
 

CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF FOOD AND AGRICULTURE 
EQUINE MEDICATION MONITORING PROGRAM 

 
EVENT REGISTRATION INSTRUCTIONS AND GUIDELINES 

 
 
EVENT DEFINITION: 
 
Public horseshows, competitions, or sales must be registered by the California 
Department of Food and Agriculture (CDFA), unless EXEMPT as specified below.  Events 
that permit people to join a club, enter into competition, or consign a horse for sale in exchange for 
money, goods, or services, are considered “public.”   
 
EXEMPT MEANS REGISTRATION IS NOT REQUIRED AT: 
 

 Those competitions subject to the jurisdiction of the California Horse Racing Board. 
 Sales consisting solely of racing stock.  
 Any rodeo related competition including both rough stock and timed performance 

competitions when held apart from a horse show.  
 Roping club events, cattle team penning, barrel racing events and gymkhanas when 

held as an entity apart from a horse show.  
 Parade horse competitions.  
 Public horse shows and public horse competitions which do not exceed more than one 

day and whose total cumulative fees to enter into any one or all classes do not exceed 
$4.99. Grounds fees, stall fees, or any other fee composed of money, goods, or 
services, which are assessed to permit competitors or consignors to enter into an 
event are considered a part of the total cumulative fee.  

 
REGISTRATION: 
 
The event manager is “the person in charge of an event,” including person responsible for 
registering the event with the Department, and the person responsible for the assessment, 
collection, and remittance fees, event secretaries, managers, and sale owners; and is personally 
liable for fees and penalties owed to CDFA.   There are substantial civil penalties applicable to the 
event manager for failing to properly register an event or submit the correct fees on time. 
 
Application to Register an Equine Event (Form 76-024A) is required at least 30 days in advance 
of the event.  Upon receipt of the completed registration form, the Department will assign an event 
number and return the Assessment Report (yellow), and the Event Copy (pink) to the event 
manager.  A fee of $5.00 per horse entered per show, competition or sale must be assessed.  The 
Assessment Report must be returned to CDFA and fees remitted within 15 days after the event.  
 
Event Registration Forms shall be forwarded to 
CDFA Animal Health Branch 
Equine Medication Monitoring Program 
1220 N Street A 107 
Sacramento, CA 95814 
 
NOTE: Event Managers are responsible for notifying the Department of Food and Agriculture of 
event changes or cancellations. 
 
Questions regarding registration requirements should be directed to the Equine 
Medication Monitoring Program at 916-657-5050 or 916-657-5230. 
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