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CALI FORN IA DEPAR TMENT O F 
FOOD & AGR I CULT URE 

July 26, 2019 

TO THE PERSON ADDRESSED: 

This letter is to notify you that the assessment to defray the cost of the 2019 crop year Grape Crush 
Report and Grape Acreage Report has been established by the Secretary as required by Section 55601.6 
of the Food and Agricultural Code.  A copy of the order establishing these assessments is on the reverse 
side of this letter.  Please note that the assessment rate has been increased from six cents ($.06) 
per ton to eight cents ($.08) per ton for the Grape Crush Report. 

The Grape Crush Report assessment rate has not been adjusted in over twenty years and the number of 
wineries has significantly increased over this period. The California Department of Food and Agriculture 
(CDFA) and United States Department of Agriculture – National Agricultural Statistics Service (USDA-
NASS), who cooperatively prepare the Report, have streamlined activities and implemented more 
efficient publication and postage processes to help lower costs, but other expenses such as staffing costs 
have increased over time, thereby necessitating an increase in the assessment. 

The total assessment for the 2019 marketing season, beginning July 1, 2019 and ending June 30, 2020, 
has been established at twelve cents ($0.12) per ton on all grapes received in California for crushing, 
fresh weight equivalent.  Eight cents ($.08) will defray the cost of preparing the Grape Crush Report; four 
cents ($.04) is for the Grape Acreage Report. The assessment for the Grape Acreage Report has not 
changed. The assessment is to be paid to the CDFA by each processor who crushes grapes.  One-half, 
or six cents ($0.06) per ton, of the assessment may be deducted by the processor from monies owed to 
the producer. 

The assessment for all grapes received for crushing from July 1, 2019 through December 15, 2019 are to 
be remitted to CDFA by the processor on or before January 10, 2020.  The Grape Crush Report 
assessment will also be due on January 10, 2020.  The assessment for all grapes received for crushing 
from December 16, 2019 through June 30, 2020 is to be paid on or before June 30, 2020. Assessment 
forms for remitting the fees will be mailed to vintners by November 2019 in time to meet the January 10 
and June 30 deadlines. 

The Pierce’s Disease Control Program assessment fee will be one dollar ($1.00) per one thousand 
dollars ($1,000) of value. This is a reduction from last year’s assessment of one dollar and fifty 
cents ($1.50). There is no exemption for wineries crushing fewer than 100 tons of their own or any 
grower’s grapes and the Pierce’s Disease assessment is the sole responsibility of the producer.  
However, the purchaser and/or processor are responsible for collecting the amount owed by the producer 
and subsequently remitting it to CDFA.  For your winery’s own grapes or grapes not purchased, you are 
required to pay the assessment based on the previous year’s value of those grapes as reported in Table 
10 of the 2018 Grape Crush Report.  All funds collected from growers and/or due for your own grapes will 
be remitted with the Grape Crush Report no later than January 10, 2020. 

Any processor who fails to submit this report, as prescribed, may be subject to enforcement action. Any 
producer who fails to pay the assessment and any processor who fails to collect and remit assessments 
within the time required may also be subject to late penalties. 

If you have any questions about the grape crush assessment fees or reporting times, please contact 
Jennifer Van Court or Lena Schwedler at (916) 738-6600, CDFA, Agricultural Statistics Branch, 650 
Capitol Mall, Suite 6-100, Sacramento, CA  95814.  Any questions about the Pierce’s Disease Control 
Program and/or assessment may be referred to the Program at (916) 900-5024. 

Sincerely, 

Jeff Cesca, Director 
Division of Marketing Services 

Division of Marketing Services   ● P.O. Box 942871 ● Sacramento, California 94299 State of California 

Telephone:  916.738.6600 ● Fax:  855.270.2722 ● www.cdfa.ca.gov Gavin Newsom, Governor 

www.cdfa.ca.gov


 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 

 
  

  
 

 
   

    
 

 
    

  
   

  
 

 
    

   
   
  

     
  

 
    

      
  

   
     

      
 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 

 
      

 

ORDER OF THE DEPARTMENT OF FOOD AND AGRICULTURE 
ESTABLISHING A FEE ON PRODUCERS AND PROCESSORS OF GRAPES 

RECEIVED FOR CRUSHING DURING THE 2019 MARKETING SEASON, 
JULY 1, 2019 THROUGH JUNE 30, 2020 

WHEREAS, the Department of Food and Agriculture of the State of California 
acting pursuant to and by virtue of the authority vested by the provisions of Chapter 6, 
Division 20, of the Food and Agricultural Code, and 

WHEREAS, the Department has determined that fees of eight cents ($0.08) and 
four cents ($0.04) per ton of grapes received for crushing by processors who crush 
more than 100 tons of grapes, fresh weight equivalent, are proper, equitable and 
necessary to cover the costs of the Grape Crush Report and the Grape Acreage Report, 
respectively, for the 2019 crop and 

WHEREAS, in accordance with the provisions of Section 55601.6 of the Food 
and Agricultural Code, a total fee of twelve cents ($0.12) per ton of grapes received for 
crushing, fresh weight equivalent, including any grapes produced by the processor is to 
be paid by the processor who crushes the grapes; one-half of the fee or six cents 
($0.06) per ton of grapes received for crushing may be deducted from monies owed to 
the producer of the grapes. 

NOW, THEREFORE, the Department of Food and Agriculture of the State of 
California does hereby approve and establish the fee of twelve cents ($0.12) per ton of 
grapes received for crushing, fresh weight equivalent, including any grapes produced by 
the processor to be paid by the processor who crushes the grapes during the 2019 
marketing season beginning July 1, 2019 and ending June 30, 2020 one-half of the fee 
or six cents ($0.06) per ton of grapes received for crushing may be deducted from 
monies owed to the producer of the grapes. 

By: 

Jeff Cesca, Director 
Division of Marketing Services 


