DEPUTY WEIGHMASTER SELF HELP EXAM

A statewide random survey to determine the baseline compliance levels for weighmaster's providing a public weighing service was conducted within California from December 2000 through February 2001. Weighmaster certificates were purchased undercover throughout the state at randomly selected locations that weigh the public for hire. The results of the survey indicate that many deputy weighmasters at these scales committed violations in the following areas:

- Weighing the vehicle with a person remaining in the vehicle.
- Inserting a tare weight of the vehicle without actually weighing the vehicle.
- Failing to eliminate unused weight spaces with "Gross Only", "Tare Only", or "Net Only".
- Using initials or an incomplete signature when signing the certificate.
- Failing to sufficiently identify the commodity.
- Failing to identify the owner or agent and consignee the buyer and seller.
- Failing to identify the vehicle(s) by license number(s).
- Weighing without being licensed as a deputy weighmaster.

Each of these violations is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to \$1,000, plus penalty assessments, and/or six months in jail.

The California Business and Professions Code, Division 5, Chapter 7, Section 12710 states the following:

"A weighmaster may employ or designate any person to act for the weighmaster as a deputy weighmaster and **shall be responsible for all acts performed by that person**." (Bold added for emphasis)

The Division of Measurement Standards, Weighmaster Enforcement/Petroleum Products Branch, Special Investigations Unit will continue to purchase undercover weighmaster certificates at scales that weigh the public for hire. Violations found may result in enforcement action being taken against both the principal weighmaster and the deputy who committed the violation.

In an effort to help principal weighmasters with their responsibility to train their deputies, the Division of Measurement Standards has created a self-administered fifteen question examination. The examination is on this web site and covers the important responsibilities of deputies regarding the completion of weighmaster certificates.

PUBLIC SCALES - DEPUTY WEIGHMASTER SELF HELP EXAM

1. Your scale must be maintained at?

- a. 100 pounds on either side of zero
- b. Zero balance
- c. It does not matter where the scale starts
- d. 20 pounds on either side of zero

2. In order to issue a weighmaster certificate you must be?

- a. Over 18 years of age
- b. Able to read and write
- c. Listed as a deputy weighmaster on the principal weighmaster license
- d. A licensed driver

3. As a deputy weighmaster, when you sign a weighmaster certificate, you must?

- a. Sign your initials only
- b. Sign your complete name as it appears on the weighmaster license
- c. Sign your nickname
- d. Sign your supervisor's name

4. As a deputy weighmaster, you must?

- a. Date each weight that you determine
- b. Place a thumbprint opposite each weight you determine
- c. Indicate the weighmaster license number opposite each weight you determined
- d. No date of weighing is required

5. As a deputy weighmaster, you must not?

- a. Ask the truck driver questions
- b. Issue an incomplete certificate all applicable information must be filled in and be clear and legible
- c. Identify the commodity
- d. Dispute information provide by the driver

6. The vehicle or combination of vehicles being weighed and certified must be identified by?

- a. Make and model of truck and trailer
- b. Make and color
- c. Vehicle license number of the truck and each trailer
- d. Vehicle license of truck only

7. If you do not count the number of units of the commodity that you are weighing, what must you show on the weighmaster certificate?

- a. The number of units followed by the words "driver's count" or "DC" or "loader's count" or "LC" as applicable
- b. Just the number of units on the load
- c. No count is necessary
- d. You must count the units yourself as the deputy weighmaster

8. If you are weighing hay or hay products, what information is needed on the weighmaster certificate?

- a. The grower's name only
- b. The type of hay only
- c. The address of the buyer only
- d. The type of hay, the grower's name and address as provided by the truck driver, the number of bales of hay followed by "DC" or "LC" as applicable

9. As a deputy weighmaster, what do you do with a weighmaster certificate on which you made an error?

- a. Throw it away
- b. Write "VOID" across it and keep all copies as part of the records for four years
- c. Keep the top copy and throw the remaining copies away
- d. Turn it over and use it as scratch paper

10. How long must you keep a copy of all issued weighmaster certificates, voided weighmaster certificates and records and worksheets?

- a. 1 year
- b. 2 years
- c. 3 years
- d. 4 years

- 11. Is it permissible for a deputy weighmaster to alter gross weights, tare weights or net only weights on a weighmaster certificate?
- a. No
- b. Yes
- 12. If you only determine one weight on the weighmaster certificate, where must you write the words "Gross Only", "Tare Only", or "Net Only"?
- a. Any where on the face of the certificate
- b. Next to your signature
- c. In the appropriate unused weight spaces
- d. In the remarks area
- 13. Generally, as a deputy weighmaster at a public scale when issuing a weighmaster certificate, should you accept the driver's word for the tare weight of the vehicle?
- a. Yes
- b. No
- 14. As a deputy weighmaster at a public scale and issuing a weighmaster certificate, must you require all persons to exit the vehicle and scale deck?
- a. Never, because of safety concerns
- b. All persons must be out of the vehicle and off the scale deck
- c. Not if the driver has a partner in the sleeper of the vehicle
- d. Only during daylight hours
- 15. When weighing a vehicle or combination of vehicles, which is too long for your scale and issuing a weighmaster certificate, which is correct?
- a. You must weigh the front portion with the trailer connected and then have the driver move forward to weigh the rear portion.
- b. You may not weigh the vehicle at all
- c. You must have the driver disconnect the trailers and weigh them separately. The weights may then be combined for the issuance of the weighmaster certificate.
- d. You may weigh the vehicle or combination of vehicles however it is convenient

ANSWERS

1. b. Reference: B & P Code, §12107, 12510(a)(1), 12718(e); CCR, §4000.2.20

U.R.4.1

2. c. Reference: B & P Code, §12703

3. b. Reference: B & P Code, §12715(c)

4. a. Reference: B & P Code, §12715(a)

5. b. Reference: B & P Code, §12713

6. c. Reference: B & P Code, §12715(I)

7. a. Reference: B & P Code, §12715(e)

8. d. Reference: B & P Code, §12715(f)

9. b. Reference: B & P Code, §12716

10. d. Reference: B & P Code, §12716

11. a. Reference: B & P Code, §12718(h)

12. c. Reference: B & P Code, §12713, 12735; CCR, §4410(a)(b)(c)

13. b. Reference: B & P Code, §12721, 12722

14. b. Reference: B & P Code, §12724

15. c. Reference: B & P Code, §12728