006, Food and Agricultural Code

§ 4944 Notification of Laboratory Test Report

- (a) Laboratories shall issue a separate laboratory test report for each composite sample.
- (b) The laboratory test report shall include the:
 - (1) registration number,
 - (2) unique sample identification number as assigned on the sample analysis request form,
 - (3) name and contact information of the registrant,
 - (4) name of the sampler,
 - (5) dates and times of the sample collection, testing, and test report,
 - (6) name of the cultivar tested,
 - (7) physical address, Global Positioning System coordinates, general description of the planting location, and total acreage or square footage of the planting sampled,
 - (8) name and contact information of the laboratory,
 - (9) name of approved analytical instrumentation used and the limit of detection (LOD),
 - (10) name of the person who received the sample,
 - (11) name of the person who tested the sample
 - (12) DEA registration number of the laboratory, if applicable,
 - (13) identification of a retest, if applicable,
 - (14) percentage concentration of THC in accordance with Section 4942,
 - (15) measurement of uncertainty as a \pm percentage value to the nearest thousandth, or three decimal places, at 95% confidence level,
 - (16) the words "OFFICIAL CALIFORNIA REGULATORY SAMPLE".
 - (17) and words "PASSED AS CALIFORNIA INDUSTRIAL HEMP" or "FAILED AS CALIFORNIA INDUSTRIAL HEMP" at or near the top of page.
 - (A) If the laboratory test report indicates a percentage concentration of THC that is within the acceptable hemp THC level, the words "PASSED AS CALIFORNIA INDUSTRIAL HEMP" shall appear.
 - (B) If the laboratory test report indicates a percentage concentration of THC that is greater than the acceptable hemp THC level, the words "FAILED AS CALIFORNIA INDUSTRIAL HEMP" shall appear.
- (c) Laboratories shall provide an electronic copy of the laboratory test report to the registrant and commissioner concurrently within 10 calendar days of the collection of samples.
- (d) Following the electronic notification of the laboratory test report, the laboratory shall:

- (1) report the test results for all samples tested to USDA.
- (2) provide the registrant no fewer than ten original paper copies with wet signatures of a passing laboratory test report, signed by an employee authorized to sign by the laboratory.
- (3) provide the registrant one or more paper copies of a failed laboratory test report, signed by an employee authorized to sign by the laboratory.
- (e) Upon request from the commissioner, the laboratory shall provide a copy of the completed sample analysis request form.
- (f) The laboratory shall retain one or more original copies of each laboratory test report and the completed sample analysis request form for a minimum of three years from the date of sampling.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 407 and 81006, Food and Agricultural Code Reference: Section 81006, Food and Agricultural Code

§ 4946 Final Disposition for Registered Industrial Hemp Crops

- (a) Registrants may harvest the sampled crop upon receipt of an electronic copy of a passing laboratory test report.
 - (1) Registrants shall submit a harvest report to the commissioner within 72 hours following the completion of the harvest. The harvest report shall include the:
 - (A) registration number,
 - (B) name and contact information of the registrant,
 - (C) harvest timeframe including start and end dates,
 - (D) name(s) of the cultivar(s),
 - (E) unique sample identification number(s) as assigned on the sample analysis request form and the percentage concentration of THC for each cultivar as reported on the laboratory test report,
 - (F) physical address, Global Positioning System coordinates, general description of the planting location, and total acreage or square footage of the harvested planting, and
 - (G) description and quantity of the material harvested.
 - (2) The Department shall make a template of a harvest report form available on the Department's website.
 - (3) Harvest shall be completed within 30 calendar days from the sampling date.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 407 and 81006, Food and Agricultural Code Reference: Section 81006, Food and Agricultural Code