
Frequently Asked Questions related to the  
Quota Implementation Plan Amendment Referendum 

Voting Period: March 4, 2021 to June 1, 2021 
What is being asked by the referendum?  The California Department of Food and Agriculture 
is conducting a referendum among Market Milk producers to determine if the Quota 
Implementation Plan, effective November 1, 2018, should be modified to equalize regional 
quota adjusters such that the quota premium in all counties equal $1.43/cwt. and terminate the 
QIP effective March 1, 2025.  The referendum is called as a result of a petition submitted by 
United Dairy Families (a copy of the petition may be viewed here: 
http://www.cdfa.ca.gov/dairy/pdf/hearings/UDF_Petition.pdf )  and an Order of Decision issued 
by the Department Secretary, Karen Ross, on January 25, 2021.  A copy of the Order of 
Decision can be viewed here:  
https://www.cdfa.ca.gov/dairy/pdf/hearings/OAH2020080708_SIGNED_Decision_from_OAH_1-
2_ADA.pdf 

Where can I see the changes being proposed?  The proposed changes are included with the 
referendum notice and may be viewed at the following link: 

https://www.cdfa.ca.gov/dairy/pdf/hearings/QIP_Referendum_Notice_202103_ADA.pdf 

Who can vote in the referendum? Pursuant to the following definitions within the Quota 
Implementation Plan, eligible producers meet the following definitions within the voting period: 
 
• “Producer” means any person that produces market milk in the State of California from five 

or more cows and includes members of cooperative associations.   

• “Market milk” means milk, cream, or skim milk that is produced in conformity with applicable 
regulations of the appropriate public regulatory or health authority for disposition as market 
milk.   

How long is the voting period? Statute states a minimum 60 days with an extension not to 
exceed 30 days.  CDFA has established the voting period to include the maximum amount of 
time, 90 days: starting March 4, 2021 through June 1, 2021.  Because the extension is built into 
the original voting period, there will be no additional extension available after June 1, 2021. 

For the vote to be valid, 51% of producer must cast valid ballots.  Will CDFA monitor if 
the 51% minimum participation is met during the voting period?  Since the voting period 
will be the full 90 days allowed, CDFA will not monitor if the 51% minimum participation 
requirement is met during the voting period.  Ballots will remain sealed and will not be tallied 
until after the close of the voting period. 

How is the producer list derived and updated? To be eligible to vote, a producer must have 
a Market Milk permit. CDFA will combine multiple Market Milk dairies under same/exact  
ownership and count as one eligible producer.  CDFA uses the following sources to update our 
list and are as follows: 

• State inspectors that issue market milk permits 
• Authorized county inspectors that issue market milk permits 
• The cooperative a producer belongs to 

http://www.cdfa.ca.gov/dairy/pdf/hearings/UDF_Petition.pdf
https://www.cdfa.ca.gov/dairy/pdf/hearings/QIP_Referendum_Notice_202103_ADA.pdf
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• A plant a producer ships milk to or has a contract with 
• A broker a producer markets milk through 
• Pool quota transfer applications 
• Secretary of State 

Can you provide an outline for the process of validating the ballots?  CDFA is using the 
January 2021 Market Milk producer list to verify production numbers and to verify ballots 
received for tallying purposes. CDFA obtains individual producer monthly production information 
from cooperatives, handlers/plants, and brokers.  

The ballots issued included the names of the authorized Market Milk producers on record for the 
dairy (or dairies under same ownership) and the respective mailing address; they also included 
production information. Ballots received by CDFA will remain sealed and will not be opened until 
ten days after the close of the voting period which is June 1, 2021. This allows time for USPS to 
deliver those ballots mailed and postmarked June 1, 2021. A ballot will be deemed invalid for 
any of the following reasons:  

• Failure to sign and certify the ballot 
• Un-authorized signature on the ballot 
• No indication of a “yes” or “no” vote 
• Was not received or has a postmark date that is after the June 1, 2021 voting deadline 

There will be no curing of ballots after the close of the voting period.  

What should a producer do if names on the ballot are not correct? Each ballot will include 
an identification number, producer number (or numbers), names of individuals on title for the 
dairy or dairies and mailing address.  Names on the ballot are those individuals that are 
considered authorized to sign the ballot on behalf of the producer.  If the individuals listed on the 
ballot has changed (such as additions or deletions), the producer should contact CDFA at (916) 
900-5012 to make corrections and receive a revised duplicate ballot. 

It is important that producers know the correct production information used to tally.  Will 
a producer’s production be included on the ballot?  CDFA will include the January volume on 
each ballot.  Note that in the event there is more than one dairy associated with the ballot, the 
January production amount listed will be the combined total for all dairies under the same 
ownership. 

What if the production information on the ballot appears incorrect? Each month CDFA 
collects the producer production reports from cooperatives, handlers, plants, and brokers. That 
information is the basis for our monthly assessments; each dairy’s information is tracked using a 
unique identifier (producer number).  If there is a question about accuracy of the production 
information on the ballot the producer should contact CDFA at (916) 900-5012 for a review of 
the information and to make any necessary changes. 

Can a producer contact CDFA to determine if their ballot was received?  Yes.  Producers 
are encouraged to return the ballots in the postage paid return envelope provided with the 
ballot.  The reverse side of the envelope includes the identification and producer numbers 
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associated with the ballot and will allow CDFA to monitor whether a ballot was received, without 
opening the envelope. 

What if I did not receive a ballot or the ballot is damaged or lost?  A producer should 
contact CDFA at (916) 900-5012 to obtain a duplicate ballot.  In the event CDFA receives both 
the original ballot and the duplicate ballot, CDFA will only use the duplicate ballot for tallying 
purposes. 

What if the dairy had January production, but went out of business before the voting 
period started? CDFA would only count the ballot if the dairy was operating during the entire 
voting period. 

What if the dairy started operating on or after February 1, 2021?  CDFA would allow the 
producer to vote by number only.  The dairies production would not be used in the production 
tally. 

What if I have other questions? Contact CDFA at (916) 900-5012. 

 


