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Bovine trichomonosis is a venereal disease of cattle caused by 
the protozoa Tritrichomonas foetus. The organism lives in the 
skin folds of the penis and internal sheath in bulls, and colonizes 
in the vagina, cervix, uterus, and oviducts of the cows. It causes 
abortion and extended calving seasons. Cows generally are 
clear of infection after two to three heat cycles; however, bulls 
remain persistently infected and spread infection during natural 
service. Bulls over four years of age are the main reservoir of 
infection in a herd. 
 
California’s Trichomonosis Program 
Trichomonosis is a serious economic threat to California’s cattle 
herds. The livestock industry sponsored legislation to develop a 
trichomonosis control program and the California Department 
of Food and Agriculture (CDFA) developed a program that 
became effective in September 2003. New laws strengthened 
the program in 2007, and the Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR) 
test was added in 2011. The program is currently being 
reviewed and changes are expected in 2016. 
 
Standardization Sampling and Testing 
Sample quality and testing are critical for diagnosing and 
controlling trichomonosis. Current laws require training and 
approval for veterinarians collecting trichomonosis samples and 
for laboratories processing samples. False positive culture tests 
can occur, especially in young bulls. Positive cultures can be 
confirmed by PCR, though confirmation is not required. 
 
Reporting and 
Investigating 
Trichomonosis Cases 
Trichomonosis is a 
reportable disease. 
Veterinarians, laboratories, 
or owners must report 
cases of trichomonosis to 
CDFA within two days of a 
diagnosis. Negative 
trichonomosis tests must 
be reported to CDFA within 30 days. 
 
CDFA personnel investigate trichomonosis cases, notify owners 
of potentially exposed cattle, and quarantine bulls in infected 
and exposed herds. 
 
Infected bulls will be quarantined to their facility and may only 
be sold for slaughter. 
 
One negative real-time PCR test or three negative culture tests 
(at owner’s expense) are required for all herd-mate bulls with 
no less than seven days and no more than 28 days between 
each test. 
 
CDFA personal will notify owners of exposed cattle that they are 
also required to test their bulls, at their expense.  

Requirements for Bulls Entering California 
Bulls 18 months of age and over require a permit, health 
certificate, official identification, and a negative trichomonosis 
test done within 60 days prior to movement. Exemptions from 
the test include:  

 Bulls going directly to slaughter, 
 Bulls used for artificial insemination that meet Certified 

Semen Services standards, and  
 Exhibition bulls not commingling with breeding cattle.  

 

 
 
Requirements for Bulls Sold in California 
Bulls 18 months of age and older sold at sale yards in California 
require a negative trichomonosis test within 60 days before the 
sale, or be consigned to slaughter (identified with a green 
backtag), or to a slaughter-only feedlot, or be purchased by a 
buyer with a current slaughter channel agreement. Signs must 
be prominently placed at sale yards informing producers that: 
“All bulls 18 month of age and over sold for breeding must 
have a negative trichomonosis test or be consigned as 
slaughter only.” 
 
 

Animal Health and Food Safety Services 
Animal Health Branch 

Headquarters - (916) 900-5002 
Redding District - (530) 225-2140 
Modesto District - (209) 491-9350 

Tulare District - (559) 685-3500 
Ontario District - (909) 947-4462 

USDA-APHIS-VS - (916) 854-3950 or (877) 741-3690 

For more information, please click the following:  
Animal Health Branch 

California Department of Food and Agriculture - Trichomonosis 
Trichomonas foetus Testing Form 
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https://www.cdfa.ca.gov/ahfss/animal_health/Index.html
https://www.cdfa.ca.gov/ahfss/animal_health/trichomonosis_info.html
http://cahfs.ucdavis.edu/submission_forms/index.cfm
http://www.cdfa.ca.gov

