
 

  

 

According to Food and Agricultural Code Section 

24001, an event manager is defined as the person in 

charge of an event.  The event manager is 

responsible for registering the event with California 

Department of Food and Agriculture (CDFA) Equine 

Medication Monitoring Program (EMMP) and for 

collection and remittance of fee assessments.  The 

event manager is personally liable for fees and 

penalties owed to CDFA.  Failure to comply with the 

requirements of the EMMP regulations may result in 

issue of a Notice of Violation and an associated civil 

penalty between $100 and $10,000. 

 

Event Manager - Definition 

The following events are exempt from EMMP 
regulations: 

 A rodeo-related competition, which is strictly 

timed performance with no subjective judging 

held apart from a horse show.  (This includes 

barrel racing, team penning, ranch sorting, 

ropings, and gymkhana.) 

 A sale of solely race horses. 

 Competitions under the jurisdiction of the 

California Horse Racing Board. 

 A public horse show for which the class or event 

entry fee is less than $4.99 per class and other 

fees do not exceed $19.99. (Other fees include, 

but are not limited to, grounds fees, stall fees or 

office fees.) 

 A public horse show in which all fees for 

participation are less than $19.99. (To include, 

but are not limited to, class fees, grounds fees, 

stall fees or office fees.) 

 

Event Exemptions 

 
 

An event manager is responsible for: 
 

1. Filing an Application To Register Equine Event 
(Form 76-024A) with the EMMP at least sixty 
(60) days before the event is to begin.   

 A civil penalty of $100 - $2500 may apply for 
failure to register an event. 

2. Collecting the fee of $5.00 for each horse being 
entered or being consigned to an event. 

3. Remitting the fees collected and submitting the 
Assessment Report For Registered Event (Form 
76-024A) to EMMP within fifteen (15) days of 
the final day of the event.   

 A civil penalty of 10% of the amount due 
plus 1 1/2% interest/month on the 
unpaid balance, calculated from the 
date of the event, will be levied on an 
event manager that fails to remit 
collected fees within fifteen (15) days of 
the final day of the event. 

4. Retaining event records for two (2) years after 
the final day of the event.  To enable verification 
of the collection and remittance of appropriate 
event fees, event records must be made 
available for inspection and photocopying by 
EMMP staff when requested. 

5. Collecting, signing, and promptly submitting 
exhibitor or consignor Drug Declaration Forms 
(Form 76-027 or USEF Form) to the EMMP. 

An event manager that fails to comply with EMMP 

regulations is subject to suspension from hosting or 

managing an event for a period of 90-365 days for 

each violation.  An event manager who violates such 

a suspension by hosting or managing an event 

during the suspension period is subject to civil 

penalties for each violation. 

 

 

Event Manager Responsibilities 

 
There are three (4) ways to register an event sixty (60) 

days before the date of the event: 

o Register event online by completing the 

Application to Register Event (Form 76-024A) at 

http://apps4.cdfa.ca.gov/emmppublic/event

registration.aspx 
o Download Application to Register Equine Event 

(Form 76-024A) Event Registration Form: 

http://www.cdfa.ca.gov/ahfss/Animal_Health/e

mmp/ 

o To request an Application to Register Equine 

Event (Form 76-024A) call to 916-900-5045. 

o To request an Application to Register Equine 

Event (Form 76-024A) email at 

EMMP@cdfa.ca.gov    

Submit the completed form by email to: 

EMMP@cdfa.ca.gov, by Fax to 916-900-5338 or by 

mail to CDFA/EMMP, 1500 W. El Camino Ave #215, 

Sacramento, CA 95833. 

 

Event Registration 

 
Collect and remit $5.00 for each horse entered 

or consigned to the event.  

 Remit fees within fifteen (15) days of the 

event.  

 Payment by Check:  Mail checks payable 

to CDFA – EMMP with the completed 

assessment form to CDFA/EMMP, 1500 

W. El Camino Ave #215, Sacramento, CA 

95833.  Include the Event Number on the 

check. 

 Credit Card Payment Online: Pay online 

at 

https://secure.cdfa.ca.gov/egov/emmp/.  

Have details available including event 

number and Master Card or Visa. 

 

Fee Collection and Remittance  
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Event managers are responsible for ensuring that 

competitors are aware of the Equine Medication 

Monitoring Program and the California Equine 

Medication Rule.  Event managers are encouraged 

to display EMMP materials and have EMMP 

materials available for distribution.   

EMMP staff request that event managers post the 

EMMP notice poster in a high traffic area for 

exhibitors, consignors and spectators to see.  Upon 

request, event managers must provide exhibitors 

with drug medication guideline materials.  Refer 

exhibitors, with specific questions on the 

California Equine Medication Rule and compliance 

with the administration of drugs and medications, 

to the Equine Medication Monitoring Program 

Veterinarian, Dr. Katie Flynn.   

Following receipt of an event registration, EMMP 

Staff will mail the event manager the event 

number, an assessment form for remittance with 

fees collected, a poster and a limited number of 

EMMP educational materials.  Please request 

additional materials for larger events by 

contacting the EMMP office at 916-900-4045 or 

EMMP@cdfa.ca.gov . 

 

 
Notification to Exhibitors  

 

Event managers are 

responsible for immediately 

notifying EMMP staff of event 

date changes or event 

cancellations. 

 

 
 

An owner/exhibitor/trainer must complete and file 

a drug declaration form with an event manager for 

any prohibited substance administered to any horse 

at an event within three (3) days before the day 

being shown.   A public horse sale consignor must 

complete and file a drug declaration form with a sale 

manager for any prohibited substance or NSAID 

administered to a horse consigned to a sale within 

the five (5) days before the day of the sale. 
 

Event managers must provide a Drug Declaration 

Form (CA Form 76-027 or USEF Form) to exhibitors 

upon request. Exhibitors must complete and provide 

the Drug Declaration to the event manager or 

designee within one hour of administration of a 

prohibited substance or within one hour of the 

event manager return to duty.  An event manager 

must sign, time/date the EMMP Drug Declaration 

Forms and either submit them to the EMMP field 

representative upon request or mail them to the 

EMMP office with the remittance form and fees 

collected. USEF Forms should be submitted to USEF 

who will share them if necessary with EMMP.  

 

Drug Declaration Form Completion 
(Form 76-027) 

PROGRAM INQUIRIES 
For more information about EMMP contact: 

CDFA- EMMP  

1500 W. El Camino #215, CA 95833 

http://cdfa.ca.gov/ahfss/Animal_Health/EMMP.html 
 

Event Registration and Administration: 

(916) 900-5045 

EMMP@cdfa.ca.gov 
 

Drugs and Medications: 

Dr. Katie Flynn, Equine Staff Veterinarian 

(916) 900-5039 

kflynn@cdfa.ca.gov  
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