
California requires a Certificate of Veterinary 
Inspection (CVI), issued within 30 days before 
entry, and evidence of a negative Equine 
Infectious Anemia (EIA) test performed at a 
United States Department of Agriculture (USDA)
-approved laboratory within 12 months before 
the date of entry. These requirements apply to 
horses, ponies, mules, donkeys, burros, and 
zebras. (FAC 9641.5). California also accepts 
the six-month extended Equine Certificate of 
Veterinary Inpsection (eECVI) in lieu of the 
standard 30-day CVI.  
 
Note:  

• An EIA test “pending” result does not meet 
the entry requirement.  

• The CVI must list the date of the EIA test, 
name of laboratory that performed the test, 
laboratory accession number, and the test 
result.  

 

 

Official Methods of Equine Identification 
Include:  

• A description to identify the individual equine 
including, but not limited to, name, age, 
breed, color, gender, distinctive markings, 
and unique permanent forms of identification 
(e.g. brands, tattoos, scars, cowlicks, 
blemishes, or iris scans),  

• Digital photographs sufficient to identify the 
individual equine (pictures of both sides, 
front, and back), and/or  

• Microchips: 
 USDA-compliant 134.2 kHz microchips, or 
 All 125 kHz and 128 kHz microchips 

implanted prior to March 2014.  
 
See CDFA’s Fact Sheet “Equine - Official 
Identification Options” for detailed information on 
options for official ID for equids. 
 
Note: If you have horses used for livestock 
husbandry or for other ranch-related activities, 
please call the California Department of Food 
and Agriculture (CDFA) Animal Health Branch 
(AHB) permit line at (916) 900-5052 to inquire 
about a Working Horse Permit. 
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Animal Health and Food Safety Services 
Animal Health Branch 

Headquarters - (916) 900-5002 
Redding District - (530) 225-2140 
Modesto District - (209) 491-9350 
Tulare District - (559) 685-3500 
Ontario District - (909) 947-4462 

If you are transporting livestock into California 
with an electronic CVI, please print and present 

a hard copy to the Inspector at the Border 
Protection Station. 

EIA Test Exemption 
Nursing foals less than 6 months of age being 

moved with an EIA test negative dam. 

For California entry requirements of other 
livestock and animals, please visit the following: 

Information About Livestock and Pet 
Movement or Animal Health Entry 
Requirement Interactive Website 
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For more information on the Animal 
Health Branch, please visit: 

www.cdfa.ca.gov/ah 

https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=FAC&division=5.&title=&part=1.&chapter=3.&article=6.
https://www.cdfa.ca.gov/ahfss/animal_health/pdfs/OfficialEquineID.pdf
https://www.cdfa.ca.gov/ahfss/animal_health/pdfs/OfficialEquineID.pdf
https://www.cdfa.ca.gov/ahfss/Animal_Health/Entry_Requirements.html
https://www.cdfa.ca.gov/ahfss/Animal_Health/Entry_Requirements.html
https://apps5.cdfa.ca.gov/AnimalPermitRequirements/
https://apps5.cdfa.ca.gov/AnimalPermitRequirements/
http://www.cdfa.ca.gov

