

CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF FOOD & AGRICULTURE Karen Ross, Secretary

May 2, 2018

To: Contract Veterinarians

Subject: Official Identification Requirements for Cattle Entering and Moving Within California

Effective April 1, 2017, the law requires official identification for the following cattle **<u>entering</u>** California.

- Female dairy cattle of any age
- Male dairy cattle born after March 11, 2013, including steers
- Sexually intact beef breed male cattle and bison 18 months of age or over
- Sexually intact beef breed female cattle and bison six (6) months of age and over
- Cattle and bison of any age used for rodeo, recreational, show, or exhibition purposes
- Mexico origin cattle regardless of age or sex
- Exceptions: <u>http://goo.gl/siw6FU</u>.

Effective April 1, 2017, the law requires official identification for the following cattle **moving within** California.

- Dairy cattle born in California after January 1, 2017, prior to leaving their birth premises
- Dairy cattle on change of ownership
- Non-virgin sexually intact male cattle less than 18 months of age and sexually intact male cattle 18 months of age and over, prior to change of ownership
- Exceptions: <u>http://goo.gl/Ngp92t</u>.

Sincerely.

Dr. Kent Fowler Animal Health Branch, Chief

cc: Dr. Annette Jones, California State Veterinarian and Director Dr. Anita Edmondson, Supervising Veterinarian

