ADDENDUM I

SUMMARY OF CHANGES FOR 2024

Changes or additions in red type, deleted wording is struck through.

PREFACE

AMERICANS WITH DISABILITIES ACT

CDFA and the Network of California Fairs are committed to providing accessible and reasonable accommodations in its services, activities, and programs in accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). Persons with disabilities needing special accommodations should contact their respective fair office prior to the fair event.

GENERAL RULES FOR ALL DEPARTMENTS

V. PROTEST

- 3. Protests can only be filed by an exhibitor being affected by a violation of State or Local Rules, their parent/guardian, or leader/advisor.
- 4. Given the short duration of the fair:
 - a. The protestor shall make every effort to file the protest prior to judging. All protests must be filed in writing within 24 hours of the time of the cause of the protest and before conclusion of fair.
 - b. The fair will make every effort to resolve protests as quickly as possible. All exhibitors by entering an exhibit and all persons by filing a protest agree to cooperate with Fair Management to resolve protests in a timely manner.
 - c. Protests shall be adjudicated by Fair Management. and/or members of Board of Directors.
 - d. Fair Management decisions may only be appealed at the next regularly scheduled board meetings, if:
 - i. The decision upholds a Local Rule that circumvents or is not in the spirit of a State Rule(s);
 - ii. The individual can substantiate new and credible information that was not available at the time of the local decision; or
 - iii. There was inappropriate adjudication at the Fair Management level that may have included conflict of interest, lack of due process, or a significant misinterpretation of rules.

ADDITIONAL DEPARTMENT RULES

Exhibitor Age Requirements

1. FFA members may participate as members as early as entering into the seventh grade, until the end of the calendar year following the year of graduation from high school. (For example, a graduate this year is eligible until December 31 of next year.)

- 2. 4-H Age Requirements: The levels of membership for 4-H are age based. Each level is defined as follows:
 - a. Primary Level: Must be 5 years old as of December 31, 20223 to exhibit at fair. Primary membership ends when members qualify as junior members. Exhibitors who are under 9 years of age on or before December 31, 20223 are not eligible to compete in large animal (Beef, Sheep, Swine, Dairy Cattle, Dairy Goats, Boer Goats, Market & Fiber Goats, Horse & Llama) competitions at California Fairs.
 - b. Junior, Intermediate, & Senior: Must be 9 years old on or before December 31, 20223.
 Exhibitors are eligible to compete/exhibit through December 31st of the year in which they turn 19 years of age.
- 3. **Grange Members** must be at least 5 years old on January 1, 20234 to exhibit. They may exhibit until the end of the calendar year in which they reach age 19.
 - a. All **Grange Youth** must be 9 years old on January 1, 20234 to compete in large animal (Beef, Sheep, Swine, Dairy Cattle, Dairy Goats, Boer Goats, Market & Fiber Goats, Horse, Alpaca & Llama) competitions at California Fairs.
- 4. Independent Exhibitors must be at least 9 years old by January 1, 20234 to compete in large animal (Beef, Sheep, Swine, Dairy Cattle, Dairy Goats, Boer Goats, Market & Fiber Goats, Horse, Alpaca & Llama) competitions at California Fairs.
 - a. Exhibitors are eligible to compete/exhibit through December 31st of the year in which they turn 19 years of age.
 - b. Youth may be ineligible to participate as Independent if documented disciplinary action involving their project(s) has been taken against them by 4-H, FFA or Grange organizations. Length of ineligibility to be determined by Fair Management.

Exhibit Eligibility

- 1. Junior exhibitors must own and/or grow or construct their exhibits.
- 2. 4-H, FFA and Grange Exhibitors:
 - a. 4-H, FFA and Grange animal project members must be enrolled in the project for at least 60 days (120 days for horse and market beef) immediately preceding the opening day of the fair or event if held separately from fair in the case of horse shows.
 - b. Eligibility of a project according to 4-H, FFA, or Grange rules shall be determined by the exhibitor's 4-H Youth Advisor, FFA Advisor, Grange Youth Advisor, Local Leader, or designee, as long as the exhibitor also meets "Exhibit Eligibility" rule 2a. requirements.
- 3. Juniors who have been 4-H, FFA or Grange project members within 60 days (120 days for horse and market beef) prior to the fair are not eligible to compete in that project as Independent exhibitors or enter project(s) under a different organization. (Please refer to 4-H/FFA/Grange/Fairs & Expositions Youth Agreement at www.cdfa.ca.gov/fairsandexpositions for more information).
- **34**. Advisor, leader, teacher, or parent/guardian signature on the entry form is required by the fair certifying that:

- a. Projects have been under their supervision in accordance with the rules and regulations of the organization and the fair; and
- b. The entry is the project of the exhibitor and is eligible for exhibit.

Failure or refusal of such advisor, leader, or parent/guardian to sign the required entry form will prevent the exhibitor from entering that particular class(es).

- 45. Independent exhibitors must enter an open junior or Independent class, unless one is not available. If an open or Independent class is not available, junior exhibitors may enter an appropriate 4-H, FFA or Grange class. Division and/or class placement of Independents may be determined by Fair Management.
- 5. Juniors who have been 4-H, FFA or Grange project members within 60 days (120 days for horse and market beef) prior to the fair are not eligible to compete in that project as Independent exhibitors or enter project(s) under a different organization. (Please refer to 4-H/FFA/Grange/Fairs & Expositions Youth Agreement at www.cdfa.ca.gov/fairsandexpositions for more information).

IX. ANIMAL SPECIES RULES

Sheep

1. All sheep in California require official scrapie identification issued by the USDA. Official scrapie identification (official eartags, official tattoos, official electronic identification, or official premises identification numbers) is required before transport to show, fair, petting zoo, or exhibition and/or when sheep change ownership, except:

- a. Lambs less than 18 months of age in slaughter channels that have not lambed, kidded, aborted, or are pregnant.
- b. Low-risk sheep (those not exposed to scrapie or to any sheep, unless low risk commercial sheep).
- c. Castrated animals less than 18 months of age that are not for exhibition.

2. Tail Docking - To qualify for exhibit market lambs must be docked such that the tail (dock) is healed and can be lifted from the exterior. Lambs that have no dock will not be eligible.

Goats

All goats in California require official scrapie identification issued by the USDA. Official scrapie identification (official eartags, official tattoos, official electronic identification, or official premises identification numbers) is required before transport to show, fair, petting zoo, or exhibition and/or when goats change ownership, except:

- a. Kids less than 18 months of age in slaughter channels that have not lambed, kidded, aborted, or are pregnant.
- b. Low–risk goats (those not exposed to scrapie or to any sheep, unless low risk commercial sheep).
- c. Castrated animals less than 18 months of age that are not for exhibition.

X. ANIMAL HEALTH RULES

Fairs will make a reasonable effort to enforce state and federal animal health regulations, and they have the right to seek assistance from the appropriate agencies. For assistance with California's requirements, or to obtain an entry permit if importing livestock from out-of-state,

contact the California Department of Food & Agriculture (CDFA), Animal Health and Food Safety Services (AHFSS) Animal Health Branch (AHB). Headquarters: 1220 N St., Sacramento, CA 95814, (916) 900-5052.

These rules are subject to change to reflect any changes, updates, and/or alerts communicated by the CDFA AHB as they pertain to animal health regulations. To view the latest announcements made by the CDFA AHFSS AHB, please visit their website at https://www.cdfa.ca.gov/ahfss/.

CATTLE

Cattle Entries from California

2. All dairy cattle , all bulls 18 months of age and over, and non-virgin bulls less than 18 months of age changing ownership and all bulls changing ownership that are 18 months of age and over, or non-virgin bulls less than 18 months, require an official identification eartag.

3. All bulls 18 months of age and over, and non-virgin bulls less than 18 months of age, require a negative individual PCR trichomoniasis test performed within 60 days prior to change of ownership, except bulls used solely for exhibition that were confined to the exhibition location, without access to mature female cattle and will return directly to the premises of origin after exhibition. If testing is required, the sample must be run individually and cannot be pooled. Pooled samples are not acceptable for testing.

4. Acceptable methods for official identification of cattle include:

- a. Official USDA individual identification eartags:
 - i. National Uniform Eartagging System (NUES) eartags:
 - USDA metal brucellosis calfhood vaccination (orange) eartags for females
 - USDA metal "silver brite" eartags
 - ii. Animal Identification Number (AIN) eartag (15 digits long, must begin with 840, usually Radio Frequency Identification Devices [RFID])
- b. Legible breed Breed registration tattoos with accompanying registration paperwork.

Cattle Entries from Other States

- 2. Acceptable methods for official identification of cattle include:
 - a. Official USDA individual identification eartags:
 - i. National Uniform Eartagging System (NUES) eartags:
 - USDA metal brucellosis calfhood vaccination (orange) eartags for females
 - USDA metal "silver brite" eartags
 - ii. Animal Identification Number (AIN) eartag (15 digits long, must begin with 840, usually Radio Frequency Identification Devices [RFID])
 - b. Legible breed Breed registration tattoos with accompanying registration paperwork.
- 4. Testing and/or vaccination requirements include the following:

a. All female dairy cattle four (4) months of age and over must bear evidence of official calfhood vaccination against brucellosis with a legible, official tattoo visible in the right ear.

b. All sexually intact dairy cattle six (6) months of age and over require a negative tuberculosis (TB) test within 60 days prior to entering California or must originate from a TB accredited free herd with documentation of the herd number and last test date on the ICVI.

c. Cattle do not require a brucellosis test unless originating from a designated brucellosis surveillance area.

d. All bulls 18 months of age and over, and non-virgin bulls less than 18 months of age, require a negative individual PCR trichomoniasis test performed within 60 days prior to entry, except bulls used solely for exhibition that were are confined to the exhibition location, without access to mature female cattle and will return directly to the state of origin after exhibition. If testing is required, the sample must be run individually and cannot be pooled. Pooled samples are not acceptable for testing.

SHEEP AND GOATS

Sheep and Goat Entries from California

- All sheep and goats entering fairs require individual official scrapie identification issued by the USDA. Individual official identification that must be kept on the animals. Acceptable methods of <u>official identification of sheep and goats</u> include:
 - a. Official USDA individual identification eartags:
 - i. Animal Identification Number (AIN) eartags (15 digits long, must begin with 840, usually Radio Frequency Identification Devices [RFID])
 - ii. Scrapie eartags: either flock identification eartags (flock identification number with individual animal number) or serial eartags (alphanumeric combination for individual animal).

Sheep and Goat Entries from Other States

- 1. All exhibition sheep and goats entering California require individual official scrapie identification issued by the USDA, an Interstate Livestock Entry Permit issued within 15 days prior to entry, and an Interstate Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (ICVI) with an inspection date within 30 days before movement into the state with the following scrapie statement "The animals are not scrapie positive or suspect or from a scrapie non-compliant flock". Official identification must be listed on the ICVI.
- 2. Acceptable methods of official scrapie identification of sheep and goats include:
 - a. Official USDA individual identification eartags
 - i. Animal Identification Number (AIN) eartags (15 digits long, must begin with 840, usually Radio Frequency Identification Devices [RFID])
 - ii. Scrapie eartags: either flock identification eartags (flock identification number with individual animal number) or serial eartags (alphanumeric combination for individual animal).

SWINE

Swine Entries from Other States

- 2. Acceptable methods for official identification of swine include:
 - a. Eartags
 - i. National Uniform Eartagging System (NUES) eartags: USDA metal "silver brite" eartags
 - USDA plastic swine eartags

ii. Animal Identification Number (AIN) eartag (15 digits long, must begin with 840, usually Radio Frequency Identification Devices [RFID])

iii. Premises Identification Number (PIN) eartags with an individual animal number.

b. Ear notches or tattoos (ear or inner flank) if recorded with a purebred registry association with registration papers attached to the ICVI and accompanied by breed association registration papers attached to the ICVI.

4. No testing, including brucellosis and pseudorabies, is or vaccinations are currently required.

XII. EQUINE HEALTH RULES

Equine Health Regulations

- 2. Equine Medication Monitoring Program (EMMP) (CA Food & Ag Code 24000-24018)
 - a. Horses are subject to random drug and medication testing specified in the <u>Food and</u> <u>Agricultural Code Sections 24000-24018</u>. The applicable fee is \$814.00 per horse per event. The following events are exempt from the Equine Medication Monitoring Program:
 - A rodeo related competition, which is strictly a timed performance with no subjective judging, held apart from a public event.
 - A sale of solely racehorses,
 - Competitions under the jurisdiction of the California Horse Racing Board.
 - A public equine event for which the class or event entry fee is less than \$4.99 per class and other fees do not exceed \$19.99 (Other fees include but are not limited to, grounds fees, stall fees or office fees.)
 - A public equine event in which all fees for participation are less than \$19.99 (Fees include but are not limited to class fees, grounds fees, stall fees or office fees.)