

CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF FOOD & AGRICULTURE Karen Ross, Secretary

December 29, 2023

DMS NOTICE QC – 23 – 03 DISCARD: RETAIN

## TO: WEIGHTS AND MEASURES OFFICIALS

## SUBJECT: Law Changes Related to CRV

With the passage of <u>SB 1013</u> in 2022 and <u>SB 353</u> in 2023, the California Beverage Container Recycling and Litter Reduction Act is modified and expanded. The following products are considered a "beverage" per Public Resources <u>Code Section 14504 and</u> may now have a California Redemption Value (CRV) charge applied beginning January 1, 2024:

- Any size container of 100% fruit juice
- Any size container of vegetable juice
- Wine and distilled spirits.

Unlike soda, water, or other soft drinks which must be in aluminum, glass, plastic, or bimetal containers, wine and distilled spirits will also have a CRV charge for boxes, bladders, or pouches. It is important to note that when wine or distilled spirits begin to have CRV charged, they may or may not be marked as having a CRV surcharge.

The current CRV refund rates are:

- 5 cents for containers less than 24 ounces
- 10 cents for containers 24 ounces or larger
- 25 cents for boxes, bladders or pouches containing wine, distilled spirits, wine coolers, or distilled spirit coolers as of January 1, 2024

Weights and measures officials who observe a violation of Business and Professions Code section 12024.13 for these new items during a price verification inspection may take appropriate enforcement action. Also, this information should be entered in their county's monthly CRV Reports.

If you have any questions, please contact the Division of Measurement Standards at <u>DMS@cdfa.ca.gov</u> or contact the Division Office at (916) 229-3000.

Sincerely,

Kristin Macay

Kristin Macey Director

cc: Hyrum Eastman, County/State Liaison, CDFA

