History

The California equine industry sponsored legislation in 1971 to
prevent misuse of drugs and medications in equines (horses,
ponies, mules and donkeys) in public shows and sales. The
resulting law, found in the Food and Agricultural Code (FAC)
Sections 24000-24018, is known as the California Equine
Medication Rule. The California Department of Food and
Agriculture manages the Equine Medication Monitoring
Program (EMMP), and monitors equines in public shows,
competitions and sales through random collection of blood or
urine for chemical analysis. To fund the EMMP, event
managers collect a fee of $5.00 for each equine being entered
in a show/competition or being consiened to a sale.

Exhibitor and Consignor Responsibilities

An exhibitor or consignor for a registered equine event

must:

e Comply with the California Equine Medication
Rule.

e  File an accurate and complete Drug Declaration
Form with the event manager.

e  Cooperate with EMMP field personnel from the
time of selection for sampling until official release
of the selected equine.

California Equine Medication Rule

According to the California Equine Medication Rule, a
therapeutic drug or medicine is a substance prescribed by a
licensed veterinarian for the treatment of a diagnosed illness
or injury. The rule classifies therapeutic drugs or medicines
as prohibited and permitted.

California Medication Rule Restrictions

The California Equine Medication Rule prohibits the
administration of any injectable substance into an equine
within 12 hours of competition, except for a veterinarian
administering the following:

1. A minimum of 10 liters of polyionic fluids within 6-12
hours of competition. (NOTE: Fluids supplemented with
concentrated electrolytes, such as magnesium, are
prohibited.)

2. Antibiotics (NOTE: Procaine Penicillin is prohibited).

3. Dexamethasone injection not to exceed 0.5 milligrams
per 100 pounds exclusively for the treatment of acute
urticaria (hives) within 6-12 hours of competition.

The veterinarian must file a Drug Declaration Form (CA Form
76-027 or USEF Form) within 1 hour of administration of
these injectable substances.

Prohibited Substances

Prohibited substances that affect performance or disposition
include stimulants, depressants, tranquilizers, anesthetics, local
anesthetics, sedative analgesics, anabolic steroids,
corticosteroids, and soring agents. Use of therapeutic drugs or
medicines other than under veterinary prescription for a
diagnosed illness or injury is prohibited. Prohibited drugs for
therapeutic purposes must be withdrawn 24 hours before
competition or 72 hours before sale. If a prohibited substance
is administered for any other purpose, such as clipping,
shipping, and training, the animal must be withdrawn from
competition until the substance is no longer detectable in an
animal’s blood or urine sample. Depending upon the drug
administration scenario, the prohibited substance and its
metabolites may remain detectable in the blood or urine
sample of the animal for a number of days after the final
administration of the substance. See 2014 Drugs and
Medications Guidelines Document for additional information.

Permissible Restricted Substances

It is acceptable to administer therapeutic drugs and medicines
to equines before and during registered equine shows and
competitions provided the dose of drug does not exceed any
maximum allowable levels in plasma or urine. The rule allows
the use of only one nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drug
(NSAID) in equines. Detection of more than one NSAID in a
plasma or urine sample collected from an equine in show or
competition is a violation. When two NSAIDs are part of a
veterinary therapeutic regime, administration of one of the
NSAIDs must stop at least 72 hours before competition.

The nine permitted drugs, not to exceed maximum

allowable levels, are:

e Dexamethasone (Azium®)

e Diclofenic Acid (Surpass®)

e  Firocoxib (Equioxx®)

e  Flunixin (Banamine®)

e  Ketoprofen (Ketofen®)

e  Meclofenamic Acid (Arquel®)

e  Methocarbamol (Robaxin®)

e  Naproxen (Naprosyn®)

e  Phenylbutazone (Butazolidin®)

Emergency administration of Flunixin (Banamine®) by a
veterinarian is allowable for the treatment of colic or an
opthalmic emergency provided there is a 24 hour withdrawal
of the equine from competition after administration. A Drug
Declaration Form (CA Form 76-027 or USEF Drugs and
Medications Report Form) must be completed by the
veterinarian and filed with an event manager within 1 hour of
administration. A finding of Flunixin (Banamine®) and any
other NSAID in the same plasma or urine sample collected 24
hours or more after emergency treatment of an equine is not
a violation.

For specific drug and medications guidelines, including
permissible levels, refer to the
2014 Drugs and Medications Guidelines
http://www.cdfa.ca.gov/ahfss/Animal Health/emmp/

Withdrawal from Sale or Competition

An equine must be withdrawn from competition for:

- 24 hours after the administration of a prohibited
substance

- 45 days after the administration of reserpine and
fluphenazine

- 90 days after the administration of an anabolic steroid.

An equine that has been given a prohibited substance or

NSAID cannot be sold at a public sale for a minimum of 72

hours after administration of the prohibited substance or

NSAID.

Drug Declaration Form

A Drug Declaration Form (CDFA Form 76-027 or USEF Drugs
and Medication Report Form) is a legal document that an
exhibitor or consignor must complete and file with an event
manager for any equine at an event that has received a
prohibited substance that a licensed veterinarian has
deemed therapeutically necessary for the treatment of an
iliness or injury. An owner/exhibitor/trainer must complete
and file a Drug Declaration Form for any equine that has
received a prohibited substance within the three (3) days
before the day being shown. A consignor must complete
and file a Drug Declaration Form for any equine that has
received a prohibited substance or NSAID within the five (5)
days before the day of the sale.


http://www.cdfa.ca.gov/ahfss/Animal_Health/emmp/

The owner/exhibitor/trainer is to submit the completed Drug
Declaration Form to the event manager within one (1) hour of
administration of the product(s) at the event. If the product
administration occurs at a time other than during show or sale
hours, the owner/exhibitor/trainer is to submit the completed
form within one (1) hour after an event manager returns to
duty. An event manager must sign and date Drug Declaration
forms and submit them to the EMMP. Properly filed drug
declarations, along with other relevant evidence, are given
consideration if and when the chemical analysis of a sample
obtained from an equine at a public horse show, competition
or sale indicates the presence of a prohibited substance or
NSAID.

Sample Collection

EMMP field personnel receive assignments to randomly select
equines competing in or consigned to a registered event for
sample collection. Any equine on an event premises is subject
to random selection for sampling and testing, however at
public shows and competitions, selection often focuses on
animals that have placed in a class. EMMP field personnel are
trained to collect urine samples. When a California licensed
veterinarian is assigned to work with EMMP field staff,
selected equines are subject to collection of a blood sample.
When an equine is selected, the owner, trainer, or designee
must maintain control of the selected animal and take it to a
location designated by the EMMP representative for sample
collection. Once in the designated location, the individual
must remove themselves from the immediate proximity of the
animal and avoid any activities distractive to the animal.
Failure to cooperate with EMMP staff or failure to submit a
selected equine for sampling is a violation of the law and
subject to civil penalty of not less than $100 and not more
than $10,000.

An EMMP priority is the safety of the public, the horse and
EMMP representatives. An EMMP representative may
officially release a selected equine without sample collection if
the animal poses a safety risk. If a reasonable attempt to
collect a sample is made without successful collection of a
sufficient sample volume, the veterinarian or EMMP field
personnel will document the sample collection attempt and
may officially release the selected equine.

Failure to cooperate with EMMP personnel or to
submit a selected equine for sample collection is a
violation and the individual involved is subject to civil
penalties.

(Not less than $100 and not more than $10,000)

Drug Detection Investigation

EMMP personnel seal collected samples and submit the
samples for chemical analysis to the Kenneth L. Maddy
Equine Analytical Chemistry Laboratory. When the chemical
analysis of a blood or urine specimen is positive for detection
of a drug or medicine, an EMMP investigation begins. The
owner/exhibitor/trainer or consignor of the equine with a
sample found positive on chemical analysis will receive an
initial EMMP investigatory letter requesting submission,
within a designated timeframe, of relevant evidence or
information about the detected substance. The EMMP
considers submitted information in determining if a violation
occurred.

If it is determined that a violation of the rule has occurred, a
notice of violation will be issued. The assessment of the civil
penalty considers the type of drug detected and the
background information provided in the investigation.

e  Civil penalties of not less than $100 and not more
than $10,000 for each offense will apply to the
owner, the trainer, or both the owner and trainer of
an equine found to have a chemical analysis with a
prohibited substance or NSAIDs in violation of the
rule.

e  The owner, trainer, or both owner and trainer may
receive a suspension from all public shows and
competitions for a period of not less than 90 days or
more than one year for each violation.

e The owner of an equine found in violation of the rule
may have to pay a penalty fee of $50.00 to the public
show or competition.

For additional information:

CDFA-EMMP
1500 W. El Camino #215
Sacramento, CA 95833

EMMP@cdfa.ca.gov
http://www.cdfa.ca.gov/ahfss/Animal_Health/emmp/

Drugs and Medications:
Dr. Katie Flynn
EMMP Veterinarian
(916) 900-5039
kflynn@cdfa.ca.gov
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