State of California
DEPARTMENT OF FOOD AND AGRICULTURE
COUNTY LICENSING PROGRAM
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Licensing Exams For
COUNTY SEALER OF WEIGHTS AND MEASURES
DEPUTY COUNTY SEALER OF WEIGHTS AND MEASURES
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For questions or assistance regarding licensing exams, please contact:
Merry Wells, in the CDFA County Licensing Program at:
merry.wells@cdfa.ca.gov or 916-653-5866
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HOW TO FILE

Applications may be obtained and filed electronically at:

https://apps4.cdfa.ca.gov/countylicensingexam/

or, mailed or hand delivered to:

California Department of Food and Agriculture, Cashier
1220 "N" Street
Sacramento, California 95814.

Hard copies of application forms may be obtained in person from the California Department of Food and Agriculture, County
Licensing Program, 1220 "N" Street, Room 444, Sacramento, California 95814 or from any County Agricultural Commissioner

Office.

Applications must be accompanied by appropriate fees (see Fee Section). Applications without fees will not be accepted.

APPLICATION CUT-OFF DATES

Applications will be accepted continuously. Qualified candidates submitting applications before each cut-off date will be
scheduled for testing in the corresponding administration period indicated below. Applications received after a cut-off date will

be held over for the next administration period.

Exams will be administered two times per 12-month period. For 2015, the cut-off and anticipated exam dates are:

Written Exams

Application cut-off date Exam Administration

January 16, 2015 March 16 — 20, 2015
July 10, 2015 September 14 - 18, 2015

Oral Exams

Application cut-off date Exam Administration
March 20, 2015 May/Jun 2015 (dates TBD)
September 18, 2015 Nov/Dec 2015 (dates TBD)
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FEES

A fee of $75.00 will be charged for the administration of each exam. Candidates successfully passing the written exam will be
automatically registered to take the next scheduled oral exam without additional fees.

Candidates that have failed in their previous attempt to pass the oral exam must re-apply and pay the $75.00 fee to register for
the oral portion of the exam. Candidates that have passed the written portion of the exam will be given up to five (5) attempts
to pass the oral exam before being required to re-take the written exam.

Fees for all exams must be remitted with the application. Applications received without appropriate fees will not be accepted. If
applying online, fees may be paid by credit card. If mailing or hand delivering the application, fees are payable via check or
money order made out to “CDFA CASHIER.”

Refunds will be issued to candidates not meeting minimum qualifications. Under extenuating circumstances, candidates unable
to take scheduled written exams may be granted credit for future exams, if notification is received by the CDFA County Licensing
Program prior the exam date. No refunds or credit will be granted to candidates failing to request cancelation of exams before
the date of the exam.

MINIMUM QUALIFICATIONS

All candidates must meet the following criteria to be admitted to the exam:

COUNTY SEALER OF WEIGHTS AND MEASURES
(1) Possession of a valid statewide Deputy County Sealer of Weights and Measures; and

(2) Four (4) years of experience in the enforcement of agricultural or weights and measures laws, at least two (2) years
of which shall have included management, supervisory, or program responsibility experience; and

(3) A minimum of 80 hours of instruction in management and/or supervisory practices, obtained through organized
classroom training, in-service training, or accredited correspondence courses. (The 80 hours of management
and/or supervisory instruction shall be in addition to the educational training which could be used to qualify for
the Deputy County Sealer of Weights and Measures license. The courses, number of hours of instruction, and
dates completed must be listed on the application or an attachment.)

DEPUTY COUNTY SEALER OF WEIGHTS AND MEASURES

(1) Possession of valid statewide County Weights and Measures Inspector licenses in all categories for which licenses
are issued; and

(2) Two (2) years of experience in the enforcement of agricultural or weights and measures laws or in agricultural pest
control or in the production, processing, or marketing of agricultural commodities. This experience must have
been at a level comparable to County Agricultural or Weights and Measures Inspector; and

(3) Persons holding the required valid licenses shall be deemed to meet the educational requirements.

EXAM LOCATIONS

Written exams will typically be administered at the Agricultural Commissioner/Sealer of Weights and Measures office located in
each county. Candidates currently employed a county will be scheduled in that county. Candidates not currently employed by a
county will be scheduled in the county in which they live.

Oral Exams will be scheduled regionally depending on the number of participating candidate in any given area.
If there is a need to change exam locations, contact the CDFA County Licensing Program to make arrangements before the date

of the exam. Although every effort will be made to accommodate location change requests, no guarantee of granting all
requests is made.



SCOPE OF THE EXAMINATIONS

WRITTEN EXAMINATIONS: The written examination will consist of multiple choice questions for both County Sealer of
Weights and Measures and Deputy County Sealer of Weights and Measures candidates. Multiple choice questions will be
based on:

1. Administration, management and supervision which will include personnel administration, program planning,
budgeting, training, and public relations and may include sexual harassment policies, labor relations policies, Americans
with Disabilities Act and workplace violence issues.

2. Laws and regulations relating to the management practices of County Sealers of Weights and Measures.
3. Structure and function of county government.
4. California Department of Food and Agriculture, Division of Measurement Standards policies relating to county weights

and measures programs.

Note: Candidates that possess a Deputy Agricultural Commissioner license and meet the minimum qualifications for the
Deputy Sealer examination will only be tested on the questions specific to Deputy Sealer on the multiple-choice portion of
the written examination.

DEPUTY SEALER OF WEIGHTS AND MEASURES (WRITTEN): In addition to the above multiple choice questions, three (3)
essay problems will be included on the examination. Each essay problem will be worth 25 points. Essay problems will be
based on three (3) of the following:

1. Administration, management and supervision may include sexual harassment prevention, Labor Relations,
Americans with Disabilities Act and workplace violence issues.

2. Program planning
3. Budgeting

4, Training

5.

Public relations

Essay problems will be scored by three (3) raters. The average of the three (3) raters will be used to compute the final essay
score. Each essay problem will be rated on the following:

Basic understanding of problem

All facts covered

Organization of facts

Mechanics of English, sentence structure, spelling, punctuation, etc.
Neatness and legibility
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ORAL EXAMINATION: Each candidate successful in the written examination will be rated on essential personal
qualifications including initiative, good judgment, and ability to work cooperatively with others through a structured oral
examination.

Candidates for Commissioner will be evaluated on the basis of all their qualifications including their leadership abilities,
supervisory and management skills, ability and potential to head a county department and an understanding of agricultural
activities and issues, preferably with management and field experience.

Candidates for Deputy Commissioner will be evaluated on the basis of all their qualifications including their supervisory and
management skills, ability and potential as supervisors/managers, and must be well versed in agricultural activities, issues,
policies enforcement procedures and actions, preferably with supervisory and field experience.

GENERAL INFORMATION: A minimum rating of 70 percent must be attained in the written portion of the examination. The
oral examination will be scored on a pass/fail basis.



RIGHT OF APPEAL

Exam results may be appealed within thirty (30) days after the Notice of Exam Results has been mailed. Appeals must be in
writing and addressed to the Secretary of the California Department of Food and Agriculture, 1220 "N" Street, Sacramento,
California 95814. To be considered, appeals must include the exam title, date of exam, and basis of appeal. Written
examination material will not be made available for review.

LICENSES

Per the California Food and Agricultural Code and California Code of Regulations, County Agricultural Commissioners and
Deputy Agricultural Commissioners, are required to possess licenses demonstrating job proficiency. While the California
Department of Food and Agriculture is tasked with overseeing the testing and licensing of potential candidates, each county is
responsible for hiring and determining the qualifications of its own employees. To be hired, candidates must qualify for the
licenses of eligibility exams and meet all requirements of the hiring county. Counties may require additional experience or
education beyond that of the licensing exam requirement.

Upon successful completion of the license exam, a license of eligibility will be issued to the candidate. Licenses are valid for five
(5) years unless revoked. Licenses of eligibility shall be renewed upon expiration without further exam if the holder is employed
in any county agricultural inspector/biologist or weights and measures position, with the California Department of Food and
Agriculture, or with the California Department of Pesticide Regulation.

A holder of a license of eligibility who is not employed in a county agricultural inspector/biologist or weights and measures
inspector position, with the California Department of Food and Agriculture, or with the California Department of Pesticide
Regulation, but who otherwise meets the minimum license qualifications, may apply to renew the license prior to its expiration
upon successful completion of a requalifying exam.
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