Registered Service Agency Program



California Department of Food and Agriculture Division of Measurement Standards 6790 Florin Perkins Road, Suite 100 Sacramento, CA 95828 www.cdfa.ca.gov/dms/





The Registered Service Agency Program is responsible for registering service agencies and their employees who, for hire or payment of any kind, repair commercial weighing and measuring devices.

Agency Information

Registration

If your business repairs commercial weighing and measuring devices for reward, it is a service agency, and you must register with the California Department of Food and Agriculture through the Division of Measurement Standards. Registration is annual and starts on the first day of the month you are required to register as a service agency. It is important that you register before repairing commercial devices since this would be a violation subject to penalty and additional late fees. You may download an application form here.

Responsibilities

You must register any employee who repairs a commercial device and notify us of any employee who leaves your employ.

You must notify the county sealer of any repair in writing within 24 hours. Sample placed in service report.

Your company must have a current copy of the California Code of Regulations, Title 4 Division 9, Field Reference Manual. This manual contains the specifications and tolerances your agents will need for the commercial devices they will be working on and is available at http://www.cdfa.ca.gov/dms/publications.html.

You must possess or have available suitable standards for the type of work your agents will be doing. All standards used to determine the accuracy of a device must have a current certificate of accuracy.

Rights

As a service agency all of your registered and licensed service agents have the authority to remove out of order notices (red tags) and to place correct devices into service.

Agent Information

Licensing

If you are employed by a service agency to repair devices you must possess a service agent license. This license may be obtained by taking and passing an examination available by appointment at any <u>county sealers</u> office or by contacting the Division of Measurement Standards at <u>www.cdfa.ca.gov/dms</u> or calling (916) 229-3000. This examination will test your knowledge of your legal rights and responsibilities and other requirements when performing your work. It will not ask any questions about diagnosing problems or your ability to repair devices.

Responsibilities

As a representative of the agency, you must notify the county sealer of any repair in writing within 24 hours. Sample <u>placed in service report</u>.

Your company must have a current copy of the California Code of Regulations, Title 4 Division 9, Field Reference Manual. This manual contains the specifications and tolerances you will need for the commercial devices you will be working on and is available at <u>http://www.cdfa.ca.gov/dms/publications.html</u>

You must use suitable standards for the type of work you will be doing. All standards used to determine the accuracy of a device must have a current certificate of accuracy.

Rights

As a registered and licensed service agent you have the authority to remove out of order notices (red tags) and to place correct devices into service.

Enforcement

Local weights and measures officials regularly monitor the work of service agents, and will notify the employing agency of any improper repair or incorrect/inaccurate placed-in-service report. Repeated violations may result in the suspension or revocation of your registration. Each violation may subject the agency and the agent to fines or penalties.

General Terms and Definitions

Commercial Weighing Or Measuring Device	Any device, contrivance, apparatus, or instrument used, or designed to be used, for obtaining weight or measure and includes any tool, appliance, or accessory used or connected to the device.		
Correct	In addition to being accurate, a weighing or measuring device that meets all tolerance and specification requirements.		
County Sealer	Is any sealer appointed by the county. A county may, in its discretion, refer to its sealer as the county director of weights and measures.		
Certificate of Accuracy of Standards	A certificate that is issued for weighing and measuring standards that have been tested and certified by the Division or other approved metrology laboratories.		
Placed In Service	Permit the use of a device that has been tested and found to be correct, as defined in subdivision (c) of Section 12500, and type approved, as provided for in Section 12500.5, or to submit a device to a sealer for verification prior to installation.		
Repair	In any of its variant forms, means to provide maintenance or to install, adjust, recondition, or service a device.		
Service Agency	Any person, firm, corporation, or association who repairs commercial weighing and measuring devices for payment.		
Service Agent	A person employed by a Service Agency to install, service, repair or recondition commercial weighing and measuring devices.		

Questions and Answers

The following information provides you with answers to frequently asked questions and should be used only as a guide and not considered to be a legal authority.



Who Must Register as a Service Agency?

Any person, firm, corporation, or association who repairs commercial weighing and measuring devices for payment of any kind is a service agency and must be registered with the Department of Food and Agriculture. Contact the Division of Measurement Standards at (916) 229-3000 for an application form or click on the link to download an <u>application form</u>.



How much does it cost to Register as a Service Agency?

A fee of \$200 is charged to register your primary location and \$100 to register each additional location. Additionally, a fee of \$25 is required for each Service Agent employed by the Service Agency.



What do I need to do to comply with the Service Agency law?

You must:

- Register with the California Department of Food and Agriculture and pay all required fees.
- Forward the names of service agents in your employ within 30 days of hiring.
- Possess, or have available for use, <u>suitable certified standards</u> and testing equipment for each type of device for which you provide service.

- Possess and have available a current "Certificate of Accuracy" for the standards used.
- Possess a current copy of the Field Reference Manual containing the California Code of Regulations, Title 4, Division 9, Section 4000.
 Contact the <u>Division of Measurement Standards</u> at (916) 229-3000 or by e-mail to <u>DMS@cdfa.ca.gov</u>. You may download a copy at <u>www.cdfa.ca.gov/dms/publications.html</u>.
- Ensure all service agents in your employ have a current license.



What is a Registered Service Agent?

An **agent** is a person who, works for a Service Agency and installs, services, repairs or reconditions commercial weighing or measuring devices.

The cost to register as a service agent is \$25. Service Agents must be employed by a Service Agency and be registered with the Department of Food and Agriculture. An agent is also required to obtain a license.



How do I obtain a Service Agent license? What is the cost?

You must take and pass the service agent exam with a score of 70% or higher. The exam fee is \$35. The examination may be taken by appointment at any county sealer's office or at the Division of Measurement Standards. The service agent license is valid for five years. Click on the link for a list of the <u>county sealer's offices</u>. For other locations designated by the Division of Measurement Standards call (916) 229-3000 or by e-mail to <u>DMS@cdfa.ca.gov</u>.



What do I need to know to pass the exam?

To help you prepare for the service agent exam refer to the California Business and Professions Code, Division 5, Chapter 5, Sections 12500 - 12544. It would also be helpful to study the following sections from the California Code of Regulations, Title 4, Division 9 "Weights and Measures":

- Introduction
- General Code [1.10]
- Definitions
- Chapter 4

You may also obtain additional information from the DMS Study Guide.



What do I do if I don't pass the exam?

Applicants failing to receive a passing score may schedule an appointment to be re-examined. A fee of \$35 is charged for each re- examination.



Where can I get my standards certified?

Standards must have a certificate of accuracy provided by the Department of Food and Agriculture or from a <u>certified calibration source</u>.

Γ	契约書	<u> </u>	
		的書	
	=		
		-	

How do I add a Service Agent or an additional location to my Service Agency Registration?

If you are adding or deleting names or locations to your Service Agency Registration certificate:

- Make a photocopy of your Service Agency Registration certificate.
- If you are **adding a name**, print the name on the photocopy. A \$25.00 fee is required.
- If you are **deleting a name**, draw a line through the name you are deleting on the photocopy.
- If you are **adding a location**, a \$100.00 fee is required. Include the following information on the photocopy:
 - a) Address of the new location
 - b) City and zip code
 - c) County
 - d) Telephone number
 - e) Type of devices
- If no fees are required, fax your changes to (916) 229-3026.
- If fees are required, mail your request with the appropriate fee amount to:

CASHIER Department of Food and Agriculture PO Box 942872 Sacramento CA 94271-2872