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Regulations, as published by Barclays Law Publishers.   

 

To find the latest online version of the California Code of Regulations (CCR) Title 4, Division 9, visit the 
California Office of Administration Law at: 
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Chapter 12. Administration §§ 4700-4801 
 

ARTICLE 1.  Permit Reform Act. 
 

§ 4700.  Permit Processing Times (Including Licenses, Permits, Regulations and Certificates). 

(a)  Within the number of calendar days of receipt of an application for a permit shown in column A of 
subsection (c), the Division shall inform the applicant in writing that the application is either complete and 
accepted for filing, or that it is deficient, and what specific information or documentation is required to complete 
the application.  An application is considered complete if all necessary fees and information required by the 
application form have been submitted. 

(b) Within the number of calendar days after receipt of a complete application, as shown in column B of 
subsection (c), the Department shall approve or disapprove the application. 

(c)  The Division's minimum, median, and maximum time periods, in calendar days, for processing an application 
from the receipt of the initial application to the final decision, based on the Department’s actual performance 
during the two years immediately preceding the proposal of this section, are shown in columns C, D, and E of the 
chart which  follows. 

 A B C D E 

Permit Type 

Maximum time for 
notifying that application 
is complete or deficient 

(Days) 

Maximum time after 
receipt of a complete 
application to issue 

or deny permit 
(Days) 

ACTUAL DAYS TO PROCESS 
BASED ON PRIOR TWO YEARS 

Minimum Median Maximum 

(Days) 
Device Repairman 
Registration 30 35 1 6 52 

- Renewal 7 60 1 17 66 

Weighmaster License 15 45 1 12 84 

- Renewal 45 45 1 12 84 
 

NOTE:  Authority cited:  Section 15376, Government Code; and Section 12027, Business and Professions Code.  
Reference: Section 15376, Government Code. 

 
§ 4701.  Appeal Procedure. 

(a)  The following information shall be included on application forms for all Department permits subject to 
Government Code Sections 15374-15378: 

“The Department of Food and Agriculture has established time periods for the processing of permit applications, 
in compliance with Government Code Sections 15374-15378. Failure to comply with these time periods may be 
appealed to the Secretary of Food and Agriculture, 1220 N Street, P.O. Box 942871, Sacramento, CA  94271-
0001, pursuant to regulations set forth in Title 4, California Code of Regulations, Section 4701. Under certain 
circumstances, the Secretary may order that the applicant receive a reimbursement of filing fees.” 

(b)  An applicant whose application for a permit has not been processed by the Department within the time periods 
established by Section 4700 may appeal in writing to the Secretary of the Department of Food and Agriculture.  
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The appeal shall set forth a concise statement of facts and chronology of events regarding the application.  An 
appeal concerning a permit application on which a final decision has been made must be filed within 30 days of 
the date the applicant was notified of the decision. 

(c)  The Secretary shall promptly review an appeal filed under this section and, shall issue a decision 
within 30 days after conducting any investigation of the matter which the Secretary deems appropriate. 

(d)  If the Secretary finds that a program exceeded the time limit for informing the permit applicant that an 
application is complete or is deficient and requires additional information to be processed, the Secretary shall 
direct the program to make its determination by a specified date and so inform the applicant. 

(e)  The time period within which the Department must make a decision to issue or deny the permit commences 
with the date the complete application is received.  If the Secretary finds that the Department exceeded the time 
period for acting on a completed application without the good cause defined by Government Code Section 
15376(h), all filing fees paid by the permit applicant will be refunded. 

NOTE:  Authority cited:  Sections 15376 and 15378, Government Code; and Section 12027, Business and 
Professions Code. Reference:  Sections 15376 and 15378, Business and Professions Code. 
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ARTICLE 2.  Weights and Measures Penalty 
Guidelines 

 

§ 4800.  Notice of Proposed Action and Disposition. 

(a) When a county sealer takes administrative action, the person charged with a violation (s) shall be notified of 
the proposed penalty(s) and the right to request a hearing.  The notification shall also include the right to appeal 
to the Secretary pursuant to the procedures provided in Section 12015.3(c) or Section 13302 as appropriate of the 
Business and Professions Code. 

(b)  When the State Sealer takes administrative action, the person charged with the violation(s) shall be notified 
of the proposed penalty(s), and the right to request a hearing. The notification shall also include the right to have 
the decision reviewed, within 30 days of receiving the sealer’s decision, pursuant to Section 12015.3(c) of the 
Business and Professions Code.  

(c)  When a respondent in an administrative action agrees to stipulate to the notice of proposed action, a signed 
stipulation with the payment of the proposed administrative penalty shall be returned to the county/State Sealer 
within 45 days of the postmark of the notice of proposed action.  If the stipulation and payment of the proposed 
administrative penalty are not received within 45 days, the county/State Sealer may file a certified copy of a final 
decision that directs the payment of a civil penalty with the clerk of the superior court of any county pursuant to 
Section 12015.3(d) of Business and Professions Code. 

(d)  If an administrative hearing is requested, a proposed decision and order shall be made by a hearing officer 
within 60 days of the conclusion of the hearing.  The final decision and order shall be made by the sealer. This 
order will be mailed to the respondent.  Any penalty imposed shall be due and payable within 45 days of the 
postmark of such order.  If a respondent fails to pay the penalty and fails to timely file a written appeal pursuant 
to Business and Professions Code Section 12015.3(c) or 13302(c), the sealer may take action as provided in 
Business and Professions Code Sections 12015.3(d) or 13302(d).  Action may be taken to collect the penalty and 
the collection costs actually incurred. 

(e)  In the event that a respondent fails to comply with the provisions of Business and Professions Code Sections 
12015.3 or 13302, the sealer may take the action proposed without a hearing.  This action may include collection 
of the penalty and the collection costs actually incurred.  

NOTE:  Authority cited: Sections 12015.3(b) and 13302(b), Business and Professions Code.  Reference: Sections 
12015.3(b) and 13302(b), Business and Professions Code. 

 

§ 4801.  Administration.  

(a)  When a county sealer initiates an action, the sealer shall send a copy of the notice of proposed action to the 
State Sealer at the time of notice to the person charged with the violation(s).  Additionally, the county sealer shall 
inform the State Sealer of violations for which penalties have been assessed.  On at least an annual basis, the State 
Sealer shall inform county sealers throughout the State of violations for which penalties have been assessed. 

(b)  When the State initiates the action, the State Sealer shall send a copy of the notice of proposed action to the 
county sealer involved.  This notice shall also be sent, at the time of notice, to the person charged with the 
violation(s).  The State Sealer shall also inform the county sealer in which the action has been initiated of 
violations for which penalties have been assessed. 

NOTE: Authority cited: Section 12027, Business and Professions Code.  Reference: Section 12027, Business and 
Professions Code. 

 

§ 4802.  Penalty Guidelines.   

In applying Sections 12015.3 or 13302 of the Business and Professions Code, the sealer shall use the provisions 
of this section to determine the types of violations for which penalties may be assessed and the amounts of the 
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penalties. Nothing in this article prohibits a sealer from seeking other relief through the criminal or civil court 
process in lieu of administrative action. 

(a)  For the purposes of this article, violation types are designated as “Category A”, “Category B”, and 
“Category C”. 

(1)  “Category A” violations are violations in which there are actual, or there is the potential for actual false, 
deceptive, or misleading business practices, or significant monetary loss to consumers; or repeated 
violations of subparagraph (2)  that occurred within a two-year period at the same location and which 
resulted in an action and subsequent penalty.  Included in this category are certain violations subject to 
prior legislated fine levels pursuant to Business and Professions Code Section 12729.  The appropriate 
penalty range for these violations is $400-$1,000; however, such penalty shall not exceed the maximum 
criminal fine specified in the charging section. 

(2)  “Category B” violations are violations in which there is a reasonable potential for intermediate level of 
consumer or competitive harm; or repeated violations of subparagraph (3) that occurred within a two-
year period at the same location and which resulted in an action and subsequent penalty.  The appropriate 
penalty range for these violations is $150-$600; however, such penalty shall not exceed the maximum 
criminal fine specified in the charging section. 

(3)  “Category C” violations are primarily violations that would typically have a less egregious effect on 
consumers or equitable competition in the marketplace.  Included in this category are other violations 
included in Business and Professions Code, Division 5 that are not included in Table A.  The appropriate 
penalty range for these violations is $50-$250; however, such penalty shall not exceed the maximum 
criminal fine specified in the charging section. 

(b)  Table A shall be used to establish the level of severity of a particular violation and its corresponding penalty 
range.  Except where specific violation parameters are provided, the violation column in Table A is an abbreviated 
description of the corresponding section in the California Business and Professions Code, Division 5, Weights 
and Measures. 

1 = Category A 2 = Category B 3 = Category C 

($400 to $1,000) ($150 to $600) ($50 to $250) 

 

 

 TABLE A  

B&P § 
VIOLATION TYPE 

1 2 3 

12016 Hindering or obstructing sealer. 1   

12018 Neglect or Refusal to exhibit weighing or measuring device for 
inspection 

1   

12021 Marking or stamping false or short weight or measure on containers:  
Taking false tare (knowingly). 

1   

12022.5 Fresh meats or roasts:  Advertising/selling on basis of net weight, 
not including added fat.  2  

12023 Selling according to gross weight or measure.  2  
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 TABLE A  

B&P § 
VIOLATION TYPE 

1 2 3 

12024 
(Prepacked 
product – 
Labeled 
and sold, 
but not 
packed on 
the same 
premises) 

Selling in less quantity than represented:  Prepackaged – Labeled 
and sold, but not packed on the same premises. 

   

- Single Lot:    
 Overcharge less than 50¢.   3 
 Overcharge 50¢ to $2.00.  2  
 Overcharge more than $2.00. 1   
- Total of All Lots:    
 Overcharge less than $2.00.   3 
 Overcharge $2.00 to $10.00.  2  
 Overcharge more than $10.00. 1   
Short measure bulk wood deliveries. 1   

12024 
(Prepacked 
product – 
Packed, 
labeled, 
and sold on 
the same 
premises) 

Selling in less quantity than represented (per BPC §12024.3 criteria) 
Prepackaged – Packed, labeled, and sold on the same premises 

   

- Single Lot (unknowingly):    
 Overcharge of $2.00 or less   3 
 Overcharge more than $2.00 1   
- Total of Multiple Lots (unknowingly):        

 Overcharge of less than $2.00    3 
 Overcharge $2.00 to $10.00  2  
 Overcharge more than $10.00 1   

12024 
(Wholesale 
or retail 
lots – not 
packed or 
labeled by 
retailer) 

Selling in less quantity than represented: 
Prepackaged – Wholesale or retail lots – Not packed or labeled by 
retailer 

   

 Overcharge not more than $50.00  2  
 Overcharge more than $50.00 1   

12024.1 Misrepresenting charge for service rendered (willfully). 1   
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 TABLE A  

B&P § 
VIOLATION TYPE 

1 2 3 

12024.2 

Unlawful computation of value.    
(A) Test Purchase of Commodities by Weight, Measure, or Count, 

Determined at Time of Sale: 

(Applies to any number of items purchased or inspected for 
pricing integrity) 

   

- Overcharged on One Item:  Overcharge equals 15¢ or 
more and is 5% or more of correct value for that item. 

 2  

- Overcharged on Two or More Items:  Total Overcharge 
equals 15¢ or more and is 3% or more of correct total 
value for those items. 

1   

(B) Scanning/Automated and Other Check stand Inspections.    

- Overcharged on fewer than 10% of items purchased 
or inspected for pricing integrity or total overcharge is 
less than 2% of correct total price of all items 
purchased or inspected.  

  3 

- Overcharged on 10% or more but on fewer than 12% 
of items purchased or inspected for pricing integrity. 

 2  

- Total overcharge 2% or more but less than 4% of 
correct total price of all items purchased or inspected. 

 2  

- Overcharged on 12% or more of items purchased or 
inspected for pricing integrity. 

1   

- Total overcharge 4% or more of the correct total price 
of all items purchased or inspected. 

1   

Test Sample Size of 10 or Fewer Items 
(“Initial Standard Inspections” as defined by BPC §13350 
or “Special Inspections” as defined by BPC §13356): 

   

-     Overcharge on any item does not exceed 8% of the 
correct price of that item 

  3 

-     Overcharge on any item is greater than 8% but does not 
exceed 15% of the correct price of that item 

 2  

-     Overcharge on any item is greater than 15% of the 
correct price of that item 

1   

12024.5 Sale of fowl, meat, or fish other than by weight: ready-to-eat items.  2  

12024.55 
Door-to-door salespersons; failure to provide price per pound 
statements on packages. 

 2  

12024.6 Prohibition of advertising intended to entice customer into 
transaction other than represented. 

1   

12024.7 
Failure to provide:  A statement of weight and type of cuts of meat 
sold; itemized statement showing quantity of fruits, vegetables, and 
other food products delivered in connection with meat sale. 

 2  

12024.9 
Failure to provide a statement of weights supplied to consumer upon 
direct sale of meat on basis of primal cuts or carcass weight. 

 2  
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 TABLE A  

B&P § 
VIOLATION TYPE 

1 2 3 

12024.10 Failure to retain a document stating weight and cut of meat sold.  2  

12025 Refusal to exhibit commodity being sold at given weight or quantity. 1   

12025.5 Identification of commodity or container ordered “off sale” under §§ 
12211 or 12607. 

1   

12107 Violation of tolerances and specifications for commercial weighing 
and measuring apparatus.   

  3 

12107.1 Establishment of commodity standards, weights, measures, and 
counts:  Procedure:  Unlawful sales. 

  3 

12500.5 
Approval and certification of commercial instruments:  Sale or use 
for commercial purposes of nonapproved instruments. 

 2  

12507 
Repair of “out of order” instruments:  Time:  Disuse:  
Effect of refusal or neglect to repair: Disposition of 
seized instruments. 

1   

12508 Removal or obliteration of sealer's tag or device. 1   

12510(a) 

Presumption of intent to violate law:    
(1)  Using an incorrect device.   2  

(2)  Sells commercial device not sealed within last year.   3 

(3) Using a condemned device contrary to law. 1   
(4) Uses for commercial purposes an unsealed, incorrect device 

not kept at fixed location.  2 
 

 

(5) Used to falsify. 1   
(6) Location of retail scale.  2  
(7) False computation of price.  2  
(8) Return to zero (knowingly). 1   
(9) Deliver for test.  2  
(10) Sells, uses, rents, loans incorrect device.  2  

12512 Purchase of less than true quantity. 1   

12515 (a) Repair, sale, or installation of instrument:  Failure to notify 
county sealer.  

 2  

12516 Location of scale when auctioning livestock  2  

12532 (a) Engaging in business as a service agency when not registered 
with the Secretary of Food and Agriculture 

 2  

 
 
 



 WEIGHING AND MEASURES  

Administration 

Chapter 12 - Articles 1. and 2. ADMIN-8 (DMS 01-10-18) 

RETURN 
TO 

TOP 

 TABLE A  

B&P § 
VIOLATION TYPE 

1 2 3 

12533 

(a) (1) Not possessing or having available necessary standards and 
testing equipment   3 

(a) (2) Standards and testing equipment shall meet specifications and 
tolerances in NIST 105 Series Handbooks   3 

(b) Ensure every service agent has a current service agent license  2  

(c) Possess a current copy of Title 4 of the California Code of 
Regulations, Field Reference Manual   3 

12534 Use suitable and sufficient standards, permanently and uniquely 
identified and have a current certificate of accuracy  

  3 

12540 Service agent examination and licensing  2  

12602 

Distributing commodity contained in nonconforming package:  
Exception for wholesale or retail distributors not engaged in 
packaging or labeling. 

 2  

Regulations to be established by Secretary:  Required provisions of 
regulations. 

   

12603 
- Identity of commodity and/or name and place of business of 

packer/distributor/manufacturer. 
 2  

- Net quantity of contents not on container or label.  2  

12605 
Prohibition of distribution of packaged commodity containing 
qualifying words in separate statement of net quantity of contents:  
Supplemental statements:  Prohibited qualifications. 

 2  

12606 Containers not to be constructed or filled as to facilitate fraud  2  

12606.2 Misleading food containers, prohibited  2  

12602 
Distributing commodity contained in nonconforming package:  
Exception for wholesale or retail distributors not engaged in 
packaging or labeling. 

 2  

12603 

Regulations to be established by Secretary:  Required provisions of 
regulations. 

   

- Identity of commodity and/or name and place of business of 
packer/distributor/manufacturer. 

 2  

- Net quantity of contents not on container or label.  2  

12605 
Prohibition of distribution of packaged commodity containing 
qualifying words in separate statement of net quantity of contents:  
Supplemental statements:  Prohibited qualifications. 

 2  

12606 Containers not to be constructed or filled as to facilitate fraud  2  

12606.2 Misleading food containers, prohibited  2  

12611 
Selling commodity in nonconforming container or with 
nonconforming label:  Required information not prominently 
displayed. 

 2  

12703 Weighmaster License, fee and/or penalty required.  2  
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 TABLE A  

B&P § 
VIOLATION TYPE 

1 2 3 

12704 Weighmaster License fee.  2  

12705 Change in legal entity of weighmaster licensee.  2  

12707 Weighmaster License renewal; failure to pay fee when due.  2  

12710.5 
(b) Failure to notify of replacement/deletion of deputy 

weighmaster.   3 

12711 When weighmaster certificate to be issued.  2  

12712 

Issuance of certificate by one other than weighmaster making 
determination; transfer of weight or measure to other certificate. 

   

(a) Weighmaster certificates issued based on information from 
another weighmaster. 

 2  

(b) Transfer of weight from one certificate to another.  2  

12713 
(a) Responsibility for completeness of weighmaster certificate.  2  
(b) Omitted information on weighmaster certificate.  2  

12714 Weighmaster certificate legend/principal licensee name.   3 

12714.5 Information on certificate to be legible; consecutive numbering.   3 

12715 Contents of weighmaster certificate.   3 

12716 Weighmaster recordkeeping; inspection.  2  

12716.5 Correction of errors (weighmaster certificate).  2  

12717 Approval, testing, and sealing of weighing or measuring device.  2  

12718 

Acts constituting misdemeanors    

(a) Requests a person to weigh, measure, or count falsely. 1   

(b) Requests a false or incorrect weighmaster certificate. 1   

(c) Furnishes or gives false information to a weighmaster. 1   

(d) Knowingly presents for payment a false weighmaster 
certificate. 

1   

(e) Knowingly issues a false weighmaster certificate. 1   
(f) Alters a weighmaster certificate resulting in a false weight, 

measure, or count. 1   

(g) Possesses blank weighmaster certificates if not licensed. 1   

(h) Issues a weighmaster certificate with alterations or omissions 
of gross, net, tare weights, net only weights, or measurements. 

1   

12719 Change of net contents after recordation of weight. 1   

12720 Alteration of tare weight of vehicle prior to determining net weight 
of commodity. 

1   

12721 Weighing for purposes of certification. 1   
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 TABLE A  

B&P § 
VIOLATION TYPE 

1 2 3 

12722 

Use of predetermined tare weight; exemption for specified rock 
products. 

   

(a) Violation of tare regulations. 1   
(b) Rock, sand, and gravel predetermined tares. 1   

12724 
Determination of gross and tare weights by a weighmaster; 
requirement that all persons be off scale and vehicle; exceptions. 

 2  

12725 Conditions under which gross weight not to be certified.  2  

12727 Verification of weight, measure, or count. 1   

12728 
Requirement that entire vehicle rest on scale; exemption for seed 
cotton, multiple rail cars containing grain/grain products. 

 2  

12729 (c) Tomato cab card tare weight.  (See also B&P Section 12729) 1 2  

12730 Farm products.  2  

12731 Livestock.  2  

12732 
Adjustments to load; commodity weights determined at other than 
site where vehicle was loaded. 

 2  

12733 Scrap metal and salvage materials.  2  

12734 Squid or anchovy.  2  

13300 Customer display and indicator requirements  2  

13411 Sale of petroleum products contingent upon additional purchase.  2  

13413 Deceptive, false, or misleading statements (Chapter 14) Petroleum 
Products. 

1   

13420 
13421 
13422 

Operators of petroleum dealerships required to make monthly update 
of advertising medium indicating hours of sale and turn off lights 
when not open for business. 

  3 

13441 Sale or delivery of nonstandard product. 1   

13442 Sale or delivery of nonstandard product as motor fuel to be labeled 
“not gasoline”. 

1   

13451 Sale or delivery of nonstandard diesel, kerosene, or fuel oil. 1   
13460 
13461 

Sale of engine or gear oil which fails to meet specifications. 1   

13470 Display of price sign on dispensing apparatus:  Contents of sign.  2  

13470.5 Gallon-to-liter conversion table.  2  

13472 Dual pricing.  2  

13480 
Sale, etc., of petroleum products from unlabeled containers, etc: 
Viscosity rating:  Containers with net content of gallon or less.   

  3 

13482 Sale of lubricant without SAE/API service classification.   3 

13486 Filling of tanks with product other than that identified on container 
label. 

1   
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 TABLE A  

B&P § 
VIOLATION TYPE 

1 2 3 

13500 
Labeling:    
(a) No product and/or grade on delivery vehicle.    3 

13501 Commingling of products. 1   
13502, 
13486 

Deliveries into storage tanks. 1   

13520 Temperature-corrected gallonage.  2  

13530 Application of article; display of price per liter or per gallon.    

13531 

(a) Advertising a price that is not identical with the dispenser.  2  

Display requirements; exemption of specified geographic areas; 
violations. 

   

(a) Failure to advertise motor fuel prices.  2  

13532 

Motor fuel; contents of display:    
(a) Advertising price signs.   3 
(b) Violation of discount advertising.   3 
(c) Advertising lower price only.  (See also § 13413)  2  
(d) Failure to advertise price in same form.  2  

13534 Additional advertising matter.   3 

13562 Change of designation under which product purchased:  
Authorization. 

 2  

13568 Written authority; furnishing copies.  2  

13570 Percentage of alcohol to be stated on normal business records:  
Certification of antiknock index. 

 2  

13571 Not providing documentation when requested.  2  

13593 Refusal to permit sampling. 1   

13595 

Selling product which does not meet specifications.  (See also §§ 
13413, 13441, 13451) 

1   

Selling from unlabeled or mislabeled containers. 
(See also §§ 13413, 13480) 

  3 

13600 Unauthorized breaking, etc., of seal. 1   

13740 Sale or distribution of adulterated or mislabeled product. 1   

13741 Deceptive, false, misleading statement (Chapter 15) Automotive 
Products 1   
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