State of California

DEPARTMENT OF FOOD & AGRICULTURE Pest Exclusion/Nursery, Seed, and Cotton Program 68-004 (Rev. 3/2023)

APPLICATION FOR AUTHORIZATION TO SELL SEED

FOR FISCAL YEAR BEGINNING JULY 1, 2023

Please print or type information in spaces where indicated. COMPLETE	or UPDATE ALL SECTIONS.	Authorization Number (For renewals)					
COMPANY NAME & MAILING ADDRESS (AS IT APPEAR ON YOUR REGISTRATION):	Phone:	Email:					
	CALIFORNIA FIRMS ONLY - LOCATION (GIVE	E SPECIFIC ADDRESS, NOT P.O. BOX)					
	CITY:						
CONTACT PERSON:	COUNTY:						
PLEASE LIST OTHER NAMES UNDER WHICH YOU SELL SEED (i.e. Doing Business As names; DBAs - Attach an additional page if more space is needed):							
Voluntary Information Request: To ensure CDFA is adequately monitoring the marketplace, please indicate the Approximate # of seed lots you annually offer for sale in CA. Please include lots offered under your DBA names.							
Section 52351 of the California Seed Law requires that every labeler of agricultural and/or vegetable seed offered for sale or sold in this state, or any person who receives or possesses for sale or sells in this state seed not grown in this state shall annually register with the Secretary of the California Department of Food and Agriculture to obtain authorization to sell seed. In addition, Section 52354 requires that each person required to register pursuant to Section 52351 shall pay an assessment annually on the gross annual dollar volume sales of agricultural and/or vegetable seed for the preceding year. Please see the reverse side for exemptions to these requirements.							
CALCULATE YOUR FE	· · ·						
1. ANNUAL \$40 REGISTRATION FEE (Authorization to Sell Seed)		1) \$					
2. ASSESSMENT: The assessment rate established by the Secretary is \$0.30 per \$100 gross total sales of agricultural, grass and/or vegetable seed sold in California for the preceding fiscal year ending June 30, 2023 Assessment = Assessment Rate X Sales							
Gross annual dollar amount of sales (7-1-22 thru 6-30-23): Lawn Seed Checkmark if reported sales are exempt from assessment. Explain exemption below.							
TOTAL SALES (Add lines a, b, and c)	\$	a) ¢					
Assessment Rate is \$0.30/\$100 sales (so rate factor is 0.0030) 3. ADDITIONAL FEES IF RENEWAL IS LATE (AFTER JULY 31, 2)	X .0030 =	2) \$					
CHECKMARK IF Late penalty EXEMPTED (New applicant with no							
3a) Registration Penalty \$8.00		3a) \$					
3b) Assessment Penalty 10% (0.10 X line 2) =		3b) \$					
4. TOTAL FEES DUE (add amounts in lines 1 + 2 + 3a + 3b)	=	\$					
IF EXEMPT FROM EITHER ASSESSMENT ANDOR LATE PENALTIES, PLEASE INDICATE THE REASON(S) BELOW AND RETURN THIS APPLICATION.							
SEND CHECK OR MONEY ORDER (Please do not send coin or currency) INDICATED ON LINE 4 ABOVE, ALONG WITH THIS APPLICATION TO: CASHIER 212-90059, State of California Department of Food and Agriculture Plant Health & Pest Prevention Services: P.O Box 942882 Sacramento, CA 94271							
I hereby certify that the information submitted in this application is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief. I understand that the records from which this application was compiled are subject to audit by the California Department of Food and Agriculture.							
SIGNATURE OF AUTHORIZED REPRESENTATIVE:		DATE:					

HOW TO REGISTER FOR AUTHORIZATION TO SELL SEED IN CALIFORNIA

REGISTRATION FEE

The annual registration fee is \$40.00 (forty dollars) for each fiscal year or portion of a fiscal year beginning July 1.

Who Must Register

- Every labeler of agricultural or vegetable seed offered for sale or sold in this State
- Any person who sells seed in this State shall annually register (FAC 52351)

Who Is Exempt From Registering

- Any individual grower that conditions such seed exclusively for his own planting use.
- Any person using seed only for purposes of planting seed increase.
- Any person licensed to sell nursery stock, except when he also engages in conditioning and labeling.
- NOTE: The labeling and sale of flower seed is NOT covered by the California Seed Law.

What is agricultural seed?

The seed of any domesticated grass or cereal, and of any legume or other plant grown as turf (list as Lawn Seed) or as a cover, forage, fiber or field crop (list as Field Seed), and mixtures of such seeds.

What is vegetable seed?

The seed of any crop grown in gardens or truck farms.

ASSESSMENT

If you sold seed in California prior to June 30, 2023 you may owe an assessment. The Secretary has set the assessment rate at \$0.30 (thirty cents) for every \$100 (one hundred dollars) of gross annual sales of agricultural, grass or vegetable seed in California for the proceeding fiscal year ending June 30, 2023. **NOTE, the gross value of the seed includes all costs that contribute to the value of the seed at the time of sale, even if collected at a separate time or through another entity.** The assessment includes charges or fees for technology, development, or any treatments, coatings or enhancement processes that are part of the value of the seed.

Who Must Pay the Assessment

Every person required to register shall also pay the assessment if they have sold seed in the year prior to registering.

Who Is Exempt from Paying the Assessment

- No assessment shall be paid by any labeler or any other person for any agricultural or vegetable seed for which such
- assessment has been previously paid by another labeler or person except when the identity of the lot has been changed.
- No assessment fee shall be paid on that portion of a person's sales of agricultural or vegetable seed or both, that is sold in containers of four ounces or less net weight of seed.
- No assessment fee shall be paid on agricultural or vegetable seed or both, sold and shipped out of California.

HOW TO CALCULATE YOUR ANNUAL FEES

The annual Registration Fee is \$40.00. Your assessment is equal to your gross annual dollar sales of seed for the prior fiscal year (July 1, 2022 through June 30, 2023) multiplied by the assessment rate (\$0.30/\$100 or .0030). (Assessment = Total Ag, Grass & Veg Seed Sales X Assessment Rate)

LATE FEES - NOTE: Payments postmarked after July 31, 2023 are considered late. <u>By law</u>, a penalty of 10% for late payment of the assessment and 20% of the registration fee shall be levied on payments postmarked after July 31, 2023. In addition, if you sold seed before obtaining authorization, your payment is considered late and subject to late fees.

Example:			DL	JE JULY 1	AFTER JULY 31
(List the gross annual dollar sales for	Lawn Seed	a)	\$	40,115	Penalty
each type of seed)	Ag or Field Seed	b)	\$	0	
	Vegetable Seed	c)	\$	<u>63,127</u>	
(Add a, b and c)	Total Sales		\$	103,242	
(Multiply Total Sales by the rate per \$100)	\$0.30/\$100 =			<u>x.0030</u>	
(This is your assessment)	Assessment		\$	309.73	(10%) \$30.97
	Registration Fee	e	\$	40.00	(20 %) <u>\$ 8.00</u>
(Add Assessment and Registration Fee)	TOTAL FEES DU	E	\$	349.73	LATE \$38.97
Defined Define Definite for a supervised will embed a few example for a supervised for a					

Refund Policy: Refunds for overpayments will *only* be made for *current* fiscal year fees.

ALTERNATIVE FORMATS

This application can be made available in alternative formats for visual or hearing-impaired individuals. Please allow 7-10 working days for production of the alternative format. Requests for an alternative format may be directed to the address and telephone number below.

TIME PERIODS

The Department of Food and Agriculture has established time periods for the processing of permit applications, in compliance with Government Code Section 15372-15378. Failure to comply with these time periods may be appealed to the Secretary of Food and Agriculture, 1220 N Street, Sacramento, California 95814, pursuant to Regulations set forth in Title 3, California Code of Regulations, Section 301. Under certain circumstances, the Secretary may order that the applicant receive a reimbursement of filing fees.

If you have additional questions, please contact:

CDFA - Pest Exclusion Branch Nursery, Seed, and Cotton Program 1220 N Street Sacramento, CA 95814 (916)403-6715

Or Email: seedservices@cdfa.ca.gov