
 

CALIFORNIA EQUINE MEDICATION RULE* – Effective January 1, 2017 

ATTENTION EXHIBITORS 
You are required by LAW to: 

 

 Submit selected horse for sample collection. 
o Selections are random according to an approved selection protocol. Emphasis 

may be placed on high placings or high score rides.  
o Representative of the Equine Medication Monitoring Program (EMMP) will make 

selections immediately following competition at the competition gate. 
o Representative will obtain a few details at the competition exit gate to determine the 

appropriate time and location for sample collection.  Additional information will be 
gathered at time of sampling at the designated time and location.  

o Approximately, thirty minutes is allowed for cool down and settling the horse after 
competition. Exceptions are at the discretion of the EMMP representatives and may 
be based on the selected horse’s show schedule for that day.  

o It is the responsibility of custodial agent of the selected horse to submit 
horse for sample collection. The EMMP representative is not responsible for 
following the selected horse or locating the selected horse.  

o Failure to submit the horse for sample collection or refusal to permit sample 
collection will result issuance of a Notice of Violation and a fine of $1,000 to 
$10,000.   

o Any concerns related to the EMMP selection protocol should be reported to EMMP 
Staff Veterinarian, Dr. Katie Flynn at kflynn@cdfa.ca.gov or 916-900-5039. 

 

 Comply with the California Equine Medication Rule. 
 Permissible Medications, not to exceed maximum allowable levels, include: 

Phenylbutazone (Butazolidin®)  Flunixin (Banamine®)  Ketoprofen (Ketofen®) 
Meclofenamic Acid (Arquel®)  Naproxen (Naprosyn®)  Dexamethasone (Azium®) 
Firocoxib (Equioxx®)   Diclofenic Acid (Surpass®)   Methocarbamol (Robaxin®) 

 

 Prohibited Substances: any drug or medication that is a stimulant, depressant, 
tranquilizer, anesthetic (including local anesthetics), sedative, analgesic, anabolic 
steroid, corticosteroids (except dexamethasone) and soring agents.   
o If prohibited substance is administered to a horse within three (3) days before the 

event a Drug Declaration Form must be filed with the event manager.  
o No prohibited substance should be administered within 24 hours of competition. If 

the level of prohibited substance detected in a sample indicates administration 
within the 24 hour time period, a notice of violation and civil penalty will be issued.  

 

 No administration of injectable substances within 12 hours of competition, except 
by a veterinarian administering any of the following:  
1) A minimum of 1 liter per 100 lbs of body weight of emergency fluids within 6-12 hours of 
competition  
2) Antibiotics (except procaine penicillin is prohibited)  
3) Dexamethasone injection within 6-12 hours of competition for the treatment of hives.   

The veterinarian must file a drug declaration following administration of these injectable 
substances. 

 

 Emergency administration of flunixin (Banamine®) by a veterinarian is allowable for 

emergency treatment of colic or an ophthalmic emergency with withdrawal of the horse 

from competition for 24 hours after administration. 

Failure to comply with the regulations shall constitute a violation subject to a civil 
penalty of not less than $100 and not more than $10,000. 

 

For more information on the EMMP administered by:  
California Department of Food and Agriculture 

Mailing Address: 1500 W. El Camino Ave #215, Sacramento, CA 95833 

Phone 916-900-5039  

Email: EMMP@cdfa.ca.gov   

Website: http://www.cdfa.ca.gov/ahfss/Animal_Health/emmp/  
 

*California Food and Agricultural Code Sections 24000-24018 
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