

# Registered Service Agency Program REGISTERED SERVICE AGENT LICENSING EXAMINATION

STUDY GUIDE

#### Purpose and Objective

- In order to become a Registered Service Agent (RSA), you must first take an examination to obtain your license. This study guide was developed to assist you in successfully passing the RSA license examination.
- Once you have reviewed this study guide, you will be able to identify the requirements as set forth in the California Business and Professions Code and the California Code of Regulations. This written examination focuses on the laws and regulations governing weights and measures.

[BP Code, Division 5, Chapter 5.5, Article 4 Section 12540] [CCR, Title 4, Division 9, Chapter 4, Section 4083(a) (c))(f)]

#### **Examination**

#### Before you start, a brief explanation about the exam:

- Link for the exam: https://apps1.cdfa.ca.gov/serviceagentexam/
- There is a \$35.00 examination fee.
- The examination will test your knowledge of your legal rights and responsibilities as a RSA when performing your work. It will not ask any questions about diagnosing problems or your ability to repair devices.
- A passing score of 70 percent or greater is required to qualify for a license.
- You will need approximately 1 to 2 hours to complete the exam.

#### Examination continued......

- If you experience technical problems with the online examination website, please contact the Division of Measurement Standards at (916) 229-3000.
- If you do not complete the exam in a timely manner, your exam may become expired in the system. Please call the phone number listed above to explain the situation. Depending on the issue, we may be able to reset the exam.
- You will need Adobe Reader installed to print your certificate upon successful completion of the exam. We also advise you use Microsoft Internet Explorer as your browser.
- The cost to replace lost or stolen licenses is \$10.00.

## What to Expect

- When you take the online exam you will be given
   25 random test questions.
- This means you may not have the same set of questions as another person taking the exam.
- Each exam consists of a series of multiple-choice questions.

#### How to Pass

- A passing grade is 70 percent or better.
- You will need to answer 18 questions correctly to pass.
- The content of this guide will help you to answer those questions.

[CCR, Title 4, Division 9, Chapter 4, Section 4083(c)]

#### References

The questions for the exams were all developed from information found in the:

- California Business and Professions Code Sections 12500 through 12544
- California Code of Regulations, Field Reference Manual, Title 4, Division 9:
  - Introduction
  - General Code [1.10]
  - Definitions
  - Chapter 4

The current Laws and Regulations can be found at: <a href="http://cdfa.ca.gov/dms/publications.html">http://cdfa.ca.gov/dms/publications.html</a>

## Study Guide Starts Here

- There are many words and phrases you will encounter in your work that have specific meanings in law.
- You will need to know the definitions on the following pages as you may be asked the meaning of any one of them.
- If you want to see all the definitions, go to **Definitions** in the California Code of Regulations, Appendix D. Some definitions are also found in the Business and Professions Code, Division 5, Chapter 5.5, Article 1, Definitions.

#### Accurate:

 Refers to a device that meets all tolerances (performance requirements) but may not meet the specification requirements. Compare this to the definition of correct.

#### Correct:

- A device that meets all of the Tolerance and Specifications.
- Must be type-approved.
- Can not be adversely affected by environmental factors, including but not limited to wind, weather and RFI (Radio Frequency Interference).

#### Analog Device:

 A <u>system of indications</u> or recordings in which values are presented as a <u>series of graduations in</u> <u>combination with an indicator</u>.

#### Repair:

 To provide maintenance, or to install, adjust, recondition, or service a device.

#### Non-retroactive:

- Regulations that apply to devices manufactured after an effective date.
- Both new and used devices installed after an effective date.
- Devices used in noncommercial applications which are placed into commercial service after an effective date.

#### Retroactive:

 Retroactive requirements are regulations that apply to all devices.

- Placed-In-Service:
  - Permit the use of a device that has been tested and found to be a correct and type-approved device to be used pending reinspection by a County Sealer.
  - Submitting a device to a County Sealer for verification prior to installation.

- Over-registration:
  - An indicated value that is more/greater than the actual value of the product measured.
- Under-registration:
  - An indicated value that is less than the actual value of the product measured.

#### Commercial Device:

- A device used to determine a weight, measure or count of any commodity being sold or purchased on the basis of weight, measure or count, or the determination of the weight, measure or count of any commodity or thing upon which a determination of a charge for service is based.
- Includes any tool or accessory used or connected to the device.
- Any weighing or measuring equipment used for commercial purposes.

#### Type-Approval:

- Applied to a weighing or measuring device approved by the Department of Food and Agriculture.
- A type or design that has been issued a CTEP Certificate of Approval or a NTEP Certificate of Conformance.

#### Main Graduation:

 The primary or principal subdivision of a graduated series of graduations.

- A Service Agency is a person or company that receives payment of any kind for repairs to commercial weighing and measuring devices.
- A Service Agency employs a Service Agent. A Service Agent means any person; working at a Service Agency, that repairs commercial devices.

## Service Agency Information

Although the exam is for Service Agents, you must know the responsibilities of the Service Agency. Some of these responsibilities will be the result of actions you take during your work.

- No person shall engage in the business as a Service Agency unless registered by the Secretary of Food and Agriculture and all registration fees (and any penalty) have been paid and are current.
- A Service Agency shall forward to the Department the name or names of all Service Agents employed by them with the appropriate fees.
- The registration of a Service Agent shall expire upon termination of employment with the Service Agency.

- A Service Agency must have a copy of the California Code of Regulations (Field Reference Manual) Title 4, Division 9 (commencing with section 4000) for each type of device for which the Service Agency is providing service.
- A Service Agency/Agent must have available suitable and sufficient standards that are permanently and uniquely identified.
- A Service Agency's <u>standards</u> must be <u>certified</u> at least <u>every two years</u> unless there is supporting data extending this period.

#### **Agency / Agent Notification Requirement**

- Each Service Agency/Agent <u>must notify the</u> County Sealer of repairing, adjusting or placing into service of any commercial weighing or measuring device. The notice must be <u>in writing</u> and <u>transmitted within 24</u> <u>hours.</u>
- Notification is normally accomplished by filling out a Placed in Service Report. A sample placed in service report has been provided on the website: <a href="http://cdfa.ca.gov/dms/programs/rsa/rsa.html">http://cdfa.ca.gov/dms/programs/rsa/rsa.html</a> The sample Placed in Service Report link is located under "more resources."

[CCR, Title 4, Division 9, Chapter 4, Section 4085(2)]

#### **Agency / Agent Notification Requirements**

- (i) Name and address of Service Agency.
- (ii) Location of device(s). Name and address, and include if available the unique identifier used by the business (e.g., pump or checkstand number).
- (iii) Name of Service Agent.
- (iv) Date of adjustment, repair, placing, or replacing into service.
- (v) Name of device manufacturer(s).
- (vi) Model designation(s) and serial number(s) of the device(s).
- (vii) On new installations, NTEP Certificate of Conformance number(s) for each separately approved component or device, if marked on the component or device.

[CCR, Title 4, Division 9, Chapter 4, Section 4085(2) (i - vii)]

- If a County Sealer intends to suspend the registration of a Service Agency, a written notification will be sent to the Service Agency and a copy of the proposed action must be forwarded immediately to the Department of Food and Agriculture.
- The metric system and metric devices can be legally used in California.

[BP Code, Division 5, Chapter 5.5, Article 6] [CCR, Title 4, Division 9, Chapter 4, Section 1.10, G-A.4]

As a Service Agent you have certain legal responsibilities that you must comply with in your work.

First, you must have a Service Agent license.

[BP Code, Division 5, Chapter 5.5, Article 2 Section 12533 (b)] [BP Code, Division 5, Chapter 5.5, Article 4 Section 12540 (a)]

#### Service Agent License

- A Service Agent's license is valid for 5 years.
- A 70% or better is required to pass the Service Agent licensing exam.
- Applicants can renew a current license up to 90 days prior to the expiration date of their present license.
- You do not have to be a resident of California to be a Service Agent.
- A Service Agent is employed by a Service Agency.

[BP Code, Division 5, Chapter 5.5, Article 4, Section 12351(b), 12540] [CCR, Title 4, Division 9, Chapter 4, Section 4083(c) (g)]

## Identifying Your Work

#### **Agency / Agent Identification Requirement**

Whenever you repair a device you must identify your work with an adhesive tag or label applied on each device in a conspicuous location. There are specific information requirements that must be on the identification tag or label.

[CCR, Title 4, Division 9, Chapter 4, Section 4085(a)(4)]

#### Identication Requirements

- ► The Service Agent's Identification Adhesive Tag or Label shall show five (5) items of information:
  - Name of Service Agency.
  - Registration number of Service Agency.
  - Business telephone number of Service Agency.
  - License number of Service Agent.
  - Date the work was performed and device placed into service.

## Sealing Requirements

- Prior to placing the device into service, Service Agents shall install a security seal on any adjustment mechanism designed to be sealed.
- Service agents shall replace a security seal on any adjustment mechanism where the seal was required to be removed for service, repair, or installation.
- Any security seal required shall show the registration number of the service agency and the year the security seal was placed on the device.

[CCR, Title 4, Division 9, Chapter 4, Section 4085(a)(3)(4)]

#### Service Agents Rights/Authority

- It is a misdemeanor for anyone to obliterate or unlawfully remove a County Sealer's tag.
- Service Agents have the authority to remove a Sealer's "Out of Order" notice (red tag).
- Service Agents have the authority to place a correct and type-approved device "in-service" for commercial use, pending reinspection by a Weights and Measures Official.

[BP Code, Division 5, Chapter 5, Section 12508, 12509(b)] [CCR, Title 4, Division 9, Chapter 4, Section 4084]

## **Knowing the Regulations**

- As was mentioned earlier, some of the exam questions come from certain parts of the California Code of Regulations found in the Field Reference Manual (California Code of Regulations, Title 4, Division 9).
- Understanding the organization of these regulations will help you in your work.

## California Code of Regulations

- The California Code of Regulations, Section 4000 is divided into many code sections:
  - General Code-applies to all devices.
  - Specific Code-apply to only certain devices.
- If a <u>conflict or contradiction</u> exists between the General Code and a Specific Code, the <u>Specific Code takes precedent</u>.

[CCR, Title 4, Division 9, Section 1.10, G-A.2]

## California Code of Regulations

<u>Testing procedures</u> are found in the <u>California</u> <u>Code of Regulations</u>, under the <u>Notes</u> Section.

#### California Code of Regulations Paragraph Designations

- The general code and each specific code are divided into designated paragraphs.
- Similar requirements are grouped together.
- Groupings:
  - Application
  - Specifications
  - Notes
  - Tolerances
  - User Requirements

[CCR Title 4 Division 9, Introduction, Q. System of Paragraph Designation]

#### California Code of Regulations Paragraph Designations

#### Application:

To determine which code you should use for a particular device you should look at the application section. This section tells you which specific code applies to a device. Application sections are use by field inspectors and Service Agents.

[CCR Title 4 Division 9, Introduction, Q. System of Paragraph Designation]

## California Code of Regulations Paragraph Designations

#### Specifications:

Related to the design of the equipment and are directed primarily at the manufacturer of devices.

An example would be: *Repeatability:*"A device shall be capable of repeating, within applicable tolerances, it indications and recorded representations."

[CCR Title 4 Division 9, Introduction, Q. System of Paragraph Designation]

#### California Code of Regulations Paragraph Designations

#### Notes:

Contain and describe the testing procedures.

#### Tolerances:

- These are the performance requirements, or error allowances for a device.
- A device must be <u>adjusted to bring the</u> <u>performance errors as close to zero error</u> as practicable.

[CCR, Title 4, Division 9, Introduction, Q. System of Paragraph Designation] [CCR, Title 4, Division 9, Section 1.10, G-UR.4.3]

#### California Code of Regulations Paragraph Designations

#### User Requirements:

These deal with selection, installation, use and maintenance of a device.

#### For example:

Part of the installation requirement is that "equipment shall be suitable for the environment in which it is used including but not limited to the effects of wind, weather and RFI (Radio Frequency Interference)."

[[CCR Title 4 Division 9, Section 1.10, G-UR.1.1, G-UR 1.2] [CCR Title 4 Division 9, Introduction, Q. System of Paragraph Designation]

- When you repair devices and placing them back into service there are many requirements you must be aware of and must follow.
- Remember, any <u>violation</u> of these regulations is a <u>misdemeanor</u>.

[BP Code Division 5, Chapter 1, Section 12026]

- A commercial device must be <u>installed</u> in accordance with the <u>manufacturer</u>'s instructions.
- The characteristics of the foundations, supports or any other detail of the installation shall not adversely affect the performance of a device.

[CCR Title 4 Division 9, Section 1.10, G-UR.2]

For a device to be <u>correct</u>, it must meet <u>accuracy</u> and <u>specifications requirements</u>, but also, must <u>not allow RFI</u> to cause deflections in digital indications or printed representations.

[BP Code Division 5, Chapter 5, Section 12500 (c)]
[BP Code Division 5, Chapter 5.5, Article 1 Section 12531 (e)]
[CCR Title 4 Division 9, Section 1.10, G-N.2]

A weighing or measuring instrument (device) and its associated components that affect the metrological aspects of a commercial transaction must be type-approved and have a CTEP Certificate of Approval or a NTEP Certificate of Conformance.

[BP Code Division 5, Chapter 5, Section 12500, 12500.5] [CCR Title 4 Division 9, Section 1.10, G-A.1]

- Any <u>software</u> added and <u>interfaced</u> to an already "placed-in-service" commercial device, that allows the manipulation of metrological data, <u>must be type-approved</u>.
- If several devices are placed into service in several counties on the same day, all of the county sealers must be individually notified.

[BP Code Division 5, Chapter 5, Section 12500, 12500.5, 12500.6] [CCR Title 4 Division 9, Section 1.10, G-A.1, G-S.2]

- If several devices were serviced or repaired at the same location, the Service Agent must place his/her adhesive tag or label on <u>each</u> device.
- Weighing and measuring elements that are adjustable must be adjusted to correct only those conditions that such elements are designed to control, and <u>must not be adjusted</u> to compensate for defective or abnormal installations, badly worn or defective parts.

[CCR Title 4 Division 9, Chapter 4, Section 4085(4)] [CCR Title 4 Division 9, Section 1.10, G-UR.4.3]

- If a Service Agent <u>can not repair</u> a "red-tagged" device, the Service Agent <u>must replace</u> the "red-tag" on the device.
- Whenever a commercial weighing or measuring device is adjusted, adjustments must be made so as to bring the <u>performance errors as close</u> <u>as practicable to a zero value.</u>

[CCR Title 4 Division 9, Chapter 4, Section 4084(b), 4085(a)(1)] [CCR, Title 4, Division 9, Section 1.10, G-UR.4.3]

- A device must be correct when placed into service; therefore, a Service Agent should completely test a device, not just fix the problem stated on the County Sealer's "out of order" tag.
- A device must be capable of repeating, within prescribed tolerances, its indications and recorded representations. This is a Specification.

[CCR Title 4 Division 9, Chapter 4, Section 4085(a)(1)] [CCR Title 4 Division 9, Section 1.10, G-S.5.4]

If someone other than a licensed Service Agent repairs a device, that person can not place the device into service.

[BP Code Division 5, Chapter 5.5, Article 2 Section 12532 (d)(e)(h)]

#### **End of RSA Study Guide**

We hope you found the RSA Study Guide useful and wish you success with the exam!

For further information, or if you have any questions or comments regarding the exam or this Study Guide, please contact the California Department of Food and Agriculture, Division of Measurement Standards at (916) 229–3000 or via email at <a href="mailto:DMS@cdfa.ca.gov">DMS@cdfa.ca.gov</a>

