

July 21, 2021

TO THE PERSON ADDRESSED:

This letter is to notify you that the assessment to defray the cost of the 2021 crop year <u>Grape Crush Report and Grape Acreage Report</u> has been established by the Secretary as required by Section 55601.6 of the Food and Agricultural Code. A copy of the order establishing these assessments is on the reverse side of this letter. **The assessment rate will be the same as last year.**

The total assessment for the 2021 marketing season, beginning July 1, 2021 and ending June 30, 2022, has been established at twelve cents (\$0.12) per ton on all grapes received in California for crushing, fresh weight equivalent. Eight cents (\$.08) will defray the cost of preparing the Grape Crush Report; four cents (\$.04) is for the Grape Acreage Report. The assessment for the Grape Acreage Report has not changed. The assessment is to be paid to the CDFA by each processor who crushes grapes. One-half, or six cents (\$0.06) per ton, of the assessment may be deducted by the processor from monies owed to the producer.

The assessment for all grapes received for crushing from July 1, 2021 through December 15, 2021 are to be remitted to CDFA by the processor on or before January 10, 2022. The Grape Crush Report assessment will also be due on January 10, 2022. The assessment for all grapes received for crushing from December 16, 2021 through June 30, 2022 is to be paid on or before June 30, 2022. Assessment forms for remitting the fees will be mailed to vintners in November 2021 in time to meet the January 10 and June 30 deadlines.

The Pierce's Disease Control Program assessment fee will be one dollar (\$1.00) per one thousand dollars (\$1,000) of value. **This is unchanged from last year's assessment.** There is no exemption for wineries crushing fewer than 100 tons of their own or any grower's grapes and the Pierce's Disease assessment is the sole responsibility of the producer. However, the purchaser and/or processor are responsible for collecting the amount owed by the producer and subsequently remitting it to CDFA. For your winery's own grapes or grapes not purchased, you are required to pay the assessment based on the previous year's value of those grapes as reported in Table 10 of the 2020 Grape Crush Report. All funds collected from growers and/or due for your own grapes will be remitted with the Grape Crush Report no later than January 10, 2022.

Any processor who fails to submit this report, as prescribed, may be subject to enforcement action. Any producer who fails to pay the assessment and any processor who fails to collect and remit assessments within the time required may also be subject to late penalties.

If you have any questions about the grape crush assessment fees or reporting times, please contact Jennifer Van Court or Lena Schwedler at (916) 738-6600, CDFA, Agricultural Statistics Branch, 650 Capitol Mall, Suite 6-100, Sacramento, CA 95814. Any questions about the Pierce's Disease Control Program and/or assessment may be referred to the Program at (916) 900-5024.

Sincerely,

Kathy Diaz, Director Division of Marketing Services



ORDER OF THE DEPARTMENT OF FOOD AND AGRICULTURE ESTABLISHING A FEE ON PRODUCERS AND PROCESSORS OF GRAPES RECEIVED FOR CRUSHING DURING THE 2021 MARKETING SEASON, JULY 1, 2021 THROUGH JUNE 30, 2022

WHEREAS, the Department of Food and Agriculture of the State of California acting pursuant to and by virtue of the authority vested by the provisions of Chapter 6, Division 20, of the Food and Agricultural Code, and

WHEREAS, the Department has determined that fees of eight cents (\$0.08) and four cents (\$0.04) per ton of grapes received for crushing by processors who crush more than 100 tons of grapes, fresh weight equivalent, are proper, equitable and necessary to cover the costs of the Grape Crush Report and the Grape Acreage Report, respectively, for the 2021 crop and

WHEREAS, in accordance with the provisions of Section 55601.6 of the Food and Agricultural Code, a total fee of twelve cents (\$0.12) per ton of grapes received for crushing, fresh weight equivalent, including any grapes produced by the processor is to be paid by the processor who crushes the grapes; one-half of the fee or six cents (\$0.06) per ton of grapes received for crushing may be deducted from monies owed to the producer of the grapes.

NOW, THEREFORE, the Department of Food and Agriculture of the State of California does hereby approve and establish the fee of twelve cents (\$0.12) per ton of grapes received for crushing, fresh weight equivalent, including any grapes produced by the processor to be paid by the processor who crushes the grapes during the 2021 marketing season beginning July 1, 2021 and ending June 30, 2022 one-half of the fee or six cents (\$0.06) per ton of grapes received for crushing may be deducted from monies owed to the producer of the grapes.

By:

Kathy Diaz, Director Division of Marketing Services