

June 24, 2025

MARKET ENFORCEMENT BRANCH

NOTICE OF FEE CHANGE EFFECTIVE August 1, 2025



TO ALL INTERESTED PARTIES:

The Market Enforcement Advisory Committee (MEAC), an advisory board to the California Department of Food and Agriculture (CDFA), recently recommended increasing license and complaint fees related to the Market Enforcement Branch (MEB). The new rates will allow MEB to continue providing services that deter unfair business practices and financial victimization, such as monitoring the financial health of licensees, conducting timely and thorough investigations, and pursuing disciplinary and/or legal action against violators. CDFA has decided to make the new fees effective August 1, 2025.

Revenue generated from license and complaint fees allows MEB to protect farmers and handlers by ensuring buyers are in good financial standing and honor the financial and contractual commitments they make when acquiring California farm products. These activities are conducted pursuant to the Produce Dealers Act and the Processors Law (Chapters 6 and 7 of Division 20 of the California Food and Agricultural Code).

The new fee schedule will be as follows:

New LICENSE Fee effective August 1, 2025
Category 1 (Under \$20,000)
\$170
Category 2 (\$20,000 - less than \$50,000)
\$245
Category 3 (\$50,000 - less than \$2,000,000)
\$360
Category 4 (\$2,000,000 - less than
\$4,000,000)
\$475
NEW Category 5 (\$4,000,000 and over)
\$500
Agent
\$80

New COMPLAINT Fee effective August 1, 2025
Category 1 (Under \$100,000)
\$125
Category 2 (\$100,000 - less than \$250,000) \$135
Category 3 (\$250,000 and over) \$145

We appreciate your understanding and thank you for your continued support. If you have any questions regarding this fee increase or MEB's activities, please contact the Branch directly at 916-900-5016 or visit us at www.cdfa.ca.gov/mkt/meb.

Sincerely,

Annaraine Diaz, Branch Chief Market Enforcement Branch

