
State of California                         

DEPARTMENT OF FOOD & AGRICULTURE 
Pest Exclusion/Nursery, Seed and Cotton Program 
68-004 (Rev. 5/16) 

APPLICATION FOR 
AUTHORIZATION TO SELL SEED 

FOR FISCAL YEAR BEGINNING JULY 1, 2016 

Please print or type information in spaces where indicated.  Complete or correct all sections. 
FOR DEPARTMENTAL USE ONLY 

 

FIRM NAME & MAILING ADDRESS  (AS IT WILL APPEAR ON YOUR REGISTRATION): 

 

 

Phone:  

  
 

 

Email:  

  

 
CALIFORNIA FIRMS ONLY – LOCATION (GIVE SPECIFIC ADDRESS NOT P.O. BOX)    

CITY: 

 

COUNTY: 

 

CONTACT PERSON:  

   

WHICH IS:  
 
   

MILES  FROM:  
 
   

PLEASE LIST OTHER NAMES UNDER WHICH YOU SELL SEED (i.e. Doing Business As names; DBAs): 
 

 

Voluntary Information Request:  To ensure CDFA is adequately monitoring the marketplace, please indicate the  
“approximate” # of seed lots you annually offer for sale in CA. Please include lots offered under your DBA names.    
 
Section 52351 of the California Seed Law requires that every labeler of agricultural and/or vegetable seed offered for sale or 
sold in this state, or any person who receives or possesses for sale or sells in this state seed not grown in this state shall annually 
register with the Secretary of the California Department of Food and Agriculture to obtain authorization to sell seed.  In 
addition, Section 52354 requires that each person required to register shall pay an assessment annually on the gross annual dollar 
volume sales of agricultural and/or vegetable seed for the preceding year.  Please see the reverse side for exemptions to these 
requirements. 

CALCULATE YOUR FEES HERE 
 
1.  REGISTRATION FEE (Authorization to Sell Seed)                                                           = 1)  $              40.00 
 
2.  ASSESSMENT: The assessment rate established by the Secretary is $0.30 per $100 gross 

dollar volume sales of agricultural and/or vegetable seed sold in California for the preceding 
fiscal year ending June 30, 2016.   Assessment Amount = Assessment Rate X Sales 
 
     Gross annual dollar volume sales (7-1-15 thru 6-30-16): REQUIRED  
                                                                                      Lawn Seed     y             a)  $ .......................... 
                                                                                       Field Seed                   b)  $ .......................... 
                                                                                      Vegetable Seed  mc)  $ ......................… 
                                                                                                                                         
                    TOTAL SALES       (Add lines a, b, and c)                                  $ …...................... 

 Assessment Rate is $0.30/$100 sales (so rate factor is 0.0030)                        X    .0030        = 

 
 
 
 

 

 

 

 

 

2)  $  
 

3.  FEES DUE AS OF JULY 1, 2016  (add amounts in lines 1 and 2)  Don’t forget the $40 above   = 
 
3)  $  

4.  ADDITIONAL FEES IF RENEWAL IS LATE (AFTER JULY 31, 2016) 
 
      4a)  Registration Penalty              $8.00  
 
      4b)  Assessment Penalty             10%  (0.10 X line 2)     =    

 

 

4a) $  
 

4b) $  
 

5.  TOTAL FEES DUE (add amounts in lines 3 + 4a + 4b)                                                      = 
     Did you remember to bring down the $40 Registration Fee into Line 3? 

 
$  

IF EXEMPT FROM EITHER REGISTRATION AND/OR ASSESSMENT, PLEASE INDICATE THE REASON (S) BELOW AND RETURN THIS APPLICATION. 

SEND CHECK OR MONEY ORDER (Please do not send coin or currency)  PAYABLE TO:  CDFA - 90059 FOR THE AMOUNT 
INDICATED ON LINE 3 OR 5 ABOVE, ALONG WITH THIS APPLICATION TO:    

CASHIER -90059, State of California 
Department of Food and Agriculture 

1220 N Street, Room 140 
Sacramento, California 95814 

 
I hereby certify that the information submitted in this application is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief.  I understand that 

the records from which this application was compiled are subject to audit by the California Department of Food and Agriculture. 

 SIGNATURE OF AUTHORIZED REPRESENTATIVE: OFFICIAL TITLE: DATE:  

 
SEE REVERSE SIDE FOR INSTRUCTIONS AND ADDITIONAL INFORMATION OR CONTACT SEED SERVICES AT (916) 654-0435 

 

# 

Checkmark if reported sales are exempt 
from assessment. Explain exemption below. 



 
HOW TO REGISTER FOR AUTHORIZATION TO SELL SEED IN CALIFORNIA 

 
 REGISTRATION FEE 

The annual registration fee is $40.00 (forty dollars) for each fiscal year or portion of a fiscal year beginning July 1. 

Who Must Register 
 Every labeler of agricultural or vegetable seed offered for sale or sold in this State 
 Any person who sells seed in this State shall annually register (FAC 52351) 

Who Is Exempt From Registering 
 Any individual grower that conditions such seed exclusively for his own planting use. 
 Any person using seed only for purposes of planting seed increase. 
 Any person licensed to sell nursery stock, except when he also engages in conditioning and labeling. 

NOTE:  The labeling and sale of flower seed is NOT covered by the California Seed Law. 

What is agricultural seed?   
The seed of any domesticated grass or cereal, and of any legume or other plant grown as turf (list as Lawn Seed) or as a cover, 
forage, fiber or field crop (list as Field Seed), and mixtures of such seeds. 

What is vegetable seed? 
The seed of any crop grown in gardens or truck farms. 

ASSESSMENT 
If you sold seed in California prior to June 30, 2016 you may owe an assessment.  The Secretary has set the assessment rate at $0.30 
(thirty cents) for every $100 (one hundred dollars) of gross annual sales of agricultural, grass or vegetable seed in California for the 
proceeding fiscal year ending June 30, 2016.  NOTE, the gross value of the seed includes all costs that contribute to the 
value of the seed at the time of sale, even if collected at a separate time or through another entity.  The assessment 
includes charges or fees for technology, development, or any treatments, coatings or enhancement processes that are part of the value 
of the seed. 

Who Must Pay the Assessment 
Every person required to register shall also pay the assessment if they have sold seed in the year prior to registering. 

Who Is Exempt from Paying the Assessment 
 No assessment shall be paid by any labeler or any other person for any agricultural or vegetable seed for which such 

assessment has been previously paid by another labeler or person except when the identity of the lot has been changed. 
 No assessment fee shall be paid on that portion of a person's sales of agricultural or vegetable seed or both, that is sold in 

containers of four ounces or less net weight of seed. 
 No assessment fee shall be paid on agricultural or vegetable seed or both, sold and shipped out of California. 

 
HOW TO CACULATE YOUR ANNUAL FEES 

The annual Registration Fee is $40.00.   Your assessment is equal to your gross annual dollar sales of seed for the prior fiscal year 
(July 1, 2015 through June 30, 2016) multiplied by the assessment rate ($0.30/$100 or .0030).  
(Assessment  = Total Ag, Grass & Veg Seed Sales X Assessment Rate)  
 

LATE FEES - NOTE: Payments postmarked after July 31, 2016 are considered late. By law, a penalty of 20% for late 

payment of the assessment and 10% of the registration fee shall be levied on payments postmarked after July 31, 2016. 
In addition, if you sold seed before obtaining authorization, your payment is considered late and subject to late fees.  

Example:   DUE JULY 1            AFTER JULY 31 
(List the gross annual dollar sales for  Lawn Seed            a) $ 40,115            Penalty 
 each type of seed) Ag or Field Seed    b) $       0 

Vegetable Seed      c) $  63,127 
(Add a, b and c) Total Sales            $ 103,242 
(Multiply Total Sales by the rate per $100) $0.30/$100 =       x.0030 
(This is your assessment) Assessment $ 309.73            (10%)  $25.89 $        30.97 

Registration Fee    $    40.00            (20 %) $  8.00 $    48.00 
(Add Assessment and Registration Fee) TOTAL FEES DUE   $ 349.73            LATE  $ 78.97 

Refund Policy: Refunds for overpayments will only be made for current fiscal year fees. 
 

ALTERNATIVE FORMATS 
This application can be made available in alternative formats for visual or hearing-impaired individuals.  Please allow 7-10 working days 
for production of the alternative format.  Requests for an alternative format may be directed to the address and telephone number 
below. 
 

TIME PERIODS 
The Department of Food and Agriculture has established time periods for the processing of permit applications, in compliance with 
Government Code Section 15372-15378.  Failure to comply with these time periods may be appealed to the Secretary of Food and 
Agriculture, 1220 N Street, Sacramento, California 95814, pursuant to Regulations set forth in Title 3, California Code of Regulations, 
Section 301.  Under certain circumstances, the Secretary may order that the applicant receive a reimbursement of filing fees.                 

 
If you have additional questions, please contact: 

CDFA - Pest Exclusion Branch 
Nursery, Seed and Cotton Program 
1220 N Street, Room 344 
Sacramento, CA 95814 
(916) 654-0435 
 
Or Email: seedservices@cdfa.ca.gov  

mailto:seedservices@cdfa.ca.gov
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