# TITLE 3. FOOD AND AGRICULTURE DIVISION 2. ANIMAL INDUSTRY CHAPTER 6. DRUGGING OF HORSES

October 15, 2021

# NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Department of Food and Agriculture (herein after referred to as "Department") proposes to amend the proposed regulations described below after considering all comments, objections, and recommendations regarding the proposed actions.

## PUBLIC HEARING

The Department has not scheduled a public hearing on this proposed action. However, the Department will hold a hearing if it receives a written request for a public hearing from any interested person, or his or her authorized representative, no later than 15 days before the close of the written comment period.

## WRITTEN COMMENT PERIOD

Any interested person, or his or her duly authorized representative, may submit written comments relevant to the proposed regulatory action to the Department. Comments may be submitted via facsimile (FAX) at (916) 900-5333 or by e-mail to angelina.velez@cdfa.ca.gov. The written comment period closes on December 6th, 2021. The Department will consider only comments received at the Department by that time.

Submit comments to:

Angelina Velez Department of Food and Agriculture Animal Health & Food Safety Services Animal Health Branch 1220 N Street, Sacramento, CA 95814 -Telephone: (916) 708-4467 Fax: (916) 900-5333 E-mail: angelina.velez@cdfa.ca.gov

# AUTHORITY AND REFERENCE

Pursuant to the authority vested by sections 407, 24012, and 24013, Food and Agricultural Code, and to implement, interpret or make specific section 24012 of said Code, the Department is proposing to make changes to section 1280.2 of Chapter 6, Division 2, of Title 3 of the California Code of Regulations.

# INFORMATIVE DIGEST/POLICY STATEMENT OVERVIEW

Existing law, Chapter 8 (commencing with section 24000) of Division 11 of the Food and Agricultural Code authorizes the Department of Food and Agriculture (Department) to ensure the integrity of public horse shows, horse competitions, and horse sales through the control of performance and disposition enhancing medications while limiting their permitted therapeutic usage. The Department's Animal Health Branch, Equine Medication Monitoring Program (EMMP) enforces the requirements of these sections of law.

Existing law, section 24012 of the Food and Agricultural Code requires an event manager to charge, collect, and remit fees to the Department for events registered with the Department, and establishes the authority to set the applicable fees by regulation, in consultation with the advisory committee appointed pursuant to section 24013.5. Fees are collected for each equine being entered in a public show/competition or being consigned to a public sale; fees collected are used to fund the EMMP.

Existing section 1280.2 of Title 3 of the California Code of Regulations specifies the fees for each horse entered per event at horse shows and competitions are \$8.00. This proposal amends section 1280.2 to increase the applicable fees from \$8.00 to \$14.00 for each horse entered in each public event, competition, and sales. As amended, this section also specifies the effective date of the fee increase to begin January 1, 2022.

Benefits of the proposed action: This proposal benefits the equine industry by promoting the safety of the horse and rider in competition and horses at public sales by preventing any potential misuse of drugs or medications that could fraudulently mask a disease, condition, or injury of the horse which could place the rider and/or the horse in jeopardy.

This proposal is necessary to increase fees to ensure continuity of program services which serve to ensure the Department of Food and Agriculture fulfills its mandate of the protection of both the horse and rider in public horse shows and sales in accordance with Food and Agricultural Code sections 24005, 24006, 24007, 24008, 24009, 24010, 24011, 24012, 24013, and 24015.

# **CONSISTENCY EVALUATION**

The Department has evaluated this proposal and believes that it is not inconsistent or incompatible with the Department's existing State regulations regarding public equine events and sales. There are other State regulations dealing with the proper use of drugs and medications in equines under the California Horse Racing Board (Board) [Division 4

(commencing with section 1400) of Title 4 of the California Code of Regulations] which is separate and distinct from the Department's Equine Medication Monitoring Program. The Department has no jurisdiction over horse racing in the State yet work together with veterinarians of the Board to ensure a consistency of the programs within the State.

# **DISCLOSURES REGARDING THE PROPOSED ACTION**

Fiscal Impact on Public Agencies Including Costs or Savings to State Agencies or Costs/Savings in Federal Funding to the State: None.

Nondiscretionary Costs/Savings to Local Agencies: None.

Local Mandate: None.

<u>Cost to Any Local Agency or School District for Which Government Code Section 17500</u> <u>et seq. Require Reimbursement:</u> None.

# Cost Impacts on Representative Private Persons or Businesses:

The Department is not aware of any cost impacts that representative private persons or businesses would necessarily incur in reasonable compliance with the proposed action. The proposed regulation affects individual and businesses choosing to participate in various equine events held throughout California.

The anticipated compliance requirements as a result of this proposal is as follows:

<u>Paperwork/reporting requirement:</u> This proposal increases testing fees collected from persons choosing to participate in in equine events and competitions, and equine sales held in California. Current testing fees are \$8 per horse at events; this proposal increases those fees collected to \$14. Existing regulations require the use of various application, registration and reporting forms for participants and hosts of public equine events and sales in the State.

<u>Business Impact</u>: The Department has made an initial determination that the proposed regulatory action will not have any significant, statewide adverse economic impact directly affecting California businesses, including the ability of California businesses to compete with businesses in other states.

# **RESULTS OF THE ECONOMIC IMPACT ASSESSMENT/ANALYSIS**

The Department of Food and Agriculture (Department) has determined that this regulatory proposal will not have any impact on the creation of jobs or businesses or the elimination of jobs or existing businesses or the expansion of businesses in California.

The Department has made an initial determination that this regulatory proposal will impact the equine industry in California; will impact persons required to register with the Department any public horse event and sales held in California, and affect persons choosing to participate in public horse events and sales in accordance with Food and Agricultural Code section 24001, 24012, and 24015. The Department's proposal affects small businesses.

This proposal affects individuals and businesses choosing to participate in equine events and public sales throughout California.

The Department is not aware of any specific benefits this proposal will have on the health of California residents, worker safety, or the State's environment.

The Department believes this proposal benefits the welfare of California residents by protecting the economic health of the affected equine industry and serves to ensure the Department fulfills its mandate of the protection of both the horse and rider in public horse shows and sales through the regulation of therapeutic medications.

# SMALL BUSINESS DETERMINATION

The Department's proposal affects small equine businesses choosing to participate in equine events and public sales throughout California.

# **CONSIDERATION OF ALTERNATIVES**

The Department must determine that no reasonable alternative considered or that has otherwise been identified and brought the attention of the Department of Food and Agriculture (Department) would be more effective in carrying out the purpose for which the action is proposed or would be as effective and less burdensome to affected private persons than the proposed action, or would be more cost effective to affected private persons and equally effective in implementing the statutory policy or other provision of law. This proposal is necessary to increase fees to ensure continuity of program services which serve to ensure the Department fulfills its mandate of the protection of both the horse and rider in public horse shows and sales in accordance with Food and Agricultural Code sections 24005, 24006, 24007, 24008, 24009, 24010, 24011, 24012, 24013, and 24015.

Any interested person may present statements or arguments orally or in writing relevant to the above determinations at the hearing (if a hearing is requested) or during the written public comment period.

# AVAILABILITY OF INITIAL STATEMENT OF REASONS AND INFORMATION AND TEXT OF PROPOSAL

Copies of the exact language of the proposed regulations and of the Initial Statement of Reasons, and all the information upon which the proposal is based, may be obtained by contacting the persons named below or by accessing the Department's website as indicated below in this Notice.

# AVAILABILITY AND LOCATION OF THE FINAL STATEMENT OF REASONS AND RULEMAKING FILE

All the information upon which the proposed regulations are based is contained in the rulemaking file, which is available for public inspection by contacting the persons named below.

Any person may obtain a copy of the Final Statement of Reasons once it has been prepared, by making a written request to the contact persons named below or by accessing the website listed below.

# AVAILABILITY OF CHANGED OR MODIFIED TEXT

After considering all timely and relevant comments received, the Department may amend the proposed regulations substantially as described in this notice. If the Department makes modifications, which are sufficiently related to the originally proposed text, it will make the modified text (with the changes clearly indicated) available to the public for at least 15 days before the Department adopts the regulations as revised. Please send requests for copies of any modified regulations to the attention of Angelina Velez at the address listed below. The Department will accept written comments on the modified regulations for 15 days after the date on which they are made available.

# **AVAILABILITY OF FINAL STATEMENT OF REASONS**

Upon its completion, copies of the Final Statement of Reasons may be obtained by contacting the persons named below.

# **AVAILABILTY OF DOCUMENTS ON THE INTERNET**

Website Access: Materials regarding this proposal can be found by accessing the following Internet address: https://www.cdfa.ca.gov/ahfss/regulations.html#AHB-rulemaking

# CONTACT PERSONS

Inquiries and any written comments concerning this proposal are to be addressed to the following:

Angelina Velez Department of Food and Agriculture Animal Health & Food Safety Services Animal Health Branch 1220 N Street, Sacramento, CA 95814 Telephone: (916) 708-4467 E-mail: angelina.velez@cdfa.ca.gov

The backup contact person is: Emily Nietrzeba, DVM, MPH Equine Veterinarian Department of Food and Agriculture Animal Health & Food Safety Services Animal Health Branch 1220 N Street, Sacramento, CA 95814 Telephone: (916) 508-3302 E-mail: <u>emily.nietrzeba@cdfa.ca.gov</u>

## DEPARTMENT OF FOOD AND AGRICULTURE PROPOSED REGULATIONS

Text proposed to be added is displayed in underline type. Text proposed to be deleted is displayed in strikethrough type.

#### TITLE 3. FOOD AND AGRICULTURE DIVISION 2. ANIMAL INDUSTRY CHAPTER 6. DRUGGING OF HORSES

Amend section 1280.2. of Chapter 6, Division 2, of Title 3 of the California Code of Regulations, to read as follows:

Section 1280.2. Fees.

Beginning January 1, 2020 2022, the applicable fee is \$814.00 per horse entered per event, except where a horse is entered in simultaneous multiple events held as single performances, the total applicable fee per horse shall be \$814.00. Note: Authority cited: Sections 407, 24012 and 24013, Food and Agricultural Code. Reference: Sections 24012, Food and Agricultural Code.

# DEPARTMENT OF FOOD AND AGRICULTURE PROPOSED REGULATIONS

TITLE 3. FOOD AND AGRICULTURE DIVISION 2. ANIMAL INDUSTRY CHAPTER 6. DRUGGING OF HORSES

# **INITIAL STATEMENT OF REASONS**

# SUBJECT MATTER OF PROPOSED REGULATION

Equine Medication Monitoring Program - Fees

# SECTION AFFECTED

Section 1280.2

# PROBLEM STATEMENT

The Equine Medication Monitoring Program (EMMP) is entirely industry funded and staff predict a deficit of its funding source by the end of the 2020-2021 fiscal year. Authorized by Food and Agricultural Code section 24013.5, the EMMP Advisory Committee at its September 15, 2020<sup>1</sup> meeting voted to increase EMMP testing fees to maintain current program operation and to stabilize the program's reserve account.

## **PURPOSE**

This proposal amends section 1280.2 to increase the applicable fees from \$8.00 to \$14.00 for each horse entered in public events, competitions, and sales. As amended, this section also specifies the effective date of the fee increase to begin January 1, 2022.

## **BENEFITS OF THIS REGULATORY ACTION**

The California equine industry produces goods and services valued at approximately \$8.3 billion and includes approximately 500,000 horses. California horses are mostly used for recreation, the largest sector of the horse industry having nearly 40% of the horse population; sporting which consists of competitions, shows, and racing; and those used for therapeutic purposes. This proposal benefits the equine industry by promoting the safety of the horse and rider in competition and horses at public sales by preventing any potential misuse of drugs or medications that could fraudulently mask a disease,

condition, or injury of the horse which could place the rider and/or the horse in jeopardy. This proposal is necessary to increase fees to ensure continuity of program services which serve to ensure the Department of Food and Agriculture fulfills its mandate of the protection of both the horse and rider in public horse shows and sales in accordance with Food and Agricultural Code sections 24005, 24006, 24007, 24008, 24009, 24010, 24011, 24012, 24013, and 24015.

California is the only state with a state-based industry-funded horse drug testing program that targets sample collections from horses entered in public equine events. The California equine industry sponsored legislation in 1971 to prevent misuse of drugs and medications in horses, ponies, mules and donkeys in public shows, competitions and sales. The intent of the EMMP is to ensure the integrity of public horse shows, competitions and sales through the control of performance and disposition-enhancing drugs, and to allow limited therapeutic use of drugs at an equine event. The EMMP monitors equines in public shows, competitions, and sales though random collection of blood or urine for chemical analysis. The California Equine Medication Rule prohibits use of certain drugs or drug combinations yet accommodates specific legitimate therapeutic use of medications within specified parameters.

On average, California hosts approximately 1,200 registered equine events annually, ranging from small backyard schooling shows to internationally recognized endurance events, as well as other types of competition and public horse sales, totaling approximately 100,000 horses competing per year. Less than 25 percent of California's 1,200 events are registered with the national governing body, the United States Equestrian Federation (USEF), which enforces drugs and medication rules for nationally sanctioned events. Thus, most of the shows in the State are regulated by the Department's EMMP to ensure compliance with drugs and medication rules.

The EMMP is entirely industry funded. Event managers collect applicable fees from persons entering horses in shows and competitions or consigned to public sales. The event manager remits the fees to the Department of Food and Agriculture (Department), and they are deposited into the Department of Food and Agricultural Fund. The drugtesting fees are exclusive of any other fees charged by the industry for the administration and management of equine events, such as entry fees, stall fees, grounds fees, and training fees.

Event managers, in addition to collecting and remitting fees as discussed above, are required to register (advise and record) the event with the EMMP at least 60 days in advance of the scheduled event. Event managers failing to comply with EMMP regulations are subject to suspension from hosting or managing an event for a period of

days for each violation. An event manager who violates a suspension by hosting or managing an event during the suspension period is subject to civil penalties for each violation.

As registered equine events approach, EMMP field personnel receive assignments to randomly select equines competing in or consigned to a registered event for sample collection. Any equine on an event premises is subject to random selection for sampling and testing, however at public shows and competitions, selection often focuses on animals that have placed in a class. EMMP field personnel are trained to collect urine samples, however when a California-licensed veterinarian is assigned to work with EMMP field staff, selected equines are subject to collection of a blood sample.

EMMP personnel seal collected samples and submit the samples for chemical analysis to the Kenneth L. Maddy Equine Analytical Chemistry Laboratory. When the chemical analysis of a blood or urine specimen is positive for detection of a drug or medicine, an EMMP investigation begins. The owner/exhibitor/trainer or consignor of the equine with a sample found positive on chemical analysis will receive an initial EMMP investigatory letter requesting submission, within a designated timeframe, of relevant evidence or information about the detected substance. The EMMP considers submitted information in determining if a violation occurred. If it is determined that a violation of the rule has occurred, a notice of violation will be issued in addition to a notification of their right to appeal. The assessment of the penalty/fine considers the type of drug detected and the background information provided in the investigation.

The program regularly employs one full-time Veterinarian Specialist (\$8192.00 - \$10215.00/month; 50% of salary from the EMMP, 50% from the AHB), one full-time Research Scientist I (\$6050.00 - \$7519.00 /month; 50% of salary from the EMMP, 50% from the AHB), one full-time Agriculture Program Supervisor (\$5,508-\$6,836/month), one full-time Management Services Technician (\$3,186-\$3,992/month), and 12 Agricultural Technicians (\$14.53-\$17.34/hour), with up to 14 needed each year during the high volume season. The frequency of equine events varies throughout the year, with a higher number scheduled in the warmer, drier months, and usually on weekends.

The EMMP has an advisory committee of members representing a broad range of equine disciplines regulated by the EMMP. Each California equine industry organization can nominate one representative and one alternate to the advisory committee. The advisory committee is responsible for addressing industry-related concerns about the EMMP and holds a minimum of one public meeting each year to review staffing and resources, and discuss various issues relating to the equine industry.

At the September 15, 2020 EMMP Advisory Committee meeting<sup>1</sup>, committee members reviewed the six-year revenue and expenditures for EMMP. The revenue for the 2019-2020 fiscal year (FY) was significantly impacted due to events canceled because of COVID-19. Expenditures were also high this year, though slightly reduced as the Animal Health Branch paid for 100% of both the Veterinarian Specialist and Research Scientist I salary for the 2019-2020 FY. EMMP has been running in deficit spending for the past five years. As of July 1, 2015, the program's financial reserve balance was at \$1,823,730 and as of June 30, 2020, the balance was at \$10,201. The projection for the 2020-2021 FY was that EMMP would still be at a financial loss which would put the program into a negative reserve balance status. In addition, the committee also discussed that laboratory testing fees would likely increase in 2022.

The committee agreed that an increase in revenue is needed in order for the program to continue. The committee discussed increasing the testing fees from \$10 to \$12, \$14 or \$15. Decision factors included industry impacts, the size of the deficit and the program's needs, and the time it takes for regulations to be effective.

# SPECIFIC PURPOSE AND RATIONALE FOR EACH SECTION, PER GOVERNMENT CODE 11346.2(b)(1):

# Section 1280.2. Testing Fees.

**Section 1280.2** will be amended to increase the applicable fee charged per horse entered per event from \$8.00 to \$14.00; where a horse is entered in simultaneous multiple events held as single performances, the total applicable fee per horse shall \$14.00

Based upon the recommendation of the EMMP Advisory Committee, in order to maintain current program operations, but equally important to stabilize the program reserve account, the Department is proposing a \$6.00 increase to testing fees as stated in section 1280.2 of Chapter 6, Division 2 of Title 3, of the California Code of Regulations.

The EMMP receives no revenue from the General Fund and must rely almost entirely on the drug-testing fee for funding. The EMMP budget provides annual funding for the program, but it is crucial that the program maintains a satisfactory reserve account to sustain the program should an unexpected event take place that would prohibit horse shows on a large scale such as an emergency disease outbreak, natural disaster, or other catastrophic occurrences. For example, most recently the equine industry faced major challenges during the year 2020 due to the impact of COVID-19. In 2020 1,075 equine events were registered and only 520 held with a cancellation rate of 51%. This resulted in a significant decrease in program revenue. Additionally, the potential for litigation and

legal costs exists and is a major consideration that prompts the retention of an adequate program reserve. The proposed \$6.00 increase in the drug-testing fee is imperative to maintain and administer the continuity of service provided by the EMMP to the equine industry.

The event testing fee was previously increased in 2020, with an increase to \$8 from \$5. At the time, Program staff did anticipate another fee increase in 2021 upon the approval of the EMMP Advisory Committee, to raise the program's reserve account to an acceptable level. In addition to stabilizing the program reserve, the cost of inflation was considered as there is a 3.17% projected inflation rate from 2020 to 2022.

# TECHNICAL, THEORETICAL, AND EMPIRICAL STUDY, REPORT, OR SIMILAR DOCUMENT

- 1. Minutes from the September 15, 2020 Equine Medication Monitoring Program Advisory Committee Meeting
- 2. United States Equestrian Federation, 2020 USEF Guidelines & Rules for Drugs and Medications.
  - https://www.usef.org/forms-pubs/2Zp2C\_YKs4s/drugs-medications-guidelines
- 3. Equine Medication Monitoring Program, Drugs and Medication Guidelines
- 4. Brochure dated January 2021, Equine Medication Monitoring Program, Information for Exhibitors and Consignors
- 5. Newsletter dated January 2021, Equine Medication Monitoring Program, Event Manager Newsletter

# SPECIFIC TECHNOLOGIES OR EQUIPMENT

This regulation does not mandate the use of specific technologies or equipment.

# ECONOMIC IMPACT ASSESSMENT/ANALYSIS

The Department of Food and Agriculture (Department) has made an initial determination that the proposed regulatory action will have no significant statewide adverse economic impact directly affecting businesses, including the ability of California businesses to compete with businesses in other states by making it more costly to produce goods or services, and that it will not create or eliminate jobs or occupations. The proposal does not affect the creation of new businesses or the elimination of existing businesses within the State of California and does not affect the expansion of businesses currently doing business within the State of California. This proposal does not impact multiple industries. This proposal is necessary to increase fees to ensure continuity of program services which serve to ensure the Department fulfills its mandate of the protection of both the horse and rider in public horse shows and sales in accordance with Food and Agricultural Code sections 24005, 24006, 24007, 24008, 24009, 24010, 24011, 24012, 24013, and 24015.

# **Business Impact**

The Department of Food and Agriculture (Department) has determined that this regulatory proposal will not have any impact on the creation of jobs or businesses or the elimination of jobs or existing businesses or the expansion of businesses in California.

The Department has made an initial determination that the proposed regulatory action will not have any significant, statewide adverse economic impact directly affecting California businesses including the ability of California businesses to compete with businesses in other states.

The Department has made an initial determination that this regulatory proposal will impact the equine industry in California; will impact persons required to register with the Department for any public horse event and sales held in California, and affect persons choosing to participate in public horse events and sales in accordance with Food and Agricultural Code section 24001, 24012, and 24015. The Department's proposal affects small businesses.

This proposal affects individuals and businesses choosing to participate in equine events and public sales throughout California.

## Persons/Businesses affected by this proposal:

- California's equine industry The California horse industry is valued at approximately 8.3 billion dollars with approximately 500,000 horses in California. California horses are mostly used for recreation, the largest sector of the horse industry having nearly 40% of the horse population; sporting which consists of competitions, shows, and racing; and those used for therapeutic purposes.
- Persons required to register equine events California hosts approximately 1,200 registered equine events annually, ranging from small backyard schooling (practice) shows to internationally recognized endurance events, as well as other types of competition and public horse sales. This proposal will impact persons required to register with the Department any public horse event and sales held in

California in accordance with Food and Agricultural Code sections 24001, 24012, and 24015.

Persons choosing to participate in equine events - This proposed regulation increases drug testing fees collected by event managers of equine events and public horse sales from persons entering horses in their events. The event manager remits these fees to the Department and they are deposited into the Department of Food and Agricultural Fund. The fees are exclusive of any other fees charged by the industry for the administration and management of equine events. Equine events registered with the Department represent approximately 100,000 horse entries into competitions annually. The Department is proposing a fee increase from \$8 to \$14. This proposal will impact persons choosing to participate in public horse shows and sales in accordance with Food and Agricultural Code sections 24001, 24012, and 24015.

# Anticipated compliance requirements for persons or businesses as a result of this proposal:

There are no new reporting requirements as a result of this proposal. This proposal increases drug testing fees collected from persons choosing to participate in in equine events and competitions, and equine sales held in California. Current testing fees are \$8 per horse at events; this proposal increases those fees collected to \$14. Existing regulations require the use of various application, registration and reporting forms for participants and hosts of public equine events and sales in the State.

# Benefits of the regulation to the health and welfare of California residents, worker safety, and the State's environment:

The Department is not aware of any specific benefits this proposal will have on the health of California residents, worker safety, or the State's environment.

The Department believes this proposal benefits the welfare of California residents by protecting the economic health of the affected equine industry. This regulatory proposal increases testing fees collected and remitted by event managers for horses entered at public shows and sales. The Department believes these changes are necessary to adjust the program's funding source to maintain current program operations and to stabilize the program's reserve account.

The above determinations are based on the fact that the proposed regulations serve to ensure the Department fulfills its mandate of the protection of both the horse and rider in public horse shows and sales in accordance with Food and Agricultural Code sections 24005, 24006, 24007, 24008, 24009, 24010, 24011, 24012, 24013, and 24015.

# Economic Impact Assessment Conclusion

The Department has made an initial determination that the proposed regulatory action will have no significant statewide adverse economic impact directly affecting businesses, including the ability of California businesses to compete with businesses in other states by making it more costly to produce goods or services, and that it will not create or eliminate jobs or occupations. The proposal does not affect the creation of new businesses or the elimination of existing businesses within the State of California and does not affect the expansion of businesses currently doing business within the State of California. This proposal does not impact multiple industries. This proposal is necessary to increase fees to secure continuity of program services which serve to ensure the Department fulfills its mandate of the protection of both the horse and rider in public horse shows and sales in accordance with Food and Agricultural Code sections 24005, 24006, 24007, 24008, 24009, 24010, 24011, 24012, 24013, and 24015.

# REASONABLE ALTERNATIVES THE DEPARTMENT HAS IDENTIFIED THAT WOULD LESSEN ANY ADVERSE IMPACT ON SMALL BUSINESSES

The Department of Food and Agriculture has not identified any reasonable alternatives to the proposed action and no adverse impacts to small businesses are expected as a result of this proposed action. This proposal is necessary to increase fees to ensure continuity of program services which serve to ensure the Department fulfills its mandate of the protection of both the horse and rider in public horse shows and sales in accordance with Food and Agricultural Code sections 24005, 24006, 24007, 24008, 24009, 24010, 24011, 24012, 24013, and 24015.

# FACTS, EVIDENCE, DOCUMENTS, TESTIMONY, OR OTHER EVIDENCE OF NO SIGNIFICANT ADVERSE IMPACT ON BUSINESS

Based upon the reasons stated in the economic impact assessment/analysis, the Department has initially determined that these proposed changes to the regulations would not have a significant adverse economic impact to business.

# CONSIDERATION OF REASONABLE ALTERNATIVES

The alternatives available to the Department of Food and Agriculture (Department) were to seek a fee increase measurably less than the proposed \$6.00 or decrease the fee.

- The existing fees specified in section 1280.2 at \$8.00, or any amount measurably less than the proposed \$14.00 will not fund the operation of services provided by the Equine Medication Monitoring Program (EMMP) with an adequate program reserve beyond the Fiscal year 2021-2022.
- The \$6.00 fee increase will ensure the continuity of program service until 2024 with an anticipated additional fee increase the same year.
- The \$6.00 fee increase is necessary to maintain and/or retain the current level of professional staffing that is necessary to administer the EMMP. Professional staffing is essential to ensure comprehensive drug testing and monitoring services that are state-of-the-art.

## For example:

A Veterinarian Specialist must have obtained a Doctor of Veterinary Medicine degree, as well as having passed the California State Board of Examinations required for licensure. In addition to specific equine related skills associated with EMMP, they must plan, organize, and coordinate activities in animal health and emergency management. They must be able to perform tests and collect samples from all livestock, interpret laboratory test results, and review completed enforcement cases for appropriate action.

A *Research Scientist* must possess specific equine related skills associated with the EMMP. They must be able to plan, organize, and carry out equine research studies of limited scientific scope and complexity, serve as a team member on veterinary and livestock health projects and investigations, and act as a technical scientific consultant on more complex issues related to the EMMP.

An Agriculture Program Supervisor and Management Services Technician must possess specific equine related knowledge associated with the EMMP. They must be able to perform a variety of tasks related to agricultural program administration which may include agriculture-related scientific, field, and/or organizational work.

An *Agricultural Technician* must possess specific equine related skills associated with the EMMP. They must be able to conduct themselves in a professional manner at highly prestigious events, communicate well with the public, be competent at working safely with and among horses, and be able to effectively and efficiently collect, process, and arrange for transport of the collected specimens for laboratory analysis.

No reasonable alternative which was considered or that has otherwise been identified and brought to the attention of the Department would either be more effective in carrying out the purpose for which the action is proposed or would be as effective and less burdensome to affected private persons than the proposed action, or would be more cost effective to affected private persons and equally effective in implementing the statutory policy or other provision of law. This proposal is necessary to increase fees to ensure continuity of program services which serve to ensure the Department fulfills its mandate of the protection of both the horse and rider in public horse shows and sales in accordance with Food and Agricultural Code sections 24005, 24006, 24007, 24008, 24009, 24010, 24011, 24012, 24013, and 24015.

# DUPLICATION OR CONFLICTS WITH FEDERAL REGULATIONS

This proposal does not duplicate or conflict with federal regulations because there are no federal regulations governing public equine events or sales. The Department of Food and Agriculture is the sole State authority over specified public equine events and sales pursuant to Chapter 8 (commencing with section 24000) of Division 11 of the Food and Agricultural Code.

#### Equine Medication Monitoring Program (EMMP) Advisory Committee September 15, 2020 Meeting Minutes

#### Item No.

# (1) Call to Order

a. The meeting was called to order on Tuesday, September 15, 2020 at 10:04am by Chairperson Sandy Arledge.

# (2) Roll Call

# Present:

Ms. Sandy Arledge, Chair, California Farm Bureau Federation Ms. Jody Cutler, American Driving Society

Dr. Marta Grandstedt, California Veterinary Medical Association

Ms. Cathy Hanson, Pacific Coast Quarter Horse Association

Ms. Nancy Harvey, Arabian Horse Association

Dr. Jeanette Mero, American Endurance Ride Conference

Ms. Kalia Mitchell, California Fairs and Expositions

Ms. Christine Oswald, Pacific Coast Cutting Horse Association

- Dr. Russell Peterson, American Association of Equine Practitioners
- Mr. William Pettis, American Morgan Horse Association

Dr. Chris Smith, Pacific Coast Horse Show Association

Ms. Rae Stambuk, California Reining Horse Association

Dr. Mike Tomlinson, U.S. Equestrian Federation

Dr. Stephen Schumacher, U.S. Equestrian Federation (non-voting member)

## Absent:

Mr. Robert Gage, California State Horsemen's Association

Ms. Jo Ann Jackson, California Draft Horse & Mule Association

Dr. Michele LaMantia, Pinto Horse Association of America, Inc.

Ms. Mari Naten, California Dressage Society

Ms. Sarah Rajoy, California Professional Horsemen's Association

## **CDFA Present:**

Dr. Kent Fowler, Chief, Animal Health Branch

Dr. Emily Nietrzeba, Staff Veterinarian, Equine Programs

Ms. Katie Hatch, Research Scientist, Equine Programs

Mr. Lee Harrison, Agricultural Program Supervisor, EMMP

Ms. Nancy Ragen, Management Services Technician, EMMP

Ms. Linda Fong, Staff Services Manager, Animal Health Branch

Ms. Kimberly McCarthy, Staff Services Manager, Animal Health and Food Safety Services Division

#### Others in Attendance:

Dr. Heather Knych, Professor, UC Davis California Animal Health and Food Safety Laboratory

#### (3) Review of Minutes

Minutes of the February 19, 2020 meeting were reviewed.

**MOTION #1**: Dr. Mike Tomlinson motioned to approve the minutes and Ms. Christine Oswald seconded the motion. Motion was unanimously approved.

#### (4) Research Update

Dr. Heather Knych, Professor at the UC Davis K.L. Maddy Equine Analytical Chemistry Laboratory, presented an update on EMMP funded research studies. Dr. Knych discussed the bisphosphonate research project, which will be studying Osphos. The labeled indication for Osphos is to treat navicular but there are lots of extra label uses for it as well. The study includes sample collections for drug concentration analysis, transcriptomics (gene biomarkers) and protein biomarkers. This is a joint project with multiple groups, including the American Association of Equine Practitioners (AAEP), the Racing Medication and Testing Consortium (RMTC) and the Grayson-Jockey Club Foundation. The administration portion of the study is due to begin in October 2020.

Dr. Knych also provided an overview of the Cannabidiol (CBD) project. Not many scientific studies have been performed yet on the effects of CBD due to the extensive approval process for studies. However, some claimed anecdotal effects are analgesia, anti-inflammatory, treatment for anxiety and depression, alleviating side effects of chemotherapy, use as a neuroprotectant, anti-tumor treatment and diabetes prevention. Dr. Knych's study showed the drug concentration in blood increased with the dose given and that it was hard to detect the CBD at 72 hours post-administration, though it could be found in some horses in the study. The maximum concentration was approximately 3 hours post-administration for the parent drug CBD. The two primary metabolites for CBD are 7-OH CBD and 7-COOH CBD. 7-COOH CBD is the primary metabolite of CBD and is still well above the limit of quantitation at 72 hours postadministration. 7-OH CBD was only detectable for approximately 30 hours postadministration. It does not appear that CBD has an effect on the arachidonic acid inflammatory mediators at the doses studied. There are many different avenues forward with this research as so little has been studied so far on the effects of CBD, especially in equines.

#### (5) United States Equestrian Federation (USEF) Update

Dr. Stephen Schumacher gave an update on the United States Equestrian Federation (USEF). Dr. Schumacher discussed the effect that the COVID-19 pandemic had on equine events. Events were not being held from mid-March through mid-May and there were only approximately 50-60% of the usual number of horses being competed for the year due to the shutdown. All competitors and drug testers have been required to wear masks at events.

USEF recently voted to make all bisphosphonates prohibited substances except for tildronate (Tildren) and clodronate (Osphos). These bisphosphonates are not allowed to be used in horses under four years of age (according to FDA label). The original USEF rule stated that these medications could not be used off-label. However, since they are currently labeled for only navicular disease, USEF is allowing Tildren and Osphos to be used for other treatments. This rule goes into effect December 1, 2020.

Another recent rule change for USEF is that competition managers must notify USEF if they have an infectious disease case at their event, even if it is a suspect case. USEF will then determine if they should notify the Equine Disease Communication Center (EDCC) to distribute information to the public. USEF sends out a packet of information to the veterinarians who work their events with information on biosecurity and the Drug and Medications Rules so they know to report infectious disease suspects or cases to USEF.

Dr. Schumacher also discussed ciclesonide which is a newly approved corticosteroid medication, for use in horses with lower airway issues. As it is a new medication, it is unknown what the regulatory concerns are, so USEF will be reviewing the medication to see if it will be a prohibited substance or whether it will be permissible for horses with a therapeutic use exemption.

USEF is also in the midst of developing an electronic data capture format for testing, similar to the EMMP application developed. They are hoping it will be developed and implemented within the next year or so.

# (6) Animal Health Updates

#### **Equine Diseases**

Dr. Emily Nietrzeba presented California's animal health updates on the following topics: Equine herpesvirus (EHV), West Nile Virus (WNV), and Vesicular Stomatitis (VS).

Since the last EMMP advisory committee meeting, there were four Equine Herpesvirus Myeloencephalopathy (EHM) incidents. The first was an incident in Alameda county in March 2020 when a 14-year-old Pony mare became neurologic, was sent to an outside veterinary hospital for treatment and confirmed positive for Equine herpesvirus-1 (EHV-1). Forty-four (44) horses on the home premise were quarantined, there were seven (7) additional febrile only cases and the quarantine was released after fifty-seven (57) days. There was a limited supply of disinfectants and personal protective equipment (PPE) due to the COVID-19 pandemic which likely prolonged the incident. The second incident was in Sonoma County in April 2020 when a 10-year-old Warmblood mare displayed neurologic signs, was sent to an outside veterinary hospital for treatment and confirmed positive for EHV-1. The home premise of forty-eight (48) exposed horses were quarantined, there were no additional cases and quarantine was released after fourteen (14) days. The third incident was in Imperial county in August 2020 when a one-year-old Quarter Horse filly was euthanized due to severe neurologic signs and was confirmed positive for Equine herpesvirus-4 (EHV-4). Three (3) horses on the home premise were quarantined and one additional horse became febrile and tested positive for EHV-4. The quarantine was released after twenty-three (23) days. The fourth incident was in El Dorado county in August 2020. A 17-year-old Thoroughbred gelding with fever and neurologic signs was euthanized and confirmed positive for EHV-1. The home premise had ten (10) additional horses put under quarantine and there were no additional cases, so quarantine was released after fourteen (14) days.

Dr. Nietrzeba discussed the 2020 equine WNV cases. So far, there have been a total of eleven (11) cases confirmed in 2020. Seven (7) of the affected horses were not vaccinated against WNV and four (4) had an unknown vaccine history. Three (3) of the WNV positive horses died or were euthanized and the other eight (8) are alive and recovering. The age range of the infected horses was one (1) to twenty (20) years with an average age of 7.6 years. The counties in which the affected horses reside are Amador, Butte, Glenn, Merced, Riverside, San Bernardino, San Joaquin and Stanislaus counties.

Dr. Nietrzeba discussed the recent Vesicular Stomatitis (VS) outbreak in the United States. It started on April 13,2020 in New Mexico and affected eight states (New Mexico, Arizona, Texas, Kansas, Nebraska, Oklahoma, Missouri and Arkansas). There was a mix of strain types during this outbreak, with both the Indiana and New Jersey strains detected. Kansas and Missouri still have premises under quarantine, but the other six states have been released. So far there have been 323 affected premises (202 confirmed and 121 suspect) with 310 being equine only premises, 12 being cattle only premises and one having both cattle and equine on the premises. California has movement restrictions for animals coming from affected states, in which animals had to have a certificate of veterinary inspection written within seven (7) days of entry instead of the usual thirty (30) days.

## (7) Program Updates

## Administrative Updates

Ms. Katie Hatch discussed the current personnel situation for EMMP. EMMP still has twelve testers and six veterinarians. EMMP welcomes Dr. Emily Nietrzeba as the new staff veterinarian for equine programs. Dr. Kent Fowler will be retiring at the end of the 2020 calendar year.

## **Program Data Summary**

Ms. Katie Hatch presented the following program summary data for the 2019-2020 fiscal year:

- A total of 738 events were held (significantly less than previous years due to COVID-19).
- 200 events were tested by EMMP.
- The highest number of events by event type were hunter/jumper events then dressage and open (multi-breed/multi-discipline) events. Note, these numbers are based on event type listed by the event manager at the time of event registration.
- A total of 271 urine samples and 527 blood samples were collected from selected horses at EMMP registered events.

## Legal Update

Dr. Emily Nietrzeba discussed the regulation packet that is currently in the process of approval for EMMP. It is revising the regulations so that way if the program's forms have minor revisions, they can be changed without having to go through a regulation change each time. However, if there are substantial changes to the form, it will still have to go through a regulation change.

#### **Financial Update**

Dr. Kent Fowler reviewed the six-year revenue and expenditures for EMMP. The revenue for the 2019-2020 fiscal year (FY) was significantly impacted due to events canceled because of COVID-19. Expenditures were also high this year, though slightly reduced as the Animal Health Branch paid for 100% of Dr. Katie Flynn's and Katie Hatch's salary for the 2019-2020 FY. EMMP has been running in deficit spending for the past five years. As of July 1, 2015, the program's financial reserve balance was at \$1,823,730 and as of June 30, 2020, the balance was at \$10,201. The projection for the 2020-2021 FY was that EMMP would still be at a financial loss which would put the program into a negative reserve balance status. Dr. Fowler also discussed that the laboratory testing fees are likely to increase in 2022 as well.

Possible ideas to reduce expenditures included only collecting and testing urine samples for the 2020-2021 FY, reducing travel distance for testers to events, prioritizing larger shows, limiting the number of hours testers spend at events, testing 25% of shows instead of the previous 40% goal, and holding off on CAHFS performing any more research for the 2020-2021 FY.

The committee also agreed that an increase in revenue is needed in order for the program to continue. The committee discussed increasing the testing fees from \$8 to \$10, \$12, \$14 or \$15. Decision factors included industry impacts, desire to not have to do another increase in the near future, the time it takes for regulations to go through, and that the committee would like to see EMMP continue.

**MOTION #2**: Dr. Mike Tomlinson motioned to increase the testing fee from \$8 to \$14 to be effective January 1, 2022. Dr. Chris Smith seconded the motion.

Yes: Ms. Sandy Arledge, Dr. Marta Grandstedt, Ms. Nancy Harvey, Dr. Jeanette Mero, Ms. Kalia Mitchell, Dr. Russell Peterson, Mr. William Pettis, Dr. Chris Smith, Ms. Rae Stambuk, Dr. Mike Tomlinson No: None Abstain: Ms. Christine Oswald

The committee would like to postpone decisions on reducing expenditures until there is more data analysis done on the cost of urine vs. blood sampling.

#### (8) Committee New Business Discussion

No new items were discussed. The next meeting is planned for Tuesday, October 6, 2020 from 9-10am to be held via Zoom.

## (9) Closing Comments

Chairperson Ms. Sandy Arledge adjourned the meeting at 12:36pm.

# usef guidelines & rules for **DRUGS AND** MEDICATIONS

800.633.2472





Online USEF Medication Report Form

https://competitions.usef.org/drugs-andmeds/medication-report-form/usef

#### Please direct all inquires to:

United States Equestrian Federation® Equine Drugs and Medications Program 956 King Avenue, Columbus, Ohio 43212 Phone 800.633.2472 Fax 614.299.7706 Email: medequestrian@aol.com A commitment to the health, welfare and safety of the equine athlete is the common thread that binds all equestrian sport. *The USEF Equine Drugs and Medication Program is driven by this commitment.* 

The USEF maintains a Prohibited Substance List; however, the USEF recognizes that horses under its jurisdictions might require legitimate, therapeutic treatment near the time of competition. The Equine Drugs and Medications Rules addresses these circumstances.

The information in this booklet is current at the time of printing, but is subject to change at any time. Please regularly check the Drugs and Medication web page for information and updates.

# THE USE OF MEDROXYPROGESTERONE ACETATE IS NOW PROHIBITED

#### EFFECTIVE 12/1/19

The United States Equestrian Federation (USEF) Board of Directors has voted to prohibit the use of Medroxyprogesterone acetate (MPA) in horses competing in USEF-licensed competitions effective December 1, 2019.

In early 2017, USEF convened a panel of industry experts to review MPA and its use in horses competing at USEF-licensed competitions. The MPA Panel (Panel) held a workshop and a town hall meeting to gather feedback from members and veterinarians and subsequently met to review research and drug studies. The result of data analysis led to the Panel's recommendation to require disclosure of MPA administration in competition horses. The USEF Board of Directors voted to approve the Panel's recommendation, and the requirement to submit an MPA Disclosure Form for any horse receiving administration of MPA while competing at a USEF-licensed competition became effective September 1, 2017. Since that date, pharmacokinetic data related to MPA administration has been collected and analyzed.

On October 22, 2019, following reports of equine fatalities and anaphylaxis related to the use of MPA, USEF's MPA Panel met to further analyze the use of MPA in horses competing at USEF-licensed competitions. The Panel reviewed a recent petition by numerous veterinarians requesting that USEF ban the use of MPA which was supported by documentation citing 23 fatalities associated with MPA use over the last three years, research on the efficacy of the substance, and the results from the collection of MPA medication reports.

The Panel determined MPA has no therapeutic use in competition horses, as it does not interrupt estrus in mares, which predicated its original use. Additionally, MPA is not approved by the United States Food and Drug Administration (FDA) for use in equines and its use has been reported and documented to be associated with several cases of anaphylaxis and fatality. As a result of this analysis, the Panel voted unanimously to recommend MPA is added to the list of USEF prohibited substances.

"In 2017, we debated the use of this substance and its efficacy, but now, with numerous fatalities associated with the use of MPA, this decision became clear: MPA must be banned," said USEF President Murray Kessler. "I commend the Panel for confronting a difficult task that involved very strong opinions on both sides of the issue from our membership. The information clearly supports the prohibition of this substance and I am proud of the decision of the Board of Directors. USEF has a responsibility to ensure the welfare of our horses, and the loss of one horse resulting from the use of a non-therapeutic substance such as MPA is one too many."

The Panel stressed that in addition to providing the reasons supporting their recommendation, the prohibition of the use of MPA must be enacted as quickly as possible. Starting December 1, 2019, MPA in horses competing at USEF-licensed competitions will be prohibited. However, due to the length of time involved for MPA to clear a horse's system, sanctions for a positive test result will begin on June 1, 2020. The USEF has classified MPA as a Category III substance which has a penalty range starting at a 3-6 month suspension and a fine of \$3,000-\$6,000 for a first offense.

# CAUTION AGAINST THE USE OF HERBAL/ NATURAL PRODUCTS

TRAINERS, OWNERS, EXHIBITORS, AND THEIR VETERINARIANS ARE CAUTIONED AGAINST THE USE OF MEDICINAL PREPARATIONS, TONICS, PASTES, POWDERS AND PRODUCTS OF ANY KIND, INCLUDING THOSE USED TOPICALLY.

Persons administering an herbal or natural product to a horse or pony to affect its performance, having been comforted by claims that the plant origin of its ingredients cause it to be permitted by the rules as well as undetectable by drug tests, might have been misled.

The use of herbal and natural products in a horse or pony might result in a positive drug test, i.e., a finding of a *prohibited* substance, contrary to claims by those who manufacture and/or market such products for profit. The plant origin of any ingredient does not preclude its containing a pharmacologically potent and readily detectable *prohibited* substance, e. g., cocaine, heroin and marijuana all come from plants.

Although the use of some of these products may not have resulted in positive drug tests in the past, this may change as the USEF Equine Drug Testing and Research Laboratory incorporates new methods into its battery of screening tests, a deliberate and ongoing process.

For the above reasons, the Federation cautions against the use of herbal and natural products. The ingredients and properties of products to be classified as prohibited are valerian, kava kava, passionflower, skullcap, chamomile, vervain, leopard's bane, night shade, capsaicin, comfrey, devil's claw, hops, laurel, lavender, red poppy and rawuolfia.

#### "APPROVED" OR "ENDORSED" PRODUCTS

USEF does not approve, endorse, or sanction herbal, natural or medicinal products of any kind. Trainers, owners and exhibitors are advised to disregard any such representations, statements or testimonials made by the manufacturer. Any individual who becomes aware of a product, the label of which contains a statement that it is "USEF Approved" or "USEF Endorsed," etc., should forward a copy of the label to the office of the Equine Drugs and Medications Program.

#### PROHIBITED PRACTICES

The identification of PROHIBITED PRACTICES has been a focus of the Federation over the last several years. Please see GR414 (p.35 of these Guidelines) for explanations regarding restrictions on:

- 12 HOUR RULE regarding injections
- Restrictions on Intra-articular injections
- Shockwave Therapy

# COMMON PROHIBITED SUBSTANCES UNDER USEF EQUINE DRUGS AND MEDICATIONS RULES



#### Permitted with Medication Report Form (MRF) according to GR411

epinephrine

etamiphylline

(adrenaline)

etidocaine

acepromazine acetophenazine acetylpromazine albuterol (Salbutamol)

aminophylline

antihistamines (class of drugs)

apomorphine

atropine

benzocaine (Anbesol, Capacol)

benzodiazepines\* (class of drugs)

beta blockers \* (class of drugs) betamethasone

(Celestone) bethanechol chloride

bupivacaine (Marcaine)

buprenorphine (Bruprenex)

butorphanol (Torbugesic)

camphor

cetirizine (Zyrtec)

chlorothiazide

chlorpheniramine

clenbuterol (Ventipulmin)

codeine

corticosteroids\*

(class of drugs)

cyproheptadine

dantrolene (Dantrium)

desmethylpyrilamine

detomidine (Dormosedan)

dextromethorphan

dextromoramide

diazepam (Vallum)

diphenhydramine

dipyrone (Zimeta)

doxapram

dyphylline

fentanyl furosemide (Lasix) glycerol guaiacolate glycopyrrolate guaifenesin (Mucinex) hydrochlorothiazide (Naquasone compounded products) hydroxyzine ipratropium (Atrovent) isoflupredone

(Predef 2x) ketamine

lidocaine

lorazepam medetomidine

(Domitor) mepivacaine

(Carbocaine V) methylprednisolone (DepoMedrol) morphine

naloxone

nefopam nitroglycerin opiates\* orphenadrine citrate oxybutynin (Ditropan) oxymetazoline passion flower

pentoxifylline pergolide mesylate phenylephrine

phenytoin piperacetazine pramoxine (Caladryl) prilocaine

procaine penicillin (penicillin G; intramuscular)

promazine

promethazine

pyrilamine (Tri-Hist Granules)

romifidine (Sedivet)

salmeterol

scopolamine

terfenadine tetracaine

theophylline

triamcinolone acetonide (Vetalog)

trichlormethiazide (formerly in Naquasome)

tripelennamine tropicamide

xylazine (Rompun, AnaSed)

xvlocaine

\*some drugs are not acceptable with the MRF

# No Medication Report Form (MRF) Accepted

alfentanil alprazolam amitriptyline (Elavil) amphetamines (class of drugs) apomorphine arsenic azaperone barbiturates (class of drugs) belladonna benperidol boldenone bromperidol bumetanide buspirone caffeine cannabinoids (synthetic & natural) and other cannabimimetics capsaicin carfentanil carisoprodol ("Soma-tabs") carprofen (Rimadyl) chamomile chloral hydrate chloralbutanol chlorpromazine (Thorazine) chlorprothixene clozapine cocaine comfrey cycobenzaprine devil's claw dextromoramide dezocine digoxin dipremorphine doxepin droperidol dyphylline ephedrine epoetin alfa erythropoetin (EPO) ethacrynic acid ethchlorvynol ethyl alcohol etodolac etomidate etorphine

eugenol fenfluramine fenspiride fentiazac fluanisone fluoxetine (Prozac) fluphenazine (Prolixin) GABA gabapentin (Neurontin) guanabenz (Wytensin) haloperidol homotropine hops hydrocodone hydromorphone imipramine kava kava ketorolac laurel lavender leopard's bane levallorphan levorphanol lithium lorazepam (Ativan) LSD mabuterol mazindol meclizine medroxyprogesterone acetate (MPA; Depo-Provera) meloxicam meperidine mepenzolate bromide mephentermine meprylcaine methadone methaqualone methamphetamine methyldopa methylphenidate (Ritalin) metomidate milenperone molindone moperone nalbuphine nalmefene nandrolone nikethamide nitrazepam

night shade oxymetazoline (Afrin) oxymorphone paroxetine pentazocine phencyclidine phenibut phenobarbital phentermine phenylpropanolamin piperacetazine pirenperone prazepam prethcamide procaterol prochlorperazine procyclidine propentofylline propiomazine propionylpromazine propoxyphene propranolol ractopamine (Paylean) rauwolfia red poppy reserpine (Serpasil) risperidone sertraline skullcap sodium cacodylate spiperone sufentanil stanozolol (Winstrol-V) strychnine sumatriptan synephrine terbutaline sulfate testosterone THC theobromine tolmetin tramadol trazodone trifluperidol trihexyphenidyl valerian vervain zilpaterol zolpidem

procaine

# RESTRICTED MEDICATION DOSE AND TIME RECOMMENDATIONS



MEDICATION GENERIC NAME	MEDICATION TRADE NAME	MAX DOSAGE PER POUND OF BODY WEIGHT	LATEST ADMINISTRA- TION HOUR PRIOR TO COMPETITION	ADMINISTRATION METHOD (single dose per 24 hours unless specified otherwise)	CLASS OF DRUG
Dexamethasone	Azium®	1.0 mg/100Lb (10 mg/1000Lb) or	>12 hours	Oral, IV, IM	Corticosteroid
		0.5 mg/100Lb) or (5.0 mg/1000Lb) or	>*6 hours	*IV	
Diclofenac	Surpass®	5 inch ribbon, ½ inch thick, one site	>12 hours	<b>Topical</b> , 2 doses each day 12 hours apart	NSAID
Firocoxib	Equioxx®	0.1 mg/kg (0.0455 mg/Lb) (45.5 mg/1000Lb)	>12 hours	Oral	NSAID
Phenylbutazone ("bute")	Butazolidin®	2.0 mg/Lb (2.0 grams/1000Lb)	>12 hours	Oral, IV	NSAID
		or 1.0 mg/Lb (1.0 grams/1000Lb)	AM & PM feed	Oral, 2 doses each day, 12 hours apart	
Flunixin meglumine	Banamine®	0.5 mg/Lb (500 mg/1000Lb)	>12 hours	Oral, IV	NSAID
Ketoprofen	Ketofen®	1.0 mg/Lb (1.0 gram/1000Lb)	>12 hours	IV	NSAID
Meclofenamic acid	Arquel®	0.5 mg/Lb (500 mg/1000Lb)		Oral, 2 doses each day, 12 hours apart	NSAID
Naproxen	Naprosyn®	4.0 mg/Lb (4.0 grams/1000Lb)	>12 hours	Oral	NSAID
Methocarbamol	Robaxin®	5.0 mg/Lb (5.0 grams/1000Lb)	>12 hours	Oral, IV	Muscle relaxant

\* MUST BE ADMINISTERED BY A VETERINARIAN AND A MEDICATION REPORT FORM FILED.

#### PLEASE NOTE

- DO NOT administer more than one permitted NSAID at a time within the 72 hours prior to the horse entering the competition ring.
- Whenever two NSAIDs are administered, one must be discontinued at least three (3) days prior to competing.
- Whenever any NSAID is administered that does not appear on the permitted list (GR 410.4), it must not have been administered during the seven days prior to competing. Exception: Dipyrone is not considered a second NSAID; GR411 will apply."
- Ex. Meloxicam is not an approved NSAID and must not be administered within the 7 days prior to competing.
- The maximum treatment time for any of the above permitted medica-

tions is five days, with the exceptions of diclofenac and firocoxib. The maximum treatment time for diclofenac is 10 successive days, and the maximum treatment time for firocoxib is 14 successive days.

Caution is urged when using compounded medications with varying administration routes not specified above. ONLY the above administration routes with non-compounded medications have been evaluated for the dose and time recommendations.

# This chart is for quick reference only and should not be used in place of the detailed guidelines on the following pages.

#### HOW LONG DRUGS REMAIN DETECTABLE

#### Anabolic Steroids (GR411 does not apply)

boldenone	82 days
nandrolone	35 days
stanozolol	47 days
testosterone	30 days

#### Long-acting Tranquilizers and Psychotropics

(GR411 does not apply)

long-acting tranquilizers and psychotropics, e.g.,	
fluphenazine and reserpine	_90 days
gabapentin	_14 days

#### **Shorter-acting Tranquilizers and Sedatives**

shorter-acting tranquilizers and sedatives, e.g., acepromazine, detomidine, and xylazine\_\_\_\_\_7 days detomidine (Dormosedan®) \_\_\_\_\_48 hours

The 48 hour detection time is dose dependent, which means administering this drug in excess of a single intravenous dose (20 µg/kg, or 0.9 mg/100lb) can increase the potential for a positive finding. Detomidine is a sedative and the penalties for detections can involve significant fines and suspensions. GR411 does not apply for non-therapeutic uses of this drug, and a medication report form should not be filed if used nontherapeutically more than 48 hours prior to competition. \*Please consult your veterinarian for guidance in following the above dosing recommendation.

Procaine and procaine penicillin	_14 days
local anesthetics other than procaine, e.g., lidocaine and mepivacaine	_7 days
methylprednisolone	_14 days
isoflupredone (intra-articular injection)	_7 days
isoflupredone (sacroilliac injection)	_28 days
corticosteroids other than methylprednisolone and isoflupredone, e.g., triamcinolone and betamethasone	_7 days
nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs, e.g.,	

phenylbutazone and flunixin	_3 days
antihistamines, e.g., cyproheptadine and pyrilamine	_7 days
respiratory drugs, e.g., albuterol	_7 days
isoxsuprine	_21 days

medroxyprogesterone acetate (Depo-Provera®)\_\_\_\_\_90 days

The above information about drug detection serves two main purposes. In the context of competing under the USEF's Prohibited Substance Rule (GR 409) or under FEI Regulations (in the United States) it provides information about how long after the administration of a particular drug it is necessary to refrain from competition in order for the horse to compete in compliance with the rules. In the context of competing under the USEF's Therapeutic Substance Rule (GR 410-412), it provides information about how long after the administration of a prohibited, therapeutic substance it is necessary to file a Medication Report Form in order for the horse to compete in compliance with the rule. In the case of prohibited, non-therapeutic substances, e.g. fluphenazine and reserpine, it provides information about how long after the administration of such a drug substance it is necessary to refrain from competition in order for the drug substance to be no longer detectable in the blood or urine sample of the horse.

The above information is applicable for horses and ponies competing in the United States. It is not applicable to any animal competing outside the United States or under any drug testing program using a laboratory other than the USEF Equine Drug Testing and Research Laboratory.

#### The FEI may publish alternate detection times for some substances which are to be followed when competing under FEI rules. Please review FEI List of Detection Times at: https://inside.fei.org/system/ files/FEI%20Detection%20Times%202018\_0.pdf

The above information is current at the time of this printing. However, the Federation systematically refines existing drug tests to make them more sensitive, and it develops new tests. Improved testing procedures are routinely implemented at any time without prior notice. Therefore, the time guidelines on the following page might become obsolete as new and more sensitive procedures are implemented. Reliance upon the following guidelines will not serve as a defense to a charge of violation of the rule in the event of a positive drug test.

The above information is applicable to most horses and ponies. Nevertheless, reliance upon it does not guarantee compliance with the rules, since the response of individual horses and ponies may vary. Exhibitors, owners, and trainers should consult the drug manufacturer and knowledgeable veterinarians for up-to-date information and more specific advice concerning the therapeutic use of a drug or medication for a particular horse or pony.

The above information is made available with the assumption that any and all drugs and medications are used only for a therapeutic purpose, i.e., the diagnosis and/or treatment of illness or injury, and that any dose administered is a conservative, therapeutic dose, consistent with the manufacturer's recommendations. The following guidelines are not part of the rules.

Depending upon the drug administration scenario, e.g., the formulation of the drug, the dose or doses administered, the frequency of administration, the route or routes of administration, the weight of the horse or pony, the health condition of the animal, etc., it is possible that the following substances and their metabolites (by- products) might remain detectable in the blood or urine sample of the animal for a number of days following the final administration of the substance, as follows:

For guidelines on any other drug or medication, call 800.633.2472

THIS INFORMATION, IF HEEDED, WILL MINIMIZE THE CHANCES OF POSITIVES FOR PROHIBITED SUBSTANCES; HOWEVER, ALL TRAINERS, OWNERS, AND EXHIBITORS ARE CAUTIONED THAT THE FOREGOING ARE ONLY GENERAL GUIDELINES, AND IT IS THE TRAINER'S RESPONSIBILITY TO SEE TO IT THAT CONDITIONS PREVAIL FOR FULL COMPLIANCE WITH ALL USEF RULES.

# GUIDELINES REGARDING THE 2020 USEF EQUINE DRUGS AND MEDICATIONS RULE

#### Introduction

The following guidelines includes advice about understanding the USEF Equine Drugs and Medications Rule and applying it in practical situations. Their purpose is to help accommodate legitimate therapy in compliance with the requirements of the rules. *THESE ARE ONLY GUIDELINES. It is important to consult a licensed veterinarian in determining whether the substance is required for the welfare of the horse or pony and when determining the dosage under the USEF Equine Drugs and Medication Rules.* 

#### **Different Rules for Different Groups**

GR 410-412 applies to most breeds and disciplines that compete under USEF Rules subject to the Therapeutic Substance Provisions.

GR409 has changed to the Prohibited Substances Provisions and applies to all FEI recognized disciplines. The Endurance Discipline is subject to the Prohibited Substance Provisions (GR 409).

FEI recognized events are subject to the FEI Veterinary Regulations and the FEI Equine Anti-Doping and Controlled Medication Regulations. The FEI maintains a Prohibited Substance Rule, which includes reporting requirements for the treatment of illness and injury. See www.fei.org for more information on FEI Equine Anti-Doping and Controlled Medication Rules.

#### Conditions for Therapeutic Administrations of Prohibited Substances

There are certain conditions under which a prohibited substance might be used in compliance with USEF Equine Drugs and Medications Rules for therapeutic reasons. The complete process and conditions are provided on page 30 of these guidelines under GR411.

After a horse or pony has been administered any product containing a prohibited substance, and before the animal is returned to competition, the following requirements must be met:

- The product containing the prohibited substance must be used for a legitimate therapeutic purpose only. The rule includes a provision for the use of a prohibited substance for the diagnosis or treatment of illness or injury only. If a prohibited substance is administered for any other purpose, e.g., clipping, shipping, training, the animal must be kept out of competition until the prohibited substance is no longer detectable in the animal's blood or urine sample. Depending upon the prohibited substance this can be a long time (see HOW LONG DRUGS REMAIN DETECTABLE on page 8).
- 2. After a horse or pony is administered a product containing a prohibited substance for a legitmate therapeutic purpose, the animal must be withdrawn from competition for at least 24 hours. This is a uniform requirement for all therapeutic prohibited substances and there are no exceptions.
- 3. A MRF must be filed documenting the therapeutic use of a prohibited substance. A MRF should be obtained from the steward or technical delegate, filled out completely and turned in to the steward or technical

delegate, or *filed online* (see p.16). All this must be done within one hour after administration OR one hour after the Steward/Technical Delegate or Designated Competition Office Representative returns to duty if administration is at a time other than during competition hours.

(see HOW LONG DRUGS REMAIN DETECTABLE on page 8).

#### Guidelines for the Therapeutic Use of Dexamethasone and Other Corticosteroids

USEF Rules provide for the use of corticosteroids such as dexamethasone in horses only for a therapeutic purpose, i.e., for the treatment of existing inflammatory conditions related to illness or injury. The rules do not permit the use of corticosteroids for a non-therapeutic purpose, i.e., to affect the mood or enhance the performance of the horse.

The rules establish a quantitative restriction for dexamethasone, i.e., a maximum permitted plasma concentration (fluid portion in blood).

In order to help trainers, owners, and their veterinarians achieve compliance with this rule in connection with the therapeutic use of dexamethasone, it should be administered in accordance with the guidelines below. Whenever dexamethasone is administered, the dose should be accurately calculated according to the actual weight of the animal. Due to the adoption of the 12-Hour Rule prohibiting injections from being administered within the 12 hours prior to competing, a new plasma level of 0.5 nanograms per milliliter at the time of competition has been determined when dexamethasone has been given by a licensed veterinarian under the provisions of the 12-Hour Rule.

#### Alternative Number 1

#### Dexamethasone administration IV or IM at 12 or More hours prior to competing

Each 24 hours, not more than 1.0 milligrams of dexamethasone injectable solution per 100 pounds of body weight should be administered intravenously or intramuscularly. For a 1000 pound animal, the maximum daily intravenous or intramuscular dose of dexamethasone injectable solution is 10.0 milligrams, which equals 2.5 milliliters of the injectable solution (4.0 milligrams per milliliter). No part of this dose should be administered during the 12 hours prior to competing. Dexamethasone should not be administered for more than five successive days.

#### Alternative Number 2

#### Dexamethasone administration IV or IM at 6 or More hours prior to competing by a licensed veterinarian for the treatment of hives (urticarial)

IMPORTANT: This alternative dose for dexamethasone can only be administered by a licensed veterinarian for the treatment of hives (urticarial). A Medication Report Form must be filed consistent with GR411. The filing of a Medication Report Form is required to document compliance with the new 12-Hour Rule prohibiting injections in the 12 hour period prior to competing.

Each 24 hours, not more than 0.5 milligrams of dexamethasone injectable solution per 100 pounds of body weight should be administered intravenously, preferably less. For a 1000 pound animal, the maximum daily intravenous dose of dexamethasone injectable solution is 5.0 milligrams, which equals 1.25 milliliters of the injectable solution (4.0 milligrams per milliliter). No part of this dose should be administered during the 6 hours prior to competing. Dexamethasone should not be administered for more than five successive days.

#### Alternative Number 3

# Dexamethasone administration orally at 12 or MORE hours prior to competing

Each 24 hours, not more than 1.0 milligrams of dexamethasone powder per 100 pounds of body weight should be administered orally, preferably less. For a 1000 pound animal, the maximum daily oral dose of dexamethasone powder is 10.0 milligrams, which equals one packet of dexamethasone powder (10.0 milligrams per packet). No part of this dose should be administered during the 12 hours prior to competing. Any medicated feed should be either consumed or removed at least 12 hours prior to competing. Dexamethasone should not be administered for more than five successive days.

Corticosteroids other than dexamethasone, e.g., prednisone, prednisolone, Solu-Delta-Cortef®, triamcinolone acetonide, betamethasone, methylprednisolone (Depo-Medrol®) and others, are classified as *prohibited* substances, and use of these drugs is subject to the requirements of GR411. This means these substances are to be used only for a therapeutic purpose, i.e., for the treatment of existing inflammatory conditions related to illness or injury; they are to be administered at a time not closer than 24 hours prior to competing; and a MRF must be filed under USEF rules in connection with any administration performed by any route during the 7 days prior to competing. When using the corticosteroid methylprednisolone (Depo-Medrol®), the recommendation is to file a Medication Report Form if competing within 14 days of administration.

When using the corticosteroid isoflupredone (Predef2X<sup>®</sup>) in injecting the sacro-iliac (SI) joint, the recommendation is to file a MRF if competing within 28 days of administration.

Trainers, owners, and their veterinarians are cautioned against the use of dexamethasone isonicotinate injectable solution, because administration studies have shown it is not eliminated from the plasma as quickly as dexamethasone injectable solution. Therefore, the use of dexamethasone isonicotinate injectable might result in an inadvertent overage, i.e., a plasma concentration of dexamethasone in excess of the maximum permitted plasma concentration of 0.5 nanograms per milliliter at the time of competition.

Whenever dexamethasone injectable solution or dexamethasone oral powder is administered in a manner that might cause the plasma concentration to exceed the maximum permitted by the rule, the trainer and owner must withdraw the animal from competition for a sufficient amount of time such that the plasma concentration of dexamethasone returns to acceptable limits prior to competition.

Products or preparations that contain dexamethasone or another corticosteroid as an active ingredient (e.g. a Naquasone® bolus contains 5.0 milligrams of dexamethasone), should be used in accordance with the guidelines listed, taking into account the actual weight of the animal. Some products or preparations containing dexamethasone may also contain a diuretic (e.g. hydrochlorothiazide or chlorothiazide) which is considered a prohibited substance and a Medication Report Form must be filed to document compliance with GR411 when using these products.

#### Guidelines for the Therapeutic Use of a Nonsteroidal Anti-Inflammatory Drug (NSAID) and Methocarbamol

Effective December 1, 2011, USEF GR410 restricts the use in horses and ponies of not more than one nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory

drug (NSAID) at a time (of those permitted to be used), imposes quantitative restrictions on those permitted, and forbids the use of any other NSAID. The information in this article will help owners, trainers, and their veterinarians stay in compliance with these rules, as they treat their horses and ponies with NSAIDs.

NSAIDs are to be administered to a horse or pony only for a therapeutic purpose. The following are permitted to be used (these are the generic names, not brand names): diclofenac liposomal cream, firocoxib, phenylbutazone, flunixin meglumine, ketoprofen, meclofenamic acid, and naproxen. When administered, the NSAIDs above should be administered in accordance with the guidelines below, and no other NSAIDs are to be administered.

Brand name examples:

Surpass (diclofenac liposomal) Equioxx (firocoxib) Bute (phenylbutazone) Banamine, Flunazine (flunixin meglumin) Ketofen (ketoprofen) Arquel (meclofenamic acid)

#### Naproxen

- Whenever diclofenac liposomal cream is administered, not more than 73 mg should be administered, to not more than one affected site, each 12 hours (i.e., not more that 146 mg per 24 hour period). This 73 mg dose equals a 5-inch ribbon of cream not greater than ½ inch in width, which should be rubbed thoroughly into the hair over the joint or affected site using gloved hands. Administration of diclofenac cream should be discontinued at least 12 hours prior to competing. Do not apply diclofenac cream in combination with any other topical preparations including DMSO, nitrofurazone, or liniments, and do not use on an open wound. The maximum treatment time for diclofenac cream is 10 successive days.
- 2. Whenever firocoxib is administered, the dose should be accurately calculated according to the actual weight of the animal. Each 24 hours, not more than 0.0455 mg per pound of body weight should be administered. For a 1000 pound animal, the maximum daily dose is 45.5 mg, which equals four markings on the dosing syringe that contains the medication and is supplied by the manufacturer. No part of a dose should be administered during the 12 hours prior to competing. Any medicated feed must be consumed and/or removed at least 12 hours prior to competing. *The maximum treatment time for firocoxib is 14 successive days*.
- 3. Whenever phenylbutazone is administered, the dose should be accurately calculated according to the actual weight of the animal. Each 24 hours, not more than 2.0 milligrams per pound of body weight should be administered, preferably less. For a 1000 pound animal, the maximum daily dose is 2.0 grams, which equals two 1.0 gram tablets, or two 1.0 gram units of paste, or 10.0 cc of the injectable (200 milligrams per milliliter). Neither a total daily dose nor part of an injectable dose should be administered during the 12 hours prior to competing. In the event the phenylbutazone is administered orally, half of the maximum daily dose (1.0 grams

per 1000 lbs.) can be administered each 12 hours during a five day treatment program. *The maximum treatment time for phenylbutazone is five successive days.* 

- 4. Whenever flunixin meglumine is administered, the dose should be accurately calculated according to the actual weight of the animal. Each 24 hours, not more than 0.5 milligrams per pound of body weight should be administered, preferably less. For a 1000 pound animal, the maximum daily dose is 500 milligrams, which equals two 250 milligram packets of granules, or one 500 milligram packet of granules or 500 milligrams of the oral paste (available in 1500 milligram dose syringes), or 10.0 cc of the injectable (50 milligrams per milliliter). No part of a dose should be administered during the 12 hours prior to competing. Any medicated feed must be consumed and/or removed at least 12 hours prior to competing. *The maximum treatment time for flunixin meglumine is five successive days*.
- 5. Whenever ketoprofen is administered, the dose should be accurately calculated according to the actual weight of the animal. Each 24 hours, not more than 1.0 milligrams per pound of body weight should be administered, preferably less. For a 1000 pound animal, the maximum daily dose is 1.0 grams, which equals 10.0 cc of the injectable (100 milligrams per milliliter). No part of a dose should be administered **during the 12 hours prior to competing**. *The maximum treatment time for ketoprofen is five successive days*.
- 6. Whenever meclofenamic acid is administered, the dose should be accurately calculated according to the actual weight of the animal. Each 12 hours, not more than 0.5 milligrams per pound of body weight should be administered, preferably less. For a 1000 pound animal, the maximum 12 hour dose is 0.5 grams, which equals one 500 milligram packet of granules. *The maximum treatment time for meclofenamic acid is five successive days.*
- 7. Whenever naproxen is administered, the dose should be accurately calculated according to the actual weight of the animal. Each 24 hours, not more than 4.0 milligrams per pound of body weight should be administered, preferably less. For a 1000 pound animal, the maximum daily dose is 4.0 grams, which equals eight 500 milligram tablets. No part of a dose should be administered during the 12 hours prior to competing. Any medicated feed should be consumed and/or removed at least 12 hours prior to competing. *The maximum treatment time for naproxen is five successive days.*
- 8. Whenever a permitted NSAID is administered, any additional permitted NSAID must not have been administered during the three (3) days prior to competing.
- 9. Whenever any NSAID is administered that is not permitted to be used, it should not have been administered during the seven days prior to competing.

Whenever any NSAID is administered to a horse or pony in a manner that might cause the plasma concentration to exceed the quantitative restrictions of the rule (in the case of those permitted to be used), or might cause more than one NSAID to be detected in the animal's blood or urine sample, or might cause the NSAID to be detected at any concentration in the animal's blood or urine sample (in the case of those not permitted to be used), the trainer and owner must withdraw the horse or pony from competition, and the animal should be withheld from competition until the plasma concentration of any permitted NSAID returns to acceptable concentrations and/or until any NSAID prohibited at any concentration is no longer present in the animal's blood or urine sample.

#### **Regarding Methocarbamol**

- 1. Whenever methocarbamol is administered, the dose should be accurately calculated according to the actual weight of the horse or pony. Each 24 hours, not more than 5.0 mg per pound of body weight should be administered, preferably less. For a 1000 pound animal, the maximum dose each 24 hours is 5.0 grams, which equals ten 500 milligram tablets or 50 cc of the injectable (100 milligrams per milliliter). No dose should be administered during the 24 hours immediately following the prior dose.
- 2. No part of a dose should be administered during the 12 hours prior to competing. Any medicated feed must be consumed and/ or removed at least 12 hours prior to competing. Methocarbamol should not be administered for more than five successive days.

In any instance methocarbamol has been administered to a horse or pony in a manner that might cause the plasma concentration to exceed the quantitative restriction of the rule, the trainer and owner must withdraw the horse or pony from competition, and the animal should be withheld from competition until the plasma concentration returns to acceptable levels.

#### Additional Restriction for Particular Classes/Divisions Anabolic Steroids

Effective December 1, 2011, anabolic steroids are considered prohibited for all breeds and disciplines competing under USEF Rules. No anabolic steroid is to be administered to a horse or pony in the time before competition such that it, or any metabolite of it, might be present in the animal, or might be detectable in its blood or urine sample at the time of competition. This means that no anabolic steroids can be administered and/or any surgical implants must be removed sufficiently in advance of competing such that these substances are not present in the blood or urine at the time of competition (see HOW LONG DRUGS REMAIN DETECTABLE on p.8)

#### The Requirement to Submit, Observe, Cooperate, and Assist

GR402 requires trainers, owners, and their representatives to submit their horses and ponies to the collection of both blood and urine samples, at the discretion of the testing veterinarian appointed by USEF. The animal is to be left in the charge of the testing personnel until all sample collections are completed, or until, in the exclusive discretion of the testing personnel, the animal is released.

In accordance with GR402, trainers are urged to accompany the testing personnel and the animal during the time that samples are collected, labeled, and sealed, and to serve as witness to these procedures. In the event he or she is unwilling or unable to do so, the trainer is urged to appoint an agent to serve as witness to these procedures. Failure to witness these procedures, and/or failure to

appoint an agent to do so, precludes a trainer from subsequently challenging the identity of the horse or pony from which samples were collected, or the procedures employed in collecting, labeling, or sealing the samples.

GR403 requires trainers, owners, and their agents to cooperate with the testing personnel, to take the horse or pony immediately to the location selected by the testing personnel for sample collections, to present the animal for sample collections, to cooperate in the prompt procurement of samples with no unnecessary delays, and to exhibit polite attitude and actions to the testing personnel at all times.

Failure to comply with all of the requirements of GR402 and 403 is a potentially serious violation of the rules that can result in the issuance of charges of a rule violation by the Federation. Those found to have violated these rules can be subject to suspensions, fines, and the revocation of winnings, at the discretion of the Federation's Hearing Committee.

#### Electronic Filing of Equine Drug and Medications Report Forms

To make compliance with GR411 easier to fulfill, the USEF accepts MRF's submitted electronically. This form can be submitted at any time prior to competition, but is still under the same time requirements as the paper version. The link to the online version is: *competitions.usef.org/medicationreportform/usef* 

#### The Veterinarian's Responsibilities

When dealing with illness or injury in a horse or pony competing at a USEF recognized show or event, the veterinarian should prescribe or administer whatever is indicated for therapeutic purposes. Whenever prescribing or administering a substance prohibited or restricted by the rules, the veterinarian should advise the exhibitor, trainer, and owner how to comply with USEF Rules. However, if the veterinarian (1) fails to give them proper advice, or (2) gives them improper advice about compliance with the rules, or (3) if the trainer, owner, or exhibitor fail to heed the proper advice of the veterinarian, then the trainer and owner may be subject to appropriate penalties under Federation Rules.

No veterinarian should be party to the administration of a drug or medication to a horse or pony for the non-therapeutic purpose of affecting its performance. This is unethical, and it encourages unethical conduct among trainers, owners, and exhibitors. Such conduct is contrary to USEF Rules, is professionally unethical, and undermines the fairness of competition at horse shows and events.

#### The Trainer's Responsibilities

Under USEF Rules, the trainer is held responsible and accountable for the condition of the horse or pony and for compliance with the rules. The trainer is defined as any adult or adults who has or shares the responsibility for the care, training, custody, condition or performance of the horse or pony. This could be one person or several individuals. Trainers, in the absence of substantial evidence to the contrary, are responsible and accountable under the penalty provisions of these rules, whether or not they have signed an entry blank. They are also responsible for guarding each horse at, and sufficiently prior to a recognized competition, such as to prevent the administration by anyone of or its exposure to any prohibited substance, and to know all the provisions of this rule and all other rules and regulations of the Federation and the penalty provisions of said rules. For the purposes of this rule, substantial evidence means affirmative evidence of such a clear and definite nature as to establish that the trainer or any employee or agent of the trainer was, in fact, not responsible or accountable for the condition of the horse and/or pony.

#### THE ADMINISTRATION OF PERGOLIDE

#### EFFECTIVE 12/1/18

Pergolide has been the mainstay treatment of Equine Cushing's disease, also known as Pituitary Pars Intermedia Dysfunction (PPID), for several decades. Due to the class of drug that pergolide represents, it is a prohibited substance under Federation Equestre International (FEI) and United States Equestrian Federation (USEF) rules. Currently, under USEF GR411 Conditions For Therapeutic Administrations of Prohibited Substances, pergolide can be administered, but requires a 24-hour withdrawal from treatment prior to competition and represents a hardship to competitor and horse.

Effective December 1, 2018, horses that are granted a Therapeutic Use Exemption (TUE) for pergolide can remain on pergolide with no withdrawal of drug prior to competition and no need to file a Medication Report Form (MRF) each time they compete.

#### FAQ'S ON PERGOLIDE

#### What is Cushing's?

Equine Cushing's disease, also known as pituitary pars intermedia dysfunction (PPID), is probably the most common disease of geriatric horses. Affected horses show a variety of clinical signs, including excessive hair growth with reduced to no seasonal shedding, frequent urination and drinking, suppression of the immune system, muscle wasting, and founder.

#### What is pergolide?

Pergolide is the most common medication used for the treatment of Cushing's disease/PPID and is a prohibited substance under USEF Equine Drugs and Medications Rules.

#### What is a pergolide Therapeutic Use Exemption (TUE)?

This is an exemption for the use of pergolide in those competition horses with documented disease.

#### Does this mean that pergolide is a permitted medication?

No, pergolide will continue to be a prohibited substance under USEF Equine Drugs and Medications Rules, but the TUE process will permit the continuous treatment of Cushing's disease/PPID in competition horses documented with the disease.

#### <u>Does the TUE process apply for Fédération Équestre Internationale</u> (FEI) competitions?

No, pergolide is considered a prohibited substance under FEI rules and is not permitted in competition, and no exemption or form applies.

#### How does this differ from a Medication Report Form (MRF)?

The use of an MRF requires the withdrawal of a horse from competition for 24 hours following the last administration of a prohibited substance. A TUE will permit the horse to compete without having to observe a 24-hour withdrawal from pergolide. Trainers will still be able to utilize MRFs to document the administration of pergolide but would be required to file an MRF in accordance with GR411 prior to each time the horse competed.

#### How do I apply for a TUE for pergolide?

The process can be initiated with the filing of an electronic MRF for pergolide. Just complete the online MRF and check the box (shown below), and the process will start. Once the request for consideration is received, an email will be sent with a request for more information from the treating veterinarian.

# How long will a pergolide TUE be effective, and is it necessary to reapply?

A pergolide TUE will be effective for three years from the approval date. Prior to the TUE's expiration, a request can be made to extend the effective period for an additional three years.

#### How does this change the way my horse with Cushing's/ PPID needs to be medicated with pergolide?

If your horse is granted a TUE based upon documented medical tests and clinical history, there will be no need to file MRFs at each competition or to change the frequency or schedule of their pergolide treatment.

#### What kind of information does my veterinarian need to provide for my horse to be granted a pergolide TUE?

The treating veterinarian should provide a history of the horse's clinical signs and any diagnostic tests that have been completed. This information will be submitted by the veterinarian, along with any documents, including diagnostic tests and case notes, which can be uploaded as part of the application.

#### How long will it take to be notified about my request for a TUE?

Once the application is complete, and all supporting information has been submitted, the process may take between one and four weeks Once the application is reviewed, your veterinarian may be contacted for follow up information prior to a decision.

#### Can a TUE be used for other treatments?

No, the use of a TUE can only be requested for pergolide at this time. The USEF recognizes the benefit of this medication in the treatment of Cushing's/PPID-affected horses to normalize the endocrine feedback mechanisms disrupted by this disease.

Understanding the USEF Equine Drugs and Medications Rule will help avoid inadvertent violations. All questions about the rule should be directed to the USEF Equine Drugs and Medications Program, 956 King Avenue, Columbus, Ohio 43212, toll-free 800.633.2472.

#### **CHAPTER 4 DRUGS AND MEDICATIONS**

GR401-408. Equine Drugs and Medications Provisions Applicable to All Breeds and/or Disciplines.

#### GR401 Determining the Equine Drugs and Medications Designation for Each Breed or Discipline

- The Board of Directors shall designate every Breed, Discipline, and/ or Group competing under Federation Rules as either a Prohibited Substance Group or a Therapeutic Substance Group, as outlined herein below.
- 2. At each Annual Meeting, each Division Committee shall determine by a majority vote and shall indicate to the Chief Administrator of the Equine Drugs and Medications Program its preference for its Breed or Discipline to be designated as (or to be part of) either a Prohibited Substance Group or a Therapeutic Substance Group. In any instance where more than one Division Committee is responsible for a Breed and/or Discipline Group, after each committee has determined its preference by a majority vote, unanimity between and/or among the Division Committees of the Group shall be required to invoke a recommendation to be designated a Prohibited Substance Group. Absent such concurrence, the joint recommendation of the Division Committees of the Group shall be construed as a recommendation in favor of designation as a Therapeutic Substance Group.
- 3. Each Division Committee shall have responsibility to recommend for its division.
- 4. At its meeting at the Federation's Annual Meeting, the Equine Drugs and Medications Committee shall take into consideration these recommendations and the written recommendations of the respective Affiliate Associations in this regard, and it shall enact the designation for each Breed, Discipline, and/or Group. The effective dates of these designations shall coincide with the effective dates of the newly published Rule Book.
- 5. These designations shall be reviewed by each Division Committee at the subsequent Rule Change Convention.
- 6. Every horse and/or pony competing at Federation competitions and/or events shall be subject to either the Prohibited Substance Provisions (GR409) or the Therapeutic Substance Provisions (GR410-412), depending upon its Breed's, Discipline's, and/ or Group's designation, and it shall be required to compete in compliance therewith, whether competing in unrated or rated classes and/or divisions.
- 7. Any horse and/or pony that competes in more than one Breed, Discipline, and/or Group at a competition, one of which is a Prohibited Substance Group, shall be required to be in compliance with the Prohibited Substance Provisions at all times while competing in any and/or all classes and/or divisions at that competition.

#### **GR402** Testing

 Horses and/or ponies competing at a Licensed Competition are subject to examination by a licensed veterinarian who must be appointed by the Administrator of the Equine Drugs and Medications Program. Said appointed veterinarian, with the approval of the Administrator, may appoint a technician to perform certain duties under this Rule. The examination may include physical, urine, blood tests and/or any other test or procedure at the discretion of said veterinarian necessary to effectuate the purposes of this rule. Said veterinarian may examine any or all horses and/or ponies in a class or all classes in a competition or any horses and/or ponies entered in any class, whether in competition or not, if on the competition grounds, or any horse and/or pony withdrawn by any exhibitor within 24 hours prior to a class for which it has been entered.

- 2. Whether a horse and/or pony is in competition or not, refusal to submit the horse and/or pony for examination or to cooperate with the veterinarian or his agents constitutes a violation and subjects the responsible person to penalties under GR406.
- 3. Trainers who are not able to accompany Federation drug testing personnel and the horse and/or pony to the location where sample collection is to take place, to act as witness to the collection and sealing of blood and urine samples, and to sign the drug collection documents in the appropriate places as witness, must appoint an agent to do so. The absence of such a witness shall constitute a waiver of any objection to the identification of the horse and/or pony tested and the manner of collection and sealing of the samples.
- 4. Upon the collection of a sufficient number of tubes of blood from the horse or pony, the tubes shall be divided into two groups. One group shall be labeled and identified as Blood Sample A and the other as Blood Sample B, and they shall be sealed accordingly. Upon the collection of a sufficient volume of urine from the horse or pony, a portion of the sample shall be poured into a second urine sample container. One container shall be labeled and identified as Urine Sample A and the other as Urine Sample B, and they shall be sealed accordingly. These procedures shall be performed whether or not the trainer or his/her appointed witness is present as provided for in Section 3 above.
- 5. In the event reasonable attempts at sample collections from the horse or pony do not provide a sufficient number of tubes of blood or a sufficient volume of urine to be divided, labeled, and identified as Samples A and B, as determined by the testing veterinarian and/ or technician, the sample(s) obtained (if obtained) shall be labeled and identified as Sample(s) A only, and it shall be recorded in the records of the Equine Drugs and Medications Program that the corresponding Sample(s) B does (do) not exist, in which event the obtained Sample(s) shall be subject to testing.
- 6. A blood sample may be retested under these Rules at any time exclusively at the direction of the Federation. The retesting of a sample may lead to a violation only if the sample was retested within three (3) years from the sample collection date. In order to constitute a violation under these rules, the substance detected in the retested sample must (i) have been prohibited at the time of sample collection; and (ii) not a therapeutic substance, which for purposes of this rule includes only the Controlled Medications on the FEI Prohibited Substances List (available at

*inside.fei.org/fei/cleansport/ad-h/prohibited-list*) in effect on the sample collection date.

7. In the event that the retested sample proves positive, and the retest was conducted more than one (1) year since the date of collection, no prizes or awards will be required to be returned.

#### **GR403** Cooperation

1. Cooperation with the veterinarian and/or his agent(s) includes:

a. Taking the horse and/or pony and the veterinarian and/ or his agent(s) immediately to the location selected by said veterinarian and/or agent(s) for testing the horse and/or pony and presenting it for testing.

b. Assisting the veterinarian and/or his agent(s) in procuring the sample promptly, including but not limited to removing equipment from the horse and/or pony, leaving it quietly in the stall and avoiding any distractions to it. Schooling, lengthy cooling out, bandaging and other delays of this type shall be construed as noncooperation.

c. Polite attitude and actions toward the veterinarian and/or his agent(s).

#### GR404 Accountability of Trainers and Other Persons Responsible

- Trainers and other Persons Responsible, in the absence of substantial evidence to the contrary, are responsible and accountable under the penalty provisions of these rules. The trainer and other Persons Responsible are not relieved from such responsibility as a result of the lack or insufficiency of stable security.
- The Persons Responsible may include the individual who rides, vaults, or drives the horse and/or pony during a competition; the Owner; and/or Support Personnel.
- 3. Support Personnel is defined to include but is not limited to grooms, handlers, longeurs, and veterinarians may be regarded as additional Persons Responsible if they are present at the competition or have made a relevant decision about the horse and/or pony.
- 4. A trainer is defined as any adult or adults who has or shares the responsibility for the care, training, custody, condition, or performance of a horse and/or pony. Said person must sign the entry blank of any Licensed Competition whether said person be a trainer, owner, rider, agent and/or coach. Where a minor exhibitor has no trainer, then a parent, guardian or agent or representative thereof must sign the entry blank and assume responsibility as trainer. The name of the trainer must be designated as such on the entry blank. It is the responsibility of trainers as well as competition management to see that entry blanks contain all of the required information. The responsibilities of a trainer include, but are not limited to the following:

a. for the condition of a horse or pony at a Licensed Competition (whether or not they have signed an entry blank),

b. to guard each horse and/or pony at, and sufficiently prior to, a

Licensed Competition such as to prevent the administration by anyone of, or its exposure to, any prohibited substance, and

c. to know all of the provisions of this Chapter 4 (including any advisories or interpretations published in equestrian) and all other rules and regulations of the Federation and the penalty provisions of said rules. For purposes of this rule, substantial evidence means affirmative evidence of such a clear and definite nature as to establish that said trainer, or any employee or agent of the trainer, was, in fact, not responsible or accountable for the condition of the horse and/or pony. If any trainer is prevented from performing his or her duties, including responsibility for the condition of the horses and/or ponies in his or her care, by illness or other cause, or is absent from any Licensed Competition where horses and/or ponies under his or her care are entered and stabled, he or she must immediately notify the competition secretary and, at the same time, a substitute must be appointed by the trainer and such substitute must place his or her name on the entry blank forthwith. Such substitution does not relieve the regular trainer of his/her responsibility and accountability under this rule; however, the substitute trainer is equally responsible and accountable for the condition of such horses and/or ponies.

- 5. The trainer and owner acknowledge that the trainer represents the owner regarding horses and/or ponies being trained or managed, entries, scratches for any reason and any act performed on any horse and/or pony under the care and custody of the trainer.
- 6. In the case of a horse and/or pony competing under the Therapeutic Substance Provisions, any trainer and/or Persons Responsible subject to these rules who actually administers, attempts to administer, instructs, aids, conspires with another to administer or employs anyone who administers or attempts to administer a prohibited substance to a horse and/or pony which might affect the performance of said horse and/or pony at a competition licensed by the Federation without complying with GR411, is subject to the penalties provided in GR406.
- 7. Any trainer and/or Persons Responsible subject to these rules who administers, attempts to administer, instructs, aids, conspires with another to administer or employs anyone who administers or attempts to administer any substance to a horse and/or pony by injection or by any other route of administration, whether the substance is prohibited or permitted, in the competition ring of a competition licensed by the Federation during a scheduled class, is subject to the penalties provided in GR406.

#### GR405 Equine Drugs and Medications Testing in Connection with an Appeal Measurement

- Each animal submitted for an appeal measurement is subject to the Drugs and Medications Chapter at the time of said measurement and/or concurrent examinations, and said animal must be in compliance therewith.
- 2. Each animal submitted for an appeal measurement must have drug testing samples collected at the time of said measurement and/ or concurrent examinations. No sample is a drug testing sample

unless it is collected by and/or under the direct supervision of Federation drug testing personnel, who must be appointed by the Administrator of the Equine Drugs and Medications Program to collect samples from the animal in question in connection with said measurement.

- 3. Each animal submitted for an appeal measurement must have both a urine sample and a blood sample collected at the time of said measurement and/or concurrent examinations. Both the urine sample and the blood sample must be of sufficient volume for drug testing purposes, as determined by the Administrator of the Equine Drugs and Medications Program. Said sample collections shall be conducted in accordance with procedures which are the sole prerogative of the Federation drug testing personnel. As deemed necessary by the Federation testing veterinarian, the animal shall be administered furosemide to cause it to produce a urine sample in a timely manner.
- 4. Every blood sample and/or urine sample collected in connection with an appeal measurement and all portions thereof are the sole property of the Federation. Said samples and all portions thereof must remain in the sole custody of the Federation drug testing personnel at all times during said measurement and/ or concurrent examinations, and subsequently they must be submitted to the Federation's laboratory for testing in accordance with the instructions of the Administrator of the Equine Drugs and Medications Program.
- 5. The entire cost of sample collections and testing conducted in connection with an appeal measurement, including the fees and expenses of Federation drug testing personnel, shipping costs for equipment and samples, laboratory charges, etc., as determined by the Administrator of the Equine Drugs and Medications Program, must be paid in full by the appellant within 30 days of the submission of an invoice, regardless of the outcome of said measurement, and regardless of the laboratory results. A deposit in cash or certified check equal to the costs of sampling and testing, as estimated by the Administrator of the Equine Drugs and Medications Program, may be required prior to the measurement.
- 6. No appeal measurement is valid absent written affirmation of the CEO or his designee confirming the receipt of negative drug testing results from the Federation's laboratory, indicating that both the urine and blood sample collected from the animal in question in connection with said measurement and/or concurrent examinations were found to contain no prohibited substance, said results having been issued to the Administrator of the Equine Drugs and Medications Program. Any instance involving a finding of prohibited substance shall additionally result in the issuance of a charge of violation of Chapter 4 for adjudication by the Hearing Committee in accordance with the provisions of Chapters 6 and 7.

#### GR406 Results, Confirmatory Analysis, and Retest

 Blood and urine samples labeled and identified as Samples A shall be subjected to chemical analysis by the Federation Drug Testing Laboratory or by a laboratory with which the Federation has
contracted for its services. Blood and urine samples labeled and identified as Samples B shall be stored securely, unopened, at the Federation Drug Testing Laboratory, to be used in the event of a confirmatory analysis, or in the event of a future analysis.

- 2. In the event the chemical analysis of Blood or Urine Sample A is negative, i.e., no prohibited substance or any metabolite or analogue thereof is found to be present in the sample, the corresponding Blood or Urine Sample B may be frozen and maintained, at the Federation Equine Drug Testing and Research Laboratory, for possible future chemical analysis.
- 3. In the event the chemical analysis of Blood or Urine Sample A is positive, i.e., a prohibited substance or any metabolite or analogue thereof is found to be present in the sample, this shall be prima facie evidence that the prohibited substance was administered in some manner to said horse or pony, whether intentionally or unintentionally, or otherwise was caused to be present in the tissues, body fluids or excreta of the horse or pony at the competition, whether intentionally or unintentionally, such that the trainer(s) deemed responsible and accountable for its condition is (are) liable under the provisions of GR404.
- 4. In the event the chemical analysis of Blood or Urine Sample A is positive, the Federation shall notify the Trainer, Persons Responsible (if applicable), and the Owner of the Horse of their right to promptly request the analysis of the B sample, or, failing such request, that the B sample analysis is deemed waived. The Trainer, Persons Responsible (if applicable), and the Owner of the Horse are deemed to have waived their right to a B Sample analysis if they do not submit the Confirmatory Analysis Request Form within 15 business days. Within seven (7) days of receipt of the duly executed Confirmatory Analysis Request Form (B Sample), the Federation shall coordinate such analysis. The Trainer, Persons Responsible (if applicable), and Owner of the Horse may accept the A Sample analytical results by waiving the right to a B sample analysis.
- 5. The confirmatory analysis of the corresponding Blood or Urine Sample B shall be performed by a drug testing laboratory that is approved by the Federation and agreed upon by the person charged who requests the confirmatory analysis, which laboratory must have demonstrated proficiency in performing the necessary confirmatory analysis, provided the corresponding Blood or Urine Sample B exists and is of sufficient volume to permit a confirmatory analysis. In the event the drug testing laboratory that analyzed Sample A is the only laboratory that has demonstrated proficiency in performing the necessary confirmatory analysis, this laboratory shall be the only laboratory to perform the confirmatory analysis of the corresponding Sample B. Upon the completion of the confirmatory analysis, the laboratory performing the confirmatory analysis shall forward its findings and supporting data to all parties.
- 6. In the event no agreement is reached as to a laboratory as required in section 5 above, and the person charged who requests the confirmatory analysis does not revoke his/her request, the confirmatory analysis of the corresponding Blood or Urine Sample B shall be performed by the Federation Drug Testing Laboratory,

or by a laboratory with which the Federation has contracted for its services, and shall forward its findings and supporting data to all parties. Both the results of the analysis of Sample A (and supporting data) and the results of the confirmatory analysis of the corresponding Sample B, if any (and supporting data, if any), shall be admissible as evidence in any hearing or proceeding pertaining to this matter.

- 7. In the event the corresponding Blood or Urine Sample B does not exist, or is of insufficient volume to permit a confirmatory analysis, and there exists a remaining aliquot of Blood or Urine Sample A which is of sufficient volume to permit a retest, as determined by the Federation, a person charged who requests the retest of Blood or Urine Sample A must make the request in writing to the Federation and it must be received within 7 days of the determination that the corresponding Blood or Urine Sample B does not exist or is of insufficient volume to permit a confirmatory analysis.
- 8. Any requested re-test of the remaining aliquot of Blood or Urine Sample A, provided it is of sufficient volume to permit a retest, shall be performed by the Federation Drug Testing Laboratory, or by a laboratory with which The Federation has contracted for its services.
- 9. The retest of the remaining aliquot of Blood or Urine Sample A may be witnessed by a Witnessing Analyst appointed by the person charged who requests such analysis at the same time as the retest is requested. The Witnessing Analyst must be a qualified analytical chemist employed by an equine drug testing laboratory. If no Witnessing Analyst is appointed by the person requesting the retest, or if the Witnessing Analyst is unavailable within a reasonable time, the requested retest of the remaining aliquot of Blood or Urine Sample A shall proceed without the Witnessing Analyst.
- 10. In the event the Witnessing Analyst appointed by the person requesting the retest of the remaining aliquot of Blood or Urine Sample A is satisfied that the positive result is correct, the Federation must be informed immediately by fax with confirmation by letter.
- 11. In the event the Witnessing Analyst is not satisfied that the result of the retest of the remaining aliquot of Blood or Urine Sample A is correct, the Federation must be informed immediately by fax followed by a written report setting forth the basis for the Witnessing Analyst's opinion. Copies of the original and subsequent results and supporting analytical data must be submitted to the Federation Hearing Committee as part of the hearing record in the case, for resolution by it of any and all issues regarding the original analysis of Blood or Urine Sample A and the retest of the remaining aliquot of Blood or Urine Sample A.
- 12. By requesting the confirmatory analysis of the corresponding Blood or Urine Sample B, or the retest of the remaining aliquot of Blood or Urine Sample A, or by requesting that the retest be witnessed by a Witnessing Analyst, the person charged who makes such request(s) agrees to and must pay any and all fees, costs and expenses relating to the confirmatory analysis or the retest, whether it is performed by a mutually agreed upon laboratory, by the Federation Drug Testing Laboratory, or by a laboratory with which The Federation has contracted for its services, upon the

presentation an invoice by the Federation, and any and all fees, costs, and expenses relating to the Witnessing Analyst.

13. After chemical analysis of the B sample, if the laboratory's confirmatory analysis:

Does not substantially confirm the Federation Equine Drug Testing and Research Laboratory's findings, then any allegations that the substance in question was present at the time that the samples were collected shall be dismissed; or

Substantially confirms the Federation Equine Drug Testing and Research Laboratory's findings, the finding shall be considered conclusive.

- 14. In the case of a horse and/or pony competing under the Therapeutic Substance Provisions, if the chemical analysis of the sample taken from such horse and/or pony indicates the presence of a prohibited substance or any metabolite or analogue thereof and all the requirements of GR411 have been fully complied with, the information contained in said Equine Drugs and Medications Report Form and any other relevant evidence will be considered by the Federation in determining whether a rule violation was committed by any person(s) responsible or accountable for the condition of the horse and/or pony under the provisions of this rule.
- 15. When a positive report is received from the chemist identifying a prohibited substance, or any metabolite or analogue thereof, a hearing will be held in accordance with Chapter 6, except as may otherwise be provided by GR412. No trainer, responsible or accountable for the condition of said horse and/or pony, will be suspended, or a horse and/or pony barred from competition, until after an administrative penalty has been assessed or after the conclusion of a hearing and a written ruling thereon has been made.
- 16. The owner or owners of a horse and/or pony found to contain a prohibited substance or any metabolite or analogue thereof may be required to forfeit all prize money, sweepstakes, added money and any trophies, ribbons and "points" won at said competition by said horse and/or pony and the same will be redistributed accordingly. The owner must pay a fee of \$300 to said competition. Points accumulated toward Horse of the Year Awards prior to said competition may be nullified and redistributed at the discretion of the Hearing Committee. If, prior to or at a hearing, the Federation as the charging party, determines that one or more persons, not previously charged as a trainer should also be charged as a trainer, then, upon application by the Federation, the Hearing Committee may, in its discretion, continue or adjourn the hearing, in whole or in part, to permit a new or amended charge to be issued (unless the person(s) to be charged waive notice).
- 17. A trainer of a horse and/or pony found to contain such prohibited substance or any metabolite or analogue thereof is subject to whatever penalty is assessed by the Hearing Committee, except for administrative penalties issued by the Chairman of the Equine Drugs and Medications Committee and accepted, as provided by GR412. Said trainer may be fined and may be suspended from all participation in Licensed Competitions for a period of one year

for the first offense, and for a longer period for a second or later offense, said *suspension to be served at any time at the discretion of the Hearing Committee.* 

The horse and/or pony may be suspended for any period of time specified by the Hearing Committee. In determining an appropriate penalty under these rules, the Hearing Committee may take into account such factors and circumstances as it may deem relevant, including but not limited to

the pharmacology of the prohibited substance,

the credibility and good faith of the person charged or of other witnesses,

penalties determined in similar cases, and

past violations of any Federation rules (or the lack thereof).

reliance upon the professional ability or advice of a veterinarian who is a licensed graduate of an accredited veterinary school and who is in good standing in the state in which he/she primarily practices.

- 18. If the Hearing Committee determines that any violation or attempted violation of this Rule was willful and/or intentional, there shall not be any limit to the period of a suspension, and the Hearing Committee may impose other and significantly greater penalties than it would have in the absence of such a determination.
- 19. A blood sample may be retested under these Rules at any time exclusively at the direction of the Federation. The retesting of a sample may lead to a violation only if the sample was retested within three (3) years from the sample collection date. In order to constitute a violation under these rules, the substance detected in the retested sample must (i) have been prohibited at the time of sample collection; and (ii) not a therapeutic substance, which for purposes of this rule includes only the Controlled Medications on the FEI Prohibited Substances List (available at *inside.fei.org/fei/cleansport/ad-h/prohibited-list*) in effect on the sample collection date.
- 20. In the event that the retested sample proves positive, and the retest was conducted more than one (1) year since the date of collection, no prizes or awards will be required to be returned.

#### **GR407 Management Procedures**

- To provide funds for research, inspection and enforcement of rules regarding use of medications and drugs, each Licensed Competition, except where prohibited by law, must assess the exhibitors a fee of \$15 for each horse and/or pony entered in the competition, except the fee shall be \$25 for each horse entered in an FEI sanctioned competition or a USEF High Cap Computer List Class. Participants in the following classes are exempted from payment:
  - a. leadline
  - b. exhibitions
  - c. games and races,
  - d. classes for 4-H members,

e. Academy classes (Academy classes are classes limited to horses used regularly in a lesson program)

#### f. Opportunity classes

g. Classes at Regular or Local Competitions restricted to breeds or disciplines whose rules are not included in the USEF rulebook.

h. However, these classes are not exempt from the Drugs and Medications Chapter itself. Within 10 days after a competition, competition management must forward to the Federation a sum representing the above fee times the number of horses and/ or ponies entered in the nonexempt classes of the competition plus the number of horses and/or ponies scratched where the fee is not refunded, such sum to be held by the Federation in a separate fund for use to accomplish the purpose set forth above.

- 2. It is a violation for a Licensee to assess and/or collect a drug enforcement fee in excess of or in addition to that specified and required by GR407.1 of these rules, unless said assessment is approved in writing by the Federation in advance, and then only under the terms and conditions set forth.
- 3. It is a violation for a Licensee to withhold from the Federation any or all of the drug fees collected in accordance with GR407.1, for any purpose, including to defray the expenses incurred providing stalls, passes, and other items to the Federation drug testing personnel, as required by GR407.4 and .5.
- 4. Each Licensed Competition shall, at its own cost and expense, set aside and make available to The Federation testing personnel upon request suitable facilities conveniently located for the veterinarian appointed by the Federation and his or her technicians to collect equine blood and urine samples. Suitable facilities means one or more stalls if available, as requested, that are well lit, clean, dry, freshly bedded, and having a door or gate that can be secured.
- 5. Each Licensed Competition, upon request, must furnish the veterinarian appointed by The Federation and/or the Administrator of the Equine Drugs and Medications Program by mail forthwith, with the requested number of official passes and parking passes for the veterinarians and technicians to have immediate and free access to all areas at said Licensed Competition.
- 6. Competition management must cooperate with and exhibit polite attitude and actions toward the veterinarian and/or his agents.

#### GR408 Interpretations of the Federation Equine Drugs and Medications Chapter and its Application to Particular Substances

Any questions regarding the interpretation of this Chapter, including the application of this Chapter to particular substances, should be directed to the office of the Federation Equine Drugs and Medications Program, 956 King Avenue, Columbus, Ohio 43212-2655. (800) 633-2472, (614) 299-7707, FAX (614) 299-7706. Trainers and/or owners who seek advice concerning the interpretation and application of this rule should not rely solely upon interpretations or advice by private or competition veterinarians, competition officials, competition personnel, or other persons, but should also obtain verification of any such interpretations or advice from the Federation Equine Drugs and Medications Program office. Any trainer or owner who is uncertain about whether this rule applies in any given situation would be well advised to withdraw the affected horse and/or pony from competition until such time as the Federation Equine Drugs and Medications Program office has been consulted.

#### GR409 Equine Drugs and Medications, Prohibited Substance Provisions

- 1. This paragraph applies only to FEI Banned Substances and Methods.
- For all Federation Equestre Internationale (FEI) recognized disciplines, Articles 2 (what constitutes a violation), 3 [proof of violations (except 3.1 and 3.2.3)], 4 (banned substances and methods), and 8.2 (principles of fair hearing) of the FEI Equine Anti-Doping rules govern. Those Articles are incorporated by reference as if fully set out herein and can be found at *fei.org* or the Drugs & Medications tab at *usef.org*. For purposes of this rule, the designation of "Person Responsible" in the incorporated provisions of the FEI Equine Anti-Doping rules shall refer to the individual(s) found to be the trainer of the horse as defined by GR404.
- 2. No horse and/or pony competing in a Breed or Discipline designated as (or part of) a No Prohibited Substance Group is to be shown in any class at a competition licensed by the Federation if it has been administered in any manner or otherwise contained in its tissues, body fluids or excreta a prohibited substance as defined in the FEI Equine Anti-Doping and Controlled Medication Regulations, which can be found at *fei.org*.
- 3. EXHIBITORS, OWNERS, TRAINERS, AND VETERINARIANS ARE CAUTIONED AGAINST THE USE OF MEDICINAL PREPARATIONS, TONICS, PASTES, AND PRODUCTS OF ANY KIND, THE INGREDIENTS AND QUANTITATIVE ANALYSIS OF WHICH ARE NOT SPECIFICALLY KNOWN, AS MANY OF THEM NO DOUBT CONTAIN ONE OR MORE Prohibited SUBSTANCES.

#### GR410 Equine Drugs and Medications, The Therapeutic Substance Provisions

1. No horse and/or pony competing in a Breed or Discipline designated as (or part of) a Therapeutic Substance Group is to be shown in any class at a competition licensed by the Federation (see also GR402.1, last sentence) if it has been administered in any manner or otherwise contains in its tissues, body fluids or excreta a prohibited substance except as provided in GR411. Any horse and/or pony that competes in more than one Breed, Discipline, and/or Group at a competition, one of which is a Prohibited Substance Group, shall be required to be in compliance with the Prohibited Substance Provisions at all times while competing in any and/or all classes and/or divisions at that competition. For purposes of this rule, a prohibited substance is:

a. Any stimulant, depressant, tranquilizer, local anesthetic, psychotropic (mood and/or behavior altering) substance, or drug which might affect the performance of a horse and/or pony (stimulants and/or depressants are defined as substances which stimulate or depress the cardiovascular, respiratory or central nervous systems), or any metabolite and/or analogue of any such substance or drug, except as expressly permitted by this rule.

b. Any corticosteroid present in the plasma of the horse/pony other than dexamethasone (see GR410.5b).

c. Any nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drug in excess of one present in the plasma or urine of the horse/pony (GR411 does not apply); exception: salicylic acid.

d. Any substance (or metabolite and/or analogue thereof) permitted by this rule in excess of the maximum limit or other restrictions prescribed herein.

e. Any substance (or metabolite and/or analogue thereof), regardless of how harmless or innocuous it might be, which might interfere with the detection of any of the substances defined in (a), (b), (c) or (e) or quantification of substances permitted by this rule.

f. Any anabolic steroid (GR411 below does not apply).

- 2. EXHIBITORS, OWNERS, TRAINERS, AND VETERINARIANS ARE CAUTIONED AGAINST THE USE OF MEDICINAL PREPARATIONS, TONICS, PASTES, AND PRODUCTS OF ANY KIND, THE INGREDIENTS AND QUANTITATIVE ANALYSIS OF WHICH ARE NOT SPECIFICALLY KNOWN, AS MANY OF THEM MAY CONTAIN A Prohibited SUBSTANCE.
- 3. The full use of modern therapeutic measures for the improvement and protection of the health of the horse and/or pony is permitted unless:

a. The substance administered is a stimulant, depressant, tranquilizer, local anesthetic, drug or drug metabolite which might affect the performance of a horse and/or pony or might interfere with the detection of prohibited substances or quantification of permitted substances; or

b. More than one nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs are present in the plasma or urine of the horse/pony (GR411 does not apply); exception: salicylic acid; or

c. The presence of such substance in the blood or urine sample exceeds the maximum limit or other restrictions prescribed herein below.

 Restrictions concerning the nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs are as follows:

a. The maximum permitted plasma concentration of diclofenac is 0.005 micrograms per milliliter.

b. The maximum permitted plasma concentration of phenylbutazone is 15.0 micrograms per milliliter.

c. The maximum permitted plasma concentration of flunixin is 1.0 micrograms per milliliter.

d. The maximum permitted plasma concentration of ketoprofen is 40.0 nanograms per milliliter.

e. The maximum permitted plasma concentration of

meclofenamic acid is 2.5 micrograms per milliliter.

f. The maximum permitted plasma concentration of naproxen is 40.0 micrograms per milliliter.

g. Not more than one of the substances listed in (a) through (g) are permitted to be present in the same plasma or urine sample (GR411 does not apply).

h. The maximum permitted plasma concentration of firocoxib is 0.240 micrograms per milliliter.

i. Any nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drug not listed in (a) through (g) above is prohibited to be present in the plasma or urine sample (GR411 does not apply); exception: salicylic acid.

j. Any nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drug that becomes approved for use in horses can be added to the list of those permitted, after the completion, review and approval of the needed research.

5. Restrictions concerning other therapeutic substances are as follows:

a. The maximum permissible plasma concentration of methocarbamol is 0.5 micrograms per milliliter.

b. The maximum permitted plasma concentration of dexamethasone is 0.5 nanograms per milliliter.

6. Thresholds for substances of possible dietary origin are as follows:

a. The maximum permissible urine concentration of theobromine is 2.0 micrograms per milliliter.

7. Additional restrictions concerning particular classes and/or divisions (GR411 does not apply):

a. In the breeding/in-hand classes for three-year-olds and under in the Arabian, Half Arabian, and Anglo Arabian Division, any anabolic steroid is prohibited. (See HOW LONG DRUGS REMAIN DETECTABLE in the current Drugs and Medications Rules Pamphlet for guidelines).

#### GR411 Conditions For Therapeutic Administrations of Prohibited Substances

 A horse and/or pony exhibiting at a Licensed Competition pursuant to the Therapeutic Substance Provisions that receives any medication which contains a prohibited substance is not eligible for competition unless all of the following requirements have been met and the facts are furnished in on a timely-submitted official Equine Drugs and Medications Report Form:

a. The medication must be therapeutic and necessary for the diagnosis or treatment of an existing illness or injury. Administration of a prohibited substance for non-therapeutic or optional purposes (such as, by way of example only, shipping, clipping, training, turning out, routine floating or cleaning of teeth, non-diagnostic nerve blocking, uncasting, mane pulling or non-emergency shoeing) is not considered to be therapeutic. Any trainer who is uncertain about whether a particular purpose is considered to be therapeutic would be well advised to consult the Federation Equine Drugs and Medications Program office.

b. The horse and/or pony must be withdrawn from competition for a period of not less than 24 hours after the medication is administered.

c. The medication must be administered by a licensed veterinarian, or, if a veterinarian is unavailable, only by the trainer pursuant to the advice and direction of a veterinarian.

d. Identification of medication—the amount, strength and mode of administration.

e. Date and time of administration.

f. Identification of horse and/or pony, its name, age, sex, color and entry number.

- g. Diagnosis and reason for administration.
- h. Statement signed by person administering medication.

i. Equine Drugs and Medications Report Form filed within one hour after administration. If an online form cannot be submitted due to lack of internet or phone service, a paper form may be submitted. This option is only to be used when submitting the online from is impossible.

j. The Steward, Technical Delegate, or Designated Competition Office Representative must sign and record the time of receipt on paper Equine Drugs and Medications Report Forms.

k. At selection trials for World Championships, and/or Olympic and/or Pan American Games, the requirement of subsection
(b) above, that the horse or pony must be withdrawn from competition for a period of not less than 24 hours after the medication is administered will not apply, provided that:

1. the competition is conducted pursuant to the written selection procedures as approved by the Federation Board of Directors;

2. the written selection procedures specifically allow for therapeutic administrations of medications by a USEFappointed veterinary panel within 24 hours preceding competition, and the written selection procedures are in no case less stringent in this regard than the FEI Veterinary Regulations (Articles 1006.7 and 1006.8) and guidelines pursuant thereto;

3. all requirements of the written selection procedures regarding therapeutic administrations of medications have been met;

4. all requirements of this Rule have been met except subsection GR411.1(b); and all persons competing in the competition are eligible and competing for selection.

2. Where all the requirements of GR411 have been fully complied with, the information contained in said Equine Drugs and Medications Report Form and any other relevant evidence will be considered by the Federation in determining whether a rule violation was committed by any person(s) responsible or accountable for the condition of the horse and/or pony under the provisions of this rule.

NOTE: The official Equine Drugs and Medications Report Form is available on the Federation website (See page 18 for electronic filing). Paper Medication Report Forms must only be used when it is impossible to submit an online form. All required information must be included when filing a report. Failure to satisfy and follow all the requirements of this Rule and to supply all of the information required by such Equine Drugs and Medications Report Form is a violation of the rules.

3. Flunixin, in addition to one other substance listed in GR410 (a) through (g), may be found in the same plasma and/or urine sample of a horse under the following conditions and for the treatment of colic or an ophthalmic emergency only: (i) must comply with GR411.1; (ii) the flunixin must have been administered by a veterinarian; (iii) the required medication report form must be submitted appropriately and comply with GR411; and (iv) the horse must be withdrawn from competition for 24 hours following the administration.

#### **GR412 Administrative Penalties**

- 1. The provisions for administrative penalties shall apply to any potential or alleged violation of the Equine Drugs and Medications Rule. The Federation shall hold in abeyance the issuance of charges of rule violation pending further determination by the Chairman of the Equine Drugs and Medications Committee, who shall take into consideration all pertinent information available, including the seriousness of the alleged violation(s), precedents in similar Federation drug cases, and any prior rule violation(s) by the individual(s). At all times while consideration is given as to a determination by the Chairman of the Veterinary Committee, the identity of the horse, rider, trainer, coach, and owner must not be known or disclosed to him.
- 2. The Chairman of the Veterinary Committee shall, upon consultation with staff, and within 60 days of receipt of laboratory results, make a determination in his or her discretion whether to recommend the issuance of charges by the Federation, whether to recommend a plea agreement, whether to impose administrative penalties, or whether to take no further action in the matter, and shall communicate that decision in writing to the Federation's CEO or his designee.
- 3. In the event the Chairman of the Veterinary Committee determines to impose administrative penalties in accordance with GR412.2, in lieu of a recommendation to issue charges, he or she shall be authorized to impose any or all of the penalties enumerated in Chapter 7, GR703, setting forth the terms and conditions for compliance. The trainer(s) and owner(s) shall after receiving written notice of the right to a hearing, after their written waiver of same, and written acceptance of an administrative penalty, be subject to any and all administrative penalties imposed by the Chairman of the Veterinary Committee.
- 4. The Federation shall give written notification to trainer(s) and owner(s) of administrative penalties determined pursuant to GR412.3 above, the terms and conditions of which shall not be

subject to negotiation. An administrative penalty must be approved by the Hearing Committee Co-Chairs before it is offered to the Respondent(s). Once accepted by all parties and by the Hearing Committee, an administrative penalty shall have the same force and effect as would a finding of rule violation by the Hearing Committee following a hearing pursuant to Chapters 6 and 7, and will be published on the Federation's web site.

- 5. Any trainer(s), or owner(s), or both, who have received notice of an administrative penalty under GR412.4 and who have not accepted same in writing shall receive a hearing before the Hearing Committee, in accordance with Chapters 6 and 7. Administrative penalties accepted in accordance with this Rule shall be effective immediately, shall be final, and shall not be subject to further review under any circumstance(s).
- 6. In the event an administrative penalty is not accepted in writing, the Federation shall issue a written charge or charges pursuant to Chapter 6, and the Hearing Committee shall conduct a hearing pursuant to Chapters 6 and 7 upon said charge(s). In the event of a finding of a violation, the Hearing Committee shall not be limited in choice of penalties to those that might have been imposed in accordance with GR412.2 and .3, nor in any such instance shall the Hearing Committee be limited in any other way in exercising all of its prerogatives as set forth in the Bylaws and Rules.
- 7. A blood sample may be retested under these Rules at any time exclusively at the direction of the Federation. The retesting of a sample may lead to a violation only if the sample was retested within three (3) years from the sample collection date. In order to constitute a violation under these rules, the substance detected in the retested sample must (i) have been prohibited at the time of sample collection; and (ii) not a therapeutic substance, which for purposes of this rule includes only the Controlled Medications on the FEI Prohibited Substances List (available at *inside.fei.org/fei/cleansport/ad-h/prohibited-list*) in effect on the sample collection date.
- 8. In the event that the retested sample proves positive, and the retest was conducted more than one (1) year since the date of collection, no prizes or awards will be required to be returned.

#### **GR413 Human Drug Testing**

- In accordance with the rules of the FEI and of the World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA), any Federation member shall comply with in-competition, no advance notice (NAN), and other out-ofcompetition drug testing conducted by the FEI, WADA, US Anti-Doping Agency (USADA) or by a WADA-authorized organization or USADA-authorized organization at any time without advanced notice. Failure to cooperate with such in-competition, NAN or other out-ofcompetition drug testing shall be a violation of Federation rules.
- 2. In conjunction with the above-described NAN or other out-ofcompetition drug testing, the Federation is required to submit the names, current addresses, telephone numbers, training times and training and competition locations for individuals and teams as requested by the FEI, WADA, or USADA to enable FEI, WADA, or

USADA to conduct NAN or other out-of-competition drug testing. Notwithstanding the foregoing, compliance with anti-doping regulations rests with the individual subject to testing.

3. A finding of violation of human drug rules by USADA or WADA shall be deemed a violation of Federation rules, and the reciprocity provisions of GR615.2 shall be applied.

#### GR 414 Prohibited Practices

- 1. No injectable substances may be administered to any horse or pony within 12 hours prior to competing, with the following three exceptions subject to paragraph 2 below:
  - a. Therapeutic fluids, which amount must consist of a minimum of 1L of polyionic fluids per 100lb of body weight; and which must be used in accordance with the manufacturer's recommendations and guidelines. The fluids must not be supplemented with concentrated electrolytes, such as magnesium.
  - b. Antibiotics. Procaine penicillin G is prohibited under this exception.
  - c. Dexamethasone. This is permitted only for the treatment of acute urticaria –( hives). The dose must not exceed 0.5 mg per 100 lb (5.0 mg for 1000 lb horse) if administered more than 6 hours and less than 12 hours prior to entering the competition ring, and must not exceed 1.0 mg per 100 lb (10.0 mg for 1000lb horse) within any 24 hour period.
- 2. The above exceptions are permitted only when (i) the substance is administered by a licensed veterinarian and no less than 6 hours prior to competing; and (ii) the "Trainer" as defined under General Rule 404 properly files, or causes to be properly filed, an Equine Drugs and Medications Report Form within one hour after the administration of the substance.
- 3. No horse may be injected with any substance, prohibited or permitted, into an intra-synovial space (joint, tendon sheath, or bursa) within the 4 days preceding competition. No horse less than two years of age may be treated with intrasynovial injections within the 30 days preceding competition.
- 4. Shockwave Therapy may only be administered by or on the order of a licensed veterinarian. If sedation is required for Shockwave Therapy, only sedation performed by a licensed veterinarian and administered at the same time as the Shockwave Therapy will be considered therapeutic and GR411 will apply. No sedation associated with Shockwave Therapy will be considered therapeutic if administered within 24 hours prior to competition. No horse may be treated with Shockwave Therapy within the 3 days preceding competition with the following exception:

a. Shockwave Therapy may be administered by a licensed veterinarian within the 3 day prohibited period, but no closer than 12 hours prior to competing, and is limited to application to the back and dorsal pelvis areas. No Shockwave Therapy is permitted within the 12 hours prior to competing. This exception is permitted only when the "Trainer" as defined under GR404 properly files, or causes to be properly filed, an Equine Drugs and Medications Report Form within one hour after the

administration of Shockwave Therapy.

5. No kinesiotape or self-adhesive patches may be used on any horse while mounted at any time during competition. Kinesiotape and self-adhesive patches are permitted exclusively while the horse is unmounted in the stabling area. Nasal strips are permitted unless prohibited by specific division rules.

#### DRUG TESTING FAQ

# Am I allowed to stay and watch? How can I be sure the sample was collected properly and labeled correctly?

Yes, you may stay and observe the entire process, or you may ask a friend to do so. You may ask the testing veterinarian and technicians any questions you have, or ask them to explain the procedures you observe. Note: Testing personnel are required to wear gloves. Please report any instance where gloves are not used in the collection of a sample.

What if my horse needs to go into another class or must remain at the ring for further performance in a class or to jog/be present for awards? What if the horse is done showing and needs to be untacked and cooled out?

If you discuss these needs with the testing veterinarian and technician, they will do their job so as not to interrupt the showing schedule or horse's normal care, provided the collection of the samples is not unnecessarily delayed.

#### What protects the samples from having something put into them after collection or from being opened after they are collected?

Only new sample collection equipment is used, meaning blood tubes, needles, and urine sample containers. Also, all equipment and samples are kept either in the possession of the testing veterinarian and technician, or under lock and key. Each sample is sealed with evidence tape, and placed in a plastic security bag. This is done while you watch. They are then locked up and kept secure. Any tampering of the sample would be evident if a seal or security bag were not intact.

# What prevents a drug from getting into the urine container when the lid is off?

The lid is screwed onto the container tightly as soon as the sample is collected. If something accidentally touches the inside of the lid or container, for example, dirt or wood shavings, that container will not be used. The technician will replace the container with a new one before the sample is collected.

#### What is furosemide (Lasix®) used for?

Furosemide is a diuretic and is helpful in obtaining a urine sample. It is given by injection after the blood sample has been drawn and usually will provide a urine sample in 15-20 minutes. The dose given is 1/5 of the normal therapeutic dose given to race horses. The use of furosemide is voluntary and is offered to expedite the collection of urine samples for the convenience of the exhibitor/trainer.

# What prevents my horse's samples from being mixed up with another horse's samples?

As soon as each sample is collected, it is sealed and labeled with a unique number that is assigned only to your horse's samples, and which remains attached to those samples from that time on.

# If they ask to test my horse, how can I be sure they are from USEF?

Each testing veterinarian has USEF documents specifying the competition to be tested, and a photo ID matching the documents, which they will present to you at your request.

#### Who selects the horses for testing and who tests them?

The testing veterinarian selects the horse. Testing veterinarians are representatives of the USEF and will not be working for any clients at the same competition. USEF appoints its veterinarians to attend specific shows and events, and they are accompanied by a team of several technicians who collect samples.

#### Why is a particular horse selected?

The testing veterinarian selects horses randomly for testing. However, higher placings may be selected for testing more frequently.

#### Where are the samples collected?

Most often, at the horse's own stall. Sometimes, a sample collection or "testing" stall is used.

#### What kinds of samples are collected and how much?

The testing veterinarian will collect a blood sample from each horse, and the technician will attempt to collect a urine sample. Several tubes of blood are taken, some are labeled A, and some are labeled B. The technician will collect as much urine as the horse will provide. The urine sample will be divided into two containers, as well, labeled A and B. Some drugs are measured or detected only in blood, and others are found only in urine. Some drugs are found in both.

#### What is the exhibitor, trainer, or owner responsible for?

Please be courteous and make your horse or pony available promptly. You will be asked to provide accurate information to testing personnel and have an English speaking adult available to provide information about the horse/pony, the exhibitor, and the trainer. Please make sure you have an individual capable of safely holding the horse or pony for blood sample collection. Also, have an adult available to sign as a witness to the collection and sealing of all samples.

# Who is responsible in the event of an alleged violation of the rules?

The person who signs the entry form as the trainer of record will be responsible; however, additional persons responsible may be identified who have made a relevant decision about the horse and/or pony.

#### What about FEI competitions?

FEI competition testing is conducted in accordance with FEI regulations.

# What happens to the samples after the competition or event?

They are shipped to the University of Kentucky's Equine Analytical Chemistry Laboratory in Kentucky as soon as possible for testing. Upon arrival, each sample is inspected carefully and logged in.

The integrity of each sample and its identity is verified. The samples labeled A are tested, and the samples labeled B are stored securely.

#### Do the chemists know the name of the horse, owner, and

#### trainer for each sample?

No, they only know the unique number assigned to the sample, the date it was collected, and the name of the competition or event. The document that identifies the horse, owner, and trainer is kept at the Program's office in Ohio.

#### What kinds of tests are performed on the sample?

A broad range of screening tests are conducted. If any drugs are found, state-of-the art confirmatory tests identify the chemical identity of the drug or medication. No finding of a prohibited substance is reported unless the test result is certain.

#### Is there a way I can find out the status of my horses' test?

Yes, please go to the Federation website *usef.org/compete/resources-forms/ rules-regulations/drugs-medications/barcode-lookup* approximately four to six weeks following the sample collection. Type in your horse's Sample ID number. The sample will either be listed as "Cleared" or "Pending".

# What happens if nothing forbidden is detected in the sample?

The sample will be listed as "Cleared" when the Sample ID is entered on the USEF website.

#### What happens if something is detected in the sample A?

The B sample is available for confirmatory analysis, in the event the trainer or owner wants it tested.

#### How long do they have to decide whether to test sample B?

The request must be made within 15 business days following notification of positive by the Federation. Also, the testing must be done at a mutually agreed upon Federation approved laboratory.

#### What assurance do I have that I will not wrongly be accused of violating the rules because of faulty evidence?

The entire process of the selection of horses for testing, the collection, labeling, and sealing of samples, the security under which they are kept and shipped to the laboratory, then inspected and tested, and the results verified and re-verified if necessary, has been designed to ensure the integrity and fairness of the process.

#### How is the equine drug program funded?

It is paid for by the \$15 per entry drug testing fee with no additional cost to the competitor.



usef.org

© All rights reserved. 2020 by United States Equestrian Federation® Reproduction without permission is strictly prohibited.



# Equine Medication Monitoring Program

# **Drugs and Medication Guidelines**



January 2021

## Introduction

The California Equine Medication Monitoring Program (EMMP) is an industry funded program to ensure the integrity of public equine events and sales in California through the control of performance and disposition enhancing drugs and permitting limited therapeutic use of drugs and medications. The EMMP and the industry is dedicated and committed to promote the health, welfare and safety of the equine athlete.

Owners, trainers, exhibitors, veterinarians and consignors of equines to public sales have a responsibility to be familiar with the California EMMP and the California Equine Medication Rule. California law (Food and Agricultural Code Sections 24000-24018) outlines the equine medication rule for public equine events in California. **The owner, trainer and consignor have responsibility to ensure full compliance with all elements of the California Equine Medication Rule.** Owners, trainers, exhibitors, veterinarians and consignors of equines to public sales must comply with both the California Equine Medication Rule and any sponsoring organization drug and medication rule for an event. **The more stringent medication rule applies for the event.** The California Equine Medication Rule is posted on the website: http://www.cdfa.ca.gov/ahfss/Animal Health/emmp/

The information contained in this document provides advice regarding the California Equine Medication Rule and application of the rule to practical situations. The EMMP recognizes that situations arise where there is an indication for legitimate therapeutic treatment near the time of competition at equine events. The EMMP regulations permit the use of therapeutic medication in certain circumstances to accommodate legitimate therapy in compliance with the requirements of the rule. This document provides information on rules, regulations and general guidance to exhibitors, consignors and veterinarians to help avoid inadvertent violations and to minimize the chances of positive drug detections.

# Exempt Events

The following events are **<u>exempt</u>** from EMMP regulations:

- A rodeo-related competition, which is strictly a timed performance, with no subjective judging, held apart from a public equine event. (Includes barrel racing, team penning, ranch sorting, ropings, and gymkhana)
- A sale of solely race horses.
- Competitions under the jurisdiction of the California Horse Racing Board.

- A public equine event for which the class or event entry fee is less than \$4.99 per class and other fees do not exceed \$19.99. (Other fees include, but are not limited to, grounds fees, stall fees or office fees.)
- A public equine event in which all fees for participation are less than \$19.99. (Fees include, but are not limited to, class fees, grounds fees, stall fees or office fees).

## Prohibited and Permissible Drugs

The California Equine Medication Rule classifies drugs as prohibited substances and permissible substances. A **prohibited substance** is defined as any drug or medication that is a stimulant, a depressant, a tranquilizer, an anesthetic including local anesthetic, an analgesic, an anabolic steroid, a corticosteroid (excluding dexamethasone) and a soring agent. A prohibited substance administered for therapeutic purposes must be **withdrawn 24 hours before a public competition or 72 hours before a public sale**. The rule requires filing of a Drug Declaration Form (CA Form 76-027 or United States Equestrian Federation (USEF) equivalent form) for any prohibited substance administered to an equine in the three (3) days before public competition or in the five (5) days before a public sale.

A **permissible substance** is a therapeutic drug or medicine, **or** a drug or medicine found in a sample within the established maximum detectable plasma or urine levels. There are nine (9) permissible drugs with restriction on the established maximum detectable plasma or urine levels. The nine (9) permissible medications, not to exceed maximum allowable levels, include: dexamethasone (Azium®), diclofenic acid (Surpass®), firocoxib (Equioxx®), flunixin (Banamine®), ketoprofen (Ketofen®), meclofenamic acid (Arquel®), methocarbamol (Robaxin®), naproxen (Naprosyn®), and phenylbutazone (Butazolidin®). See the table on pages 4-5, *Nine (9) Permissible Medications with Maximum Allowable Limit Restrictions - Dose and Time Recommendations.* 

## Therapeutic Use

The California Equine Medication Rule defines a **therapeutic drug or medicine** as a drug or medicine prescribed by a licensed veterinarian for the treatment of a diagnosed illness or injury. All drug and medication use must be for legitimate therapeutic purposes only. Administration of a prohibited substance for non-therapeutic purposes including but not limited to, clipping, shoping, shoping, or training, requires that the animal be kept out of competition until the prohibited substance is no longer detectable in equine blood or urine samples. See Page 9 for the list *Estimated Drug Detection Times*.

The California Equine Medication Rule allows use of modern therapeutic pharmacologic treatments for illness or injury, unless the treatment 1) involves use of a prohibited substance and the animal is not withdrawn from competition or sale following treatment, 2) results in the presence of more than one non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drug (NSAID) in the urine or plasma, or 3) results in the presence of the substance exceeding the maximum allowable level in blood or urine. The EMMP advises owners and trainers to contact the EMMP veterinarian to confirm if intended drug use for a particular purpose is therapeutic.

#### Herbal/Natural Products

Herbal and natural products have the potential to contain prohibited substances. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) approval is not necessary for manufacturers to produce commercial herbal products; therefore, herbal products are not scientifically tested or regulated as modern medications. When administering a product with an herbal or natural label to an equine, be aware that specific ingredients and quantitative analyses are not known for these products. Contrary to a manufacturer claim, detection of a prohibited substance (positive drug test) may occur after use of herbal products, such as valerian root, kava, chamomile, capsaicin, and devil's claw.

## Consistency with United States Equestrian Federation (USEF) Regulations

The Equine Medication Monitoring Program began an effort in 2011 to attain consistency with the United States Equestrian Federation (USEF), the national governing body for equestrian sports. Both organizations strive for programs to protect the health and welfare of the equine athlete. The EMMP and the USEF Equine Drugs and Medications Program collaborated to align the drug rules of the two programs. Effective January 1, 2014, the California EMMP permissible drug list and maximum permissible drug levels (micrograms/milliliter) in plasma became consistent with levels set forth by USEF.

## Nine (9) Permissible Medications with Maximum Allowable Limit Restrictions Dose and Time Recommendations

Medication Generic Name	Medication Trade Name	Maximum Dose per Pound of Body Weight	Last Administration Before Competition	Administration Method*	Permissible Plasma Level
Dexamethasone	Azium®	(10.0 mg/1000 lbs)	> 12 hours	Oral, IV, IM	0.0005 mcg/ml
	Azium®	0.5 mg/100 lbs (5.0 mg/1000 lbs)	> 6 hours	IV**	0.0005 mcg/ml
Diclofenic	Surpass®	5 inch ribbon, 1/2 inch thick/ 1 site	> 12 hours	Topical, 2 doses/ 12 hrs apart	0.005 mcg/ml
Firocoxib	Equioxx®	0.1 mg/kg (45.5 mg/1000 lbs)	> 12 hours	Oral	0.240 mcg/ml
Flunixin meglumine	Banamine®	0.5mg/lb (500 mg/1000 lbs)	> 12 hours	Oral, IV	1.0 mcg/ml
Ketoprofen	Ketofen®	1.0 mg/lb (1.0 gm/1000 lbs)	> 12 hours	IV	0.250 mcg/ml
Phenylbutazone	Butazolidin®	2.0 mg/lb (2.0 gm/1000 lbs)	> 12 hours	Oral, IV	15.0 mcg/ml
	Butazolidin®	1.0 mg/ lbs (1.0 gm/1000 lbs)	AM & PM Feed	Oral, 2 doses /12 hrs apart	15.0 mcg/ml
Meclofenamic Acid	Arquel®	0.5 mg/lb (500mg/ 1000lbs)	> 12 hours	Oral, 2 doses/ 12 hrs apart	2.5 mcg/ml
Methocarbamol	Robaxin®	5.0 mg/lb (5.0 gm/1000 lbs)	> 12 hours	Oral	0.5 mcg/ml
Naproxen	Naprosyn®	4.0 mg/lb (4.0gm/ 1000 lbs)	> 12 hours	Oral	40.0 mcg/ml

\*Single dose per 24 hours unless otherwise specified

\*\*Administration must be by a licensed veterinarian and a Drug Declaration filed

Please Note:

1. Use of only one NSAID is permitted at a time. When two NSAIDS are part of a therapeutic regimen, one must be discontinued 72 hours before competition

- 2. Caution when using compounded medications with varying administration routes not specified above.
- 3. This chart is a quick reference and is not a replacement for the detailed Drugs and Medications Guidelines document.

#### Common Prohibited Substances Under CDFA Code and Regulations

acepromazine acetonide (Vetalog) acetophenazine acetylpromazine albuterol (Salbutamol) alfentanil alprazolam aminophylline amitriptyline (Elavil) amphetamines (class of drugs) antihistamines (class of drugs) apomorphine arsenic atropine azaperone barbiturates (class of drugs) belladonna benperidol benzocaine (Anbesol, Capacol) benzodiazepines (class of drugs) betamethasone (Celestone) bethanechol chloride boldenone bromperidol bupivacaine (Marcaine) buprenorphine (Bruprenex) buspirone butorphanol (Torbugesic) caffeine camphor carisoprodol ("Soma-tabs") cannabinoids (synthetic

& natural) and other cannabimimetics (CBD) capsaicin carbamazepine carfentanil carprofen (Rimadyl) cetirizine (Zyrtec) chloral hydrate chloralbutanol chlorpheniramine chlorpromazine (Thorazine) chlorprothixene clenbuterol (Ventipulmin) clomipramine HCL (Anafranil) clonazepam (Klonopin) clonidine clozapine cocaine codeine corticosteroids (class of drugs) cycobenzaprine cyproheptadine dantrolene (Dantrium) detomidine (Dormosedan) devil's claw dexmedetomidine dextromethorphan dextromoramide dezocine diazepam (Vallum) dimenhydrinate (Dramamine) diphenhydramine dipremorphine dipyrone (metamizole)

doxapram doxepin droperidol dyphylline ephedrine epinephrine (adrenaline) ethchlorvynol ethyl alcohol etidocaine etodolac etomidate etorphine fentanyl fentiazac fluanisone fluoxetine (Prozac) fluphenazine (Prolixin) GABA gabapentin (Neurontin) glycopyrrolate guaifenesin (Mucinex) quanabenz (Wytensin) haloperidol hydrocodone hydromorphone hydroxyzine imipramine isoflupredone (Predef 2x) ketamine ketorolac levallorphan levorphanol lidocaine lithium lorazepam (Ativan) lorazepam LSD mabuterol mazindol

meclizine medetomidine (Domitor) meloxicam meperidine mepivacaine (Carbocaine V) meprylcaine methadone methamphetamine methaqualone methylphenidate (Ritalin) metomidate milenperone molindone moperone morphine nalbuphine nalmefene naloxone nandrolone nefopam nikethamide nitrazepam opiates orphenadrine citrate oxymetazoline (Afrin) oxymorphone paroxetine

pentazocine pentoxifylline phencyclidine phenibut phenobarbital phenylephrine phenylpropanolamine phenytoin piperacetazine pirenperone pramoxine (Caladryl) prazepam prilocaine procaine procaterol prochlorperazine procyclidine promazine promethazine propentofylline propiomazine propionylpromazine propoxyphene propranolol pyrilamine (Tri-Hist Granules) ractopamine (Paylean) reserpine (Serpasil) risperidone

romifidine (Sedivet) scopolamine sertraline spiperone stanozolol (Winstrol-V) sufentanil synephrine terbutaline sulfate terfenadine testosterone tetracaine THC theobromine theophylline tolmetin tramadol trazodone triamcinolone trifluperidol trihexyphenidyl tripelennamine Valerian root xylazine (Rompun, AnaSed) xylocaine zilpaterol zolpidem

# 12 Hour Injectable Rule

The California Equine Medication Rule prohibits the administration of any injectable substance to an equine within twelve (12) hours of competition, **except for a veterinarian administering the following:** 

- 1. A minimum of 1 liter of polyionic fluids per 100 pounds of body weight administered within 6-12 hours of competition. (NOTE: Fluids supplemented with concentrated electrolytes, such as magnesium, are prohibited.)
- 2. Antibiotics (NOTE: Procaine Penicillin is prohibited).
- 3. Dexamethasone injection, not to exceed 0.5 milligrams per 100 pounds, exclusively for the treatment of acute urticaria (hives) within 6-12 hours of competition.

The veterinarian must file a Drug Declaration Form (CA Form 76-027 or USEF Form) within 1 hour of administration of these injectable substances.

## Therapeutic Administration of Dexamethasone

The California Equine Medication Rule provides for the use of dexamethasone in equines only for therapeutic purposes, such as the treatment of an existing inflammatory condition related to illness or injury. Administration of products or preparations that contain dexamethasone as an active ingredient (i.e., Naquasone® bolus contains 5.0 milligrams of dexamethasone), should take into account the actual weight of the equine with the dosing guidelines on Page 4-5. See Page 9, *Estimated Detectable Timelines For Drugs.* 

The rule establishes a maximum detectable permissible level for dexamethasone in blood and urine. The maximum permissible plasma concentration of dexamethasone is 0.0005 micrograms per milliliter; the maximum permissible urine concentration is 0.09 micrograms per milliliter. The dose of dexamethasone should be accurately calculated for the actual weight of the animal before administration. The maximum allowable daily dose of dexamethasone is 10.0 milligrams. No more than 1.0 milligrams/100 pounds of body weight of Dexamethasone injectable solution or oral powder should be administered to the equine in a 24 hour period. Dexamethasone should not be administered for more than five (5) consecutive days.

## **Guidance for Administration of Dexamethasone:**

1. 12 Hour Injectable Administration: A dose of dexamethasone 1.0 mg (or less) per 100 pounds IV or IM is permitted 12 hours or MORE before competition.

2. 12 Hour Oral Administration: A dose of dexamethasone 1.0 mg (or less) per 100 pounds orally is permitted 12 hours or more before competition.

3. Emergency Use for Treatment of Hives (Urticaria): A dose of dexamethasone 0.5 mg (or less) per 100 pounds administered by a licensed veterinarian is permitted at 6 or more hours before competition for the treatment of hives (urticaria).

#### Note:

\*Corticosteroids, including but not limited to, prednisolone (i.e., Solu-Delta-Cortef®) are prohibited substances. Prohibited substances used for the therapeutic treatment of illness or injury must be withdrawn 24 hours before competition. A written Drug Declaration Form must be filed for the administration of a prohibited substance administered within the three (3) days before competition and within the five (5) days before public sale. The rule does not permit the use of corticosteroids for non-therapeutic purposes, such as to affect mood or enhance performance. The animal receiving the corticosteroid for non-therapeutic purposes must be kept out of competition until the substance is no longer detectable in the animal's blood or urine sample.

## Therapeutic Administration of Methocarbamol

The California Equine Medication Rule provides for the use of methocarbamol in equines only for legitimate therapeutic purposes. Before administration, the dose of methocarbamol should be accurately calculated for the actual weight of the animal. Methocarbamol administration should be no more than 5.0 mg per pound of body weight in twelve (12) hours. For a 1,000 pound animal, the maximum dose is 5 grams each 12 hours, which equals ten (10) 500 milligram tablets or 50 cc of methocarbamol injectable (100 milligrams per milliliter). No part of a methocarbamol dose should be administered during the 12 hours before competition. Feed medicated with methocarbamol must be consumed and/or removed from access 12 hours before competition. Methocarbamol should not be administered for more than five (5) consecutive days.

# Therapeutic Use of Non-Steroidal Anti-Inflammatory Drugs (NSAIDs)

The California Equine Medication Rule permits the use of non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs for the therapeutic treatment of equine illness or injury. Permitted NSAIDs include: diclofenac acid, firocoxib, phenylbutazone, flunixin, ketoprofen, meclofenamic acid and naproxen. The California Equine Medication Rule allows use of only one (1) NSAID. Detection of more than one NSAID in a plasma or urine sample collected from an equine in show or competition is a violation. When two NSAIDs are part of a therapeutic regimen, one NSAID must be discontinued at least 72 hours before competition.

The dose for any NSAID should be accurately calculated for the actual weight of the animal before administration. No part of any NSAID dose should be administered during the 12 hours before competition. Feed medicated with an NSAID must be consumed and/or removed from access at least 12 hours before competition.

## Guidance for the Administration of NSAIDs:

- Diclofenic Acid (Surpass®): The maximum dose of diclofenic acid cream is not more than 73 mg (1/2 inch wide 5 inch ribbon) every 12 hours to not more than one site. Application of diclofenic acid cream should not be in combination with any other topical preparations, including but not limited to, dimethyl sulfoxide (DMSO), nitrofurazone or liniments. Administration of diclofenic acid cream should not be for more than ten (10) consecutive days.
- 2. **Firocoxib (Equioxx®):** The maximum daily dose of firocoxib for a 1,000 pound equine is 45.5 mg, which equals four (4) marks on the medication dosing syringe supplied by the manufacturer. Firocoxib should not be administered for more than fourteen (14) consecutive days.
- Phenylbutazone (Butazolidin®): The maximum daily dose of phenylbutazone is 2.0 grams for a 1,000 pound equine, which equals two (2) 1.0 gram tablets or two (2) 1.0 gram units of paste or 10.0 cc of 200 mg / ml injectable solution. Half of the maximum daily dose (1.0 gm/1000 lbs) can be administered orally every 12 hours during a five (5) day treatment program. Phenylbutazone should not be administered for more than five (5) consecutive days.
- Flunixin (Banamine®): The maximum daily dose of flunixin is 500 milligrams for a 1,000 pound equine, which equals two (2) 250 milligram packets of granules or 500 milligrams of the oral paste or 10 cc of 50 mg/ml injectable solution. Flunixin should not be administered for more than five (5) consecutive days.
  - a. Emergency administration of flunixin (Banamine®) by a veterinarian is allowable for the treatment of colic or an opthalmic emergency provided there is a 24 hour withdrawal of the equine from competition after administration. The veterinarian must file a Drug Declaration Form (CA Form 76-027 or USEF equivalent form) with an event manager within 1 hour of drug administration. A finding of flunixin (Banamine®) and any other NSAID in the same plasma or urine sample collected 24 hours or more after documented emergency treatment of an equine is not a violation.
- Ketoprofen (Ketofen®): The maximum daily dose of ketoprofen is 1.0 gram for a 1,000 pound equine, which equals 10.0 cc of the 100 mg / ml of injectable solution. Ketoprofen should not be administered for more than five (5) consecutive days.
- Meclofenamic Acid (Arquel®): The maximum daily dose of meclofenamic acid is 0.5 gram for a 1,000 pound equine, which equals one (1) 500 milligram packet of granules. Meclofenamic acid should not be administered for more than five (5) consecutive days.

7. **Naproxen ( Naprosyn®):** The maximum daily dose of naproxen is 4.0 grams for a 1,000 pound equine, which equals eight (8) 500 milligram tablets. Naproxen should not be administered for more than five (5) consecutive days.

# Withdrawal of Equine from Event after Administration of Therapeutic Medication

An equine must be withdrawn from competition for a minimum of:

- 24 hours after therapeutic administration of a prohibited substance
- 45 days after the administration of reserpine and fluphenazine
- 90 days after the administration of an anabolic steroid.

An equine must be withdrawn from a public sale for a minimum of:

- 72 hours after therapeutic administration of a prohibited substance
- 72 hours after the administration of a therapeutic NSAID.

## Estimated Detectable Timelines for Drugs

The California Medication Rule allows for the therapeutic administration of drugs and medications. The California Equine Medication Rule does not permit use of a permissible or prohibited substance for other than therapeutic treatment of illness or injury. If a prohibited substance is administered for any other purpose, including but not limited to, clipping, shipping, or training, the animal must be kept out of competition until the prohibited substance is no longer detectable in the animal's blood or urine sample. To assist in determining an appropriate withdrawal time of an equine from competition after drug administration see Estimated Drug Detection Times (Page 9). Reliance upon this guidance does not guarantee compliance with the rules since individual equine response to drugs may vary. Depending upon the drug administration scenario (i.e., the formulation of the drug, the dose or doses of drug administered, the frequency of administration, the route of administration, animal weight, and health status of the animal), it is possible that substances and their metabolites may remain detectable in the blood or urine of the animal for a number of days following the last administration. At the time of this printing, this EMMP guidance is consistent with USEF guidance. Please note, implementation of improved testing procedures occur as more sensitive tests develop; therefore, reliance on this guidance information is not acceptable as a defense to a violation of the rule in the event of positive drug test.

Exhibitors, owners and trainers should consult the drug manufacturer, knowledgeable veterinarians or the Kenneth L. Maddy Equine Analytical Chemistry Laboratory for more specific advice on the administration of medications for non-therapeutic purposes.

#### **Estimated Drug Detection Times**

Anabolic Steroids	
Bolderone	82 days
Nandrolone	35 days
Stanozolol	47 days
Testosterone	30 days
Long Acting Tranquilizers and	Psychotropics
Fluphenazine and Reserp	vine 90 days
Shorter- Acting Tranquilizers a	and Sedatives
Acepromazine, Detomidin	e, Xylazine 7 days
<b>Procaine and Procaine Penicil</b>	lin 14 days
Local Anesthetics (other than	procaine)
Lidocaine, Mepivicaine	7 days
Methylprednisolone	14 days
Corticosteroids (Other than Me	ethylprednisolone)
Triamcinolone and betam	ethasone 7 days
Antihistamines	
Cyproheptadine and Pyril	amine 7 days
Albuterol	7 days

For additional guidelines on other drugs or medications, call 916-900-5039

## **Drug Declarations Forms**

A <u>Drug Declaration Form</u> (CDFA Form 76-027 or USEF equivalent form) is a legal document that an exhibitor or consignor must complete and file with an event manager for any equine at an event that has received a prohibited substance deemed by a licensed veterinarian as therapeutically necessary for the treatment of an illness or injury. An <u>owner/exhibitor/trainer</u> must complete and file a Drug Declaration Form for any equine that has received a <u>prohibited substance within the three (3) days before the day</u> <u>being shown</u>. A consignor must complete and file a Drug Declaration Form for any equine that has received a <u>prohibited substance or NSAID within the five (5) days</u> <u>before the day of the sale.</u>

The owner/exhibitor/trainer is to submit the completed Drug Declaration Form to the event manager within one (1) hour of administration of the product(s) at the event. If the product administration occurs at a time other than during equine event or sale hours, the owner/exhibitor/trainer is to submit the completed form within one (1) hour after an event manager returns to duty. An event manager must sign and date the Drug Declaration

Forms and submit them to the EMMP or USEF. Properly filed drug declarations, along with other relevant evidence, are given consideration when the chemical analysis of a sample obtained from an equine at an equine event or sale indicates the presence of a prohibited substance *or* more than one (1) NSAID *or* presence of a substance exceeding maximum allowable limits. EMMP will consider the information on the Drug Declaration Form and any other relevant evidence in determining if there is a rule violation.

## Sample Collection

EMMP field personnel receive assignments to randomly select equines competing in or consigned to a registered event for sample collection. <u>Any equine on an event</u> **premises is subject to random selection for sampling and testing.** Selections will be made as the horse exits the competition arena. The California Equine Medication Rule **does not** require collection of both blood and urine samples. Trained EMMP field personnel will collect urine samples from selected equines when an EMMP-approved California licensed veterinarian is not assigned to the event. When an EMMP-approved California licensed veterinarian is assigned to work with EMMP field staff at an event, **only** blood samples will be collected from selected equines. The field representative will notify selected individual of the type of sample to be collected. No other sample type will be permitted.

When an equine is selected, the owner, trainer, or designee must maintain control of the selected animal and take it to a location designated by the EMMP representative for sample collection. The EMMP field representative is not responsible for following or locating the selected horse. Failure to submit a horse for sample collection or to cooperate with EMMP personnel is a violation and subjects the responsible person to civil penalties and possible suspension.

Once in the designated location, the individual must remove themselves from the immediate proximity of the animal and avoid any activities distractive to the animal. Any activity causing delay of sample collection, including but not limited to, schooling or training, lengthy cooling out period, or bandaging, shall be considered "non-cooperative." Failure to cooperate with EMMP staff is a violation of the California law and subject to civil penalty of not less than \$100 and not more than \$10,000.

An EMMP priority is the safety of the public, the equine and EMMP representatives. An EMMP representative may officially release a selected equine without sample collection if the animal poses a safety risk. If a reasonable attempt to collect a sample is made without successful collection of a sufficient sample volume, EMMP field personnel will document the sample collection attempt and may officially release the selected equine.

Owners, trainers or designees have the option to serve as a witness during the time of sample collection, labeling, and sealing. The witness may sign the record of sample collection acknowledging observation of the collection procedure. A decision to not observe sample collection or to not sign the sample collection document, constitutes a waiver of any objections to the identification of the equine selected and the manner of sample collection, labeling and sealing. Failure to witness the collection procedure is not an acceptable defense for challenging the identity of the equine or sample collection procedures.

#### **Drug Detection Investigations and Violations**

EMMP personnel seal collected samples, maintain chain of custody and submit the samples for chemical analysis to the Kenneth L. Maddy Equine Analytical Chemistry Laboratory, Davis, CA. Laboratory reports detections of any substance in the sample. The chemical analysis of blood or urine is positive when a prohibited substance is found to be present in the sample or when a permissible substance is detected above the maximum allowable level. A positive chemical analysis shall be prima facie evidence that the substance was administered in some manner to the equine, whether intentionally or unintentionally, which caused it to be present in the sample at the time of competition or sale. According to the California Equine Medication Rule, the owner, trainer and consignor are responsible and accountable for the equine's condition at the time of sampling.

When the chemical analysis of a blood or urine specimen is positive for detection of a drug or medicine, an EMMP investigation begins. Under the rule, the EMMP staff may take into account relevant factors to determine an appropriate penalty, including but not limited to, the pharmacology of the prohibited substance, past violations of the responsible party, previous penalties in similar cases and reliance on the professional advice of a licensed veterinarian. A letter and Notice of Violation (NOV) and civil penalty assessment is sent to the owner/exhibitor/trainer or consignor of the equine with the positive sample. Relevant evidence or information about the detected substance may be submitted to the EMMP within a designated timeframe. Submitted information is given consideration by EMMP in determining if the violation should be rescinded.

Individuals may request an Informal Hearing to contest a Notice of Violation within thirty (30) days of issuance of the Notice of Violation (NOV). Informal Hearing requests must be submitted directly to the California Department of Food and Agriculture Legal Department, Office of Hearings and Appeals located at 1220 N Street Suite 400, Sacramento, CA 95814. CDFA Legal Counsel assigns a Hearing Officer to the case and coordinates the hearing. The Hearing Officer provides the EMMP and the owner, trainer or consignor the opportunity to present their case. The Hearing Officer has fourteen (14)

days to render a decision to release the case, to hold the violation in abeyance or to support the issuance of violation and civil penalty.

The type of drug detection and the background case investigation information are given consideration in the assessment of the civil penalty for violations.

- Civil penalties, of not less than \$100 and not more than \$10,000 for each offense, will apply to the owner, the trainer, or both the owner and trainer of an equine found to have a chemical analysis with a prohibited substance, more than one NSAID, or detection of a substance above the maximum permissible level in violation of the rule.
- The owner, trainer, or both owner and trainer may receive a suspension from all public shows and competitions for a period of not less than 90 days or more than one year for each violation.
- The owner of an equine found in violation of the rule may have to pay a penalty fee of \$50.00 to the public show or competition, where the animal was sampled.
- If an equine sample is found in violation of the rule, the event manager of the public show or competition where the animal was sampled, may require owner forfeiture of all prize money, sweepstakes, trophies, ribbons and points won, in accordance with event organization by-laws.
- The contract of sale on an equine may be declared void at the buyer's discretion, if a sample obtained from the animal at a registered public sale is found in violation of the California Equine Medication Rule.

# Veterinarian Responsibilities

When dealing with illness or injury of an equine at a public event in California, the veterinarian should administer or prescribe whatever is indicated for therapeutic treatment. The veterinarian administering or prescribing a prohibited substance should provide the owner, trainer or exhibitor guidance for withdrawal of the animal from competition to comply with the California Equine Medication Rule. Compliance with the California Equine Medication Rule. Compliance with the are thereby subject to the appropriate fines and penalties for violations.

# Regulatory Authority

# California Code of Regulations: Title 3 Division 2. Chapter 6. Sections 1280-1280.10

# § 1280. Definitions.

(a) The following definitions are supplemental to the definitions specified in Food and Agricultural Code section 24001 and are used specific to this chapter:

 (1) "Therapeutic drugs or medicines" means drugs or medicines prescribed for use by a licensed veterinarian for the treatment of a diagnosed illness or injury.
 (2) "Permissible drugs or medicines" means therapeutic drugs or medicines or drugs and medicines found in a sample within the established maximum detectable plasma or urine levels.

(3) "Prohibited substance" means:

(A) Permissible drugs or medicines that exceed established maximum detectable plasma or urine levels;

(B) Therapeutic drugs or medicines used without a prescription for use by a licensed veterinarian for treatment of illness or injury; or

(C) Any stimulant, depressant, tranquilizer, anesthetic, including local anesthetic, sedative, analgesic, corticosteroid excluding dexamethasone, anabolic steroid, or masking agent administered within 24 hours before competition or 72 hours before public sale.

(D) Any anabolic steroid administered within 90 days before competition or sale.

(E) Fluphenazine or reserpine administered within 45 days before competition or sale.

# § 1280.1. Registration.

(a) Every public equine event or public horse sale shall be registered with the Department pursuant to sections 24001, 24012 and 24015 of the Food and Agricultural Code.

(b) The event manager is the "person in charge of an event", including the person responsible for registering the event with the Department and the person responsible for the assessment, collection, and remittance fees, and is personally liable for fees and penalties, if any, owed to the Department.

(c) The following forms, which are incorporated by reference, are required to be completed and sent to the Department according to the instructions contained on the forms:

(1) Application to Register Equine Event/Assessment Report For Registered Event/Event Copy for Managers, Form 76-024A (Rev. 11/13), is required at least 60 days in advance of the event. A fee of \$8.00 per horse entered per public show or sale must be assessed in accordance with section 1280.2 of these regulations. The assessment report must be submitted to the Department and fees remitted within fifteen (15) days after the final day of the event. Event managers are responsible for notifying the Department of Food and Agriculture of event changes or cancellations.

(2) Law Prohibiting the Drugging of Horses/Saleyard Assessment Report, Form 76-025 (Rev. 11/2013), must be filed by the sale manager within fifteen (15) days of the end of the month being reported. The assessment fee is \$8.00 for each horse consigned for public sale pursuant to section 1280.2 of these regulations.
(3) Official Form For Declaration Of Drugs Administered, Form 76-027 (Rev. 11/13) or compatible document of the event-sanctioning organization, must be completed by a registered event exhibitor or consignor and filed with the event manager for any horse that has received a prohibited substance for therapeutic reasons within three (3) days before a show/competition or five (5) days before a sale.

(A) The owner/exhibitor/trainer is to submit the completed Form 76-027 (Rev. 11/13) or compatible document of the event-sanctioning organization to the event manager within one (1) hour if administration of the product(s) occurs at the event. If the product administration occurs at a time other than during show or sale hours, the owner or trainer should submit the completed form within one (1) hour after an event manager returns to duty.

# § 1280.2. Fees.

Beginning January 1, 2020, the applicable fee is \$8.00 per horse entered per event, except where a horse is entered in simultaneous multiple events held as single performances, the total applicable fee per horse shall be \$8.00.

# § 1280.7. Random Testing.

The Department will require random testing of horses exhibited or entered in any public horse show, horse competition, or public horse sale and shall designate the frequency and method of such testing by providing instructions to department personnel, approved California licensed veterinarians, and to laboratories performing analyses.

(b) An owner, trainer, both owner and trainer, or any person designated by the owner or trainer to maintain control of a horse randomly selected for examination by Department personnel shall:

(1) Take the selected horse without delay to a location determined by Department personnel for collection of the sample. Any activity causing delay of sample collection, including, but not limited to, schooling or training, lengthy cooling out period, or bandaging shall be considered "non-cooperative."

(2) Remove equipment from the horse.

(3) Remove himself or herself from the immediate proximity of the horse.

(4) Avoid activities distractive to the horse.

## § 1280.8. Therapeutic Drugs and Medicines.

(a) Therapeutic drugs or medicines administered for purposes other than under veterinary prescription for a diagnosed illness or injury are considered prohibited substances, and their use is a violation of this section.

(b) Horses administered therapeutic drugs or medicines for purposes other than under veterinary prescription for a diagnosed illness or injury shall not compete or be available for sale until the prohibited substance is no longer detectable in the urine or blood sample.

(c) A therapeutic drug or medicine is permitted when:

(1) A prohibited substance is administered more than 24 hours before competition or more than 72 hours before a public sale.

(2) The therapeutic drug or medicine, or metabolite of the therapeutic drug or medicine, does not interfere with the quantification of any permitted substance or detection of any prohibited substances as defined by Food and Agricultural Code section 24001(h).

(3) Only one (1) nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drug (NSAID) is given. When two NSAIDs are in a therapeutic regime, one must be discontinued at least 72 hours before competition.

(A) When administered by a licensed veterinarian for the emergency treatment of colic or an ophthalmic emergency, flunixin, in addition to one (1) other NSAID, may be acceptable if found in the plasma or urine sample of a horse provided:

(i) The licensed veterinarian who administered the substances properly signs and files a drug declaration with the event manager or designee within one (1) hour after administration of the substances or one (1) hour after the event manager or designee returns to duty if the administration occurs at a time outside competition hours; and

(ii) The horse is withdrawn from competition for 24 hours or from public sale for 72 hours.

(4) The detected level in the sample does not exceed the established maximum detectable plasma levels for the following drug or medicine:

(A) 15.0 micrograms per milliliter of phenylbutazone.

- (B) 1.0 micrograms per milliliter of flunixin.
- (C) 2.5 micrograms per milliliter of meclofenamic acid.
- (D) 40 micrograms per milliliter of naproxen.
- (E) 0.240 micrograms per milliliter of firocoxib.
- (F) 0.005 micrograms per milliliter of diclofenac.
- (G) 0.250 micrograms per milliliter of ketoprofen.
- (H) 0.0005 micrograms per milliliter of dexamethasone.

(I) 0.5 micrograms per milliliter of methocarbamol.

(5) The detected level in the sample does not exceed the established maximum detectable urine levels for the following drug or medicine:

(A) 0.09 micrograms per milliliter of dexamethasone.

(B) 350 micrograms per milliliter of methocarbamol.

(d) No injectable substance shall be given to a horse within 12 hours of competition except:

(1) A minimum of 1 liter of polyionic fluids per 100 pounds of body weight given therapeutically by a licensed veterinarian between 6-12 hours of competition. Therapeutic fluids with concentrated electrolytes, such as magnesium, are prohibited.

(2) Antibiotics, except procaine penicillin G, administered by a licensed veterinarian between 6-12 hours of competition.

(3) Dexamethasone, not to exceed 0.5 milligram per 100 pounds, administered by a licensed veterinarian between 6-12 hours of competition exclusively for the treatment of acute urticaria (hives). The total dose of dexamethasone administered within 24 hours shall not exceed 1.0 mg per 100lbs.

(4) The licensed veterinarian who administered the injectable substances in
(d)(1) through (3) above shall sign and file a drug declaration [Form 76-027(Rev. 11/13)] with the event manager or designee within one (1) hour after the administration of the injectable substance or one (1) hour after the event manager or designee returns to duty if the administration occurs at a time outside competition hours.

# § 1280.10. Violations.

(a) Failure to comply with the provisions of this Chapter or Chapter 8 (commencing with section 24000) of Division 11 of the Food and Agricultural Code constitutes a violation punishable by a fine of not less than one hundred dollars (\$100) or more than ten thousand dollars (\$10,000).

(b) The Department may act consistent with any other existing enforcement authority concurrently or at a later date unless otherwise prohibited. Existing remedies include, but are not limited to, the following:

(1) Denial, suspension, or revocation of a registration or other indicia of authority issued by the Department;

(2) Suspension of the owner, trainer and/or exhibitor from all competitions at any public horse show or competition for a period of not less than 90 days or more than one year for each violation; and

(3) Suspension of the event manager from the management of any public horse show or competition for a period of not less than 90 days or more than one year for each violation.

(c) The Department may impose civil or administrative penalties, including, but not limited to, the following:

(1) Referral to the appropriate Office of the Attorney General for criminal prosecution or other appropriate remedy; and

(2) Reimbursement to the Department for any costs incurred due to any violation of this Chapter or Chapter 8 (commencing with section 24000) of Division 11 of the Food and Agricultural Code.

## § 1280.11. Fines and Penalties.

(a) Failure to comply with the provisions of this Chapter or Chapter 8 (commencing with section 24000) of Division 11 of the Food and Agricultural Code, and any regulations adopted pursuant to them, constitutes a violation punishable by a fine of not less than one hundred dollars (\$100) or more than ten thousand dollars (\$10,000). The Department shall use the provisions of this section to determine the violation class and amount of the penalty.

(b) For the purposes of this section, violation classes are designated as "serious," "moderate," and "minor" to establish maximum penalty amounts. Repeat violations may result in an escalation of violation class. Serious and moderate violations may be downgraded based upon the evidence, the factual circumstances, mitigating factors and the cooperation of the violator.

(1) "Serious." Violations that cause significant performance enhancement of the equine or deceptive business practices that include the second offense, third offense, and any subsequent offenses for failure to submit a horse for sample collection; the first offense, second offense, and any subsequent offenses for detection of a non-therapeutic prohibited substance; the second offense and any subsequent offenses for detection of therapeutic prohibited substances; the third offense and any subsequent offenses for detection of therapeutic prohibited substances; the third offense and any subsequent offenses for detection of two Nonsteroidal Anti-inflammatory Drugs (NSAIDs) in a sample; the third offense and any subsequent offenses for detection of a permissible substance over the maximum detectable plasma level; and the second offense, third offense, and any subsequent offenses for administration of a prohibited injectable substance within 12 hours of competition. Serious violations also include the third offense and any subsequent offenses for failure of an event manager to register an event at least 60 days in advance of the event and the third offense and any subsequent offenses for failure of an event manager to submit fees within 15 days after the final day of the event.

(A) The suspended individual is not permitted entry to the grounds of any registered event in the state of California during the suspension period. Event managers may not permit participation of a suspended individual in the registered event and event managers must immediately notify the Department of a suspended individual's presence on the event grounds. Event managers who permit participation of a suspended individual are subject to a violation and civil penalty in accordance with Food and Agricultural Code sections 24007 and 24015(c).

(2) "Moderate." Violations in which there is a potential for intermediate level of competitive harm that include the first offense for failure to submit a horse for sample collection; the first offense for detection of a therapeutic prohibited substance; the second offense for detection of a permissible substance over the maximum detectable plasma level; the second offense for detection of two Nonsteroidal Anti-inflammatory Drugs (NSAIDs) in a sample; and the first offense for administration of a prohibited injectable substance within 12 hours of competition. Moderate violations also include the second offense for failure of an event manager to register an event

at least 60 days in advance of the event and the second offense for failure of an event manager to submit fees within 15 days after the final day of the event. (3) "Minor." Violations that are unintentional and have minimal performance enhancing action in the competition, including the first offense for detection of a permissible substance over the maximum detectable plasma level and the first offense for detection of two Nonsteroidal Anti-inflammatory Drugs (NSAIDs) in a sample. Minor violations also include the first offense for failure of an event manager to register an event at least 60 days in advance of the event and the first offense for failure of an event manager to submit fees within 15 days after the final day of the event. The Department may issue a notice of warning for minor violations.

(c) Table "A" Equine Medication Monitoring Program Violations Matrix is to be used to establish the level of severity of a particular violation and the corresponding penalty range for "serious," "moderate," and "minor" violation classes. (Email <u>EMMP@cdfa.ca.gov</u> or call 916-900-5039 to request Table "A" EMMP Violation Matrix)

#### For Drugs and Medications Information:

Equine Medication Monitoring Program Dr. Emily Nietrzeba EMMP Veterinarian 1500 W. El Camino Ave #215 Sacramento, CA 95833 phone 916-900-5039 fax 916-900-5338

emmp@cdfa.ca.gov http://www.cdfa.ca.gov/ahfss/Animal\_Health/emmp/

#### HISTORY

The California equine industry sponsored legislation in 1971 to prevent misuse of drugs and medications in equines (horses, ponies, mules and donkeys) in public shows and sales. The resulting law, found in the Food and Agricultural Code (FAC) Sections 24000-24018, is known as the California Equine Medication Rule. The California Department of Food and Agriculture manages the Equine Medication Monitoring Program (EMMP), and monitors equines in public shows, competitions and sales through random collection of blood or urine for chemical analysis. To fund the EMMP, event managers collect a fee of \$8.00 for being each equine entered in а show/competition or being consigned to a sale.

#### EXHIBITOR AND CONSIGNOR RESPONSIBILITIES

An exhibitor or consignor for a registered equine event **mus**t:

- Comply with the California Equine Medication Rule
- File an accurate and complete Drug Declaration Form with the event manager when necessary
- Cooperate with EMMP personnel

#### CALIFORNIA EQUINE MEDICATION RULE

According to the California Equine Medication Rule, a therapeutic drug or medicine is a substance prescribed by a licensed veterinarian for the treatment of a diagnosed illness or injury. The rule classifies therapeutic drugs or medicines as prohibited or permitted.

#### **PROHIBITED SUBSTANCES**

Prohibited affect substances that performance or disposition of equines include stimulants. depressants, tranquilizers, anesthetics, local anesthetics, sedative analgesics, anabolic steroids, corticosteroids, and soring agents. Use of therapeutic drugs or medicines other than under veterinary prescription for a diagnosed illness or injury is prohibited. Prohibited drugs must be withdrawn 24 hours before competition or 72 hours before sale. If a prohibited substance is administered for any nontherapeutic purposes, the animal must be withdrawn from competition until the substance is no longer detectable in an equine's blood or urine sample. An equine that has been given a prohibited substance or NSAID cannot be sold at a public sale for a minimum of 72 hours after administration of the prohibited substance or NSAID.

The California Equine Medication Rule prohibits the administration of any injectable substance into an equine within 12 hours of competition, except for a veterinarian administering the following:

- Polyionic fluids given within 6-12 hours of competition. (Note: Fluids with concentrated electrolytes are prohibited)
- Antibiotics (NOTE: Procaine Penicillin is prohibited).
- Dexamethasone injection exclusively for the treatment of acute urticaria (hives) within 6-12 hours of competition.

The veterinarian must file a Drug Declaration Form within one (1) hour of administration of these injectable substances.

#### **PERMITTED SUBSTANCES**

It is acceptable to administer therapeutic drugs and medicines to equines before and during shows and competitions provided the dose of drug does not exceed maximum allowable levels. The rule allows the use of only one nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drug (NSAID) in equines. Detection of more than one NSAID in a plasma or urine sample collected from an equine in show or competition is a violation. When two NSAIDs are part of a veterinary therapeutic regime, administration of one of the NSAIDs must stop at least 72 hours before competition. All NSAIDs must be stopped at least 72 hours before a sale.

Emergency administration of Flunixin (Banamine®) by a veterinarian is allowable for the treatment of colic or an ophthalmic emergency provided there is a 24-hour withdrawal of the equine from competition after administration. A Drug Declaration Form must be completed by the filed with veterinarian and an event manager within (1)hour of one administration.

The nine **permitted** drugs, not to exceed maximum allowable levels, are: Dexamethasone (Azium®), Diclofenic Acid (Surpass®), Firocoxib (Equioxx®), Flunixin (Banamine®), Ketoprofen (Ketofen®), Meclofenamic Acid (Arquel®), Methocarbamol (Robaxin®), Naproxen (Naprosyn®), Phenylbutazone (Butazolidin®)

#### DRUG DECLARATION FORMS

A Drug Declaration Form (CDFA Form 76-027 or USEF Drugs and Medication Report Form) must be completed and filed with an event manager for any equine that has received a prohibited substance. An **owner/ trainer** must complete and file a Drug Declaration for any equine that has received a prohibited substance within the three (3) days before the day being shown or within the five (5) days before the day of the sale (NSAIDs must also be claimed for sales).

#### SAMPLE COLLECTION

EMMP field personnel randomly select equines competing in or consigned to an event for sample collection. They collect urine samples from selected equines unless a licensed veterinarian is assigned to work with them, and then blood samples are collected. When an equine is selected, the owner or trainer must take it to a location designated by the EMMP representative for sample collection. Once in the designated location, the individual must remove themselves from the immediate proximity of the animal and avoid any activities distractive to the equine. It is the responsible person's responsibility to submit the selected horse for sample collection.

An EMMP representative may release a selected equine without sample collection if a reasonable attempt to collect a sample is made and the animal poses a safety risk.

Failure to submit a horse for sample collection or to cooperate with EMMP personnel is a violation and subjects the responsible person to civil penalties and possible suspension.

#### DRUG DETECTION INVESTIGATIONS

EMMP personnel seal collected samples and submit the samples for chemical analysis to the Maddy Equine Analytical Chemistry Laboratory. When the chemical analysis of a specimen is positive for detection of a drug or medicine, an EMMP investigation begins. The owner/trainer or consignor of the equine with a positive sample will receive a letter and Notice of Violation. The assessment of the civil penalty considers the type of drug detected.

- Civil penalties of \$100-\$10,000 for each offense will apply to the owner and/or trainer of an equine found to have a chemical analysis with a prohibited substance or permissible substance in violation of the rule.
- The owner and/or trainer may receive a suspension from all public shows and competitions for a period of not less than 90 days or more than one year for each violation.
- The owner of an equine found in violation of the rule may have to pay a penalty fee of \$50 to the public show or competition.



Animal Health and Food Safety Services

# Equine Medication Monitoring Program



Information for Exhibitors and Consignors

CDFA EMMP Veterinarian (916) 900-5039 <u>EMMP@cdfa.ca.gov</u> <u>http://www.cdfa.ca.gov/ahfss/Animal</u> <u>Health/emmp/</u>

For additional information:

Dr. Emily Nietrzeba

January 2021

# Equine Medication Monitoring Program (EMMP) Event Manager Newsletter

# Inside this Issue:

- EMMP Reminders and Updates
- Equine Health Updates
- Disease Incidents in California

# **EMMP** Reminders and Updates

# COVID-19 Impact

The equine industry faced major challenges during the year 2020 due to the impact of COVID-19. The Equine Medication Monitoring Program (EMMP) registers equine events of twenty-seven (27) different disciplines across California. The past year a drastic decrease in events being held was noticed. In 2016-2019, the average number of events registered and held under EMMP was 1,451 and 1,189 respectively with a cancellation rate of 18%. In 2020 1,075 equine events were registered and only 520 held with a cancellation rate of 51%. During 2016-2019, an average of 103,000 horses per year were registered for sale or competition while in 2020, approximately 54,000 horses were registered instead indicating a 48% decrease.

Please remember that event managers are required to notify EMMP staff of equine event cancellations and changes to the event date, time or location via email to <u>emmp@cdfa.ca.gov</u> or phone call to 916-900-5045.

## New EMMP Program Veterinarian

EMMP would like to welcome Dr. Emily Nietrzeba as the new EMMP program veterinarian. Dr. Nietrzeba joined the California Department of Food and Agriculture (CDFA) Animal Health Branch (AHB) in August 2019 and assisted the equine health team in several equine herpesvirus-1 (EHV-1) incidents. She has also vast experience working with many other species. In June 2020, Dr. Nietrzeba became the new equine veterinarian for the AHB and EMMP program veterinarian. Dr. Nietrzeba is stepping into Dr. Katie Flynn shoes, who has accepted the position of the new Kentucky State Veterinarian. We are grateful for Dr. Flynn's years of leadership and guidance for the EMMP and are thankful for her expertise she has shared with the equine community.

# **Drug Testing Fee**

As of January 1, 2020, the California drug testing fee increased from \$5 to \$8 per horse entered into competition or consigned to a public sale. Event managers are responsible for collecting the fee for each horse at an equine competition or sale. The testing fee is being maintained at \$8 for 2021.

If you have any questions regarding the EMMP fees, please contact CDFA EMMP at <a href="mailto:emmp@cdfa.ca.gov">emmp@cdfa.ca.gov</a> or 916-900-5002.

CDFA EMMP 1500 W. El Camino #215 Sacramento, CA 95833 (916) 900-5002 emmp@cdfa.ca.gov January 2021

# **EMMP** Reminders and Updates (continued)

#### **Responsibilities of an Event Manager**

Reminder the following are the responsibilities of an event manger:

- 1. Filing an Application to Register Equine Event (Form 76-024A) with the EMMP at least <u>sixty</u> (60) days before the event is to begin.
- 2. Collecting the fee of \$8.00 for each horse being entered or consigned to the event.
- 3. Remitting the fees collected and submitting the Assessment Report for Registered Event (Form 76-024A) to EMMP within fifteen (15) days after the final day of the event.
- 4. Retaining event records for two (2) years after the final day of the event. To enable verification of the collection and remittance of appropriate event fees, event records must be made available, if requested, for inspection and photocopying by EMMP staff.
- 5. Collecting, signing, and promptly submitting exhibitor or consignor Drug Declaration Forms (CA Form 76-027 or USEF Medication Report Form) to the EMMP.

Event managers are required to submit fees within 15 days of the final day of the event. A civil penalty of 10% of the amount due plus 1.5% interest/month on the unpaid balance calculated from the date of the event will be levied on an event manager who fails to remit collected fees within fifteen (15) days of the final day of the event.

# **Equine Health Updates**

#### Extended Equine Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (EECVI) Available for California Horses

As a reminder, starting January 1, 2020, California veterinarians can now issue Extended Equine Certificates of Veterinary Inspection (EECVIs) for equines using GlobalVetLINK (GVL). This electronic movement document requires a current Equine Infectious Anemia (Coggins) test and the EECVI is valid for up to six (6) months. This EECVI may be a favorable option for horses or other equines that frequently travel interstate, such as for shows or ranch work. Owners are required to log every trip movement to obtain a travel permit and must verify the health of the horses prior to travel. To utilize this service and create an EECVI, veterinarians must be signed up with GVL. To learn more about EECVIs and see which other states are participating in the program, visit <u>https://www.globalvetlink.com/eecvi/</u>.

## EDCC- Great Resource for Event Managers

The Equine Disease Communication Center (EDCC) is a communication system designed to seek and report real time information on equine disease incidents. This resource allows event managers to know what diseases are in the area of the show or in the area where event horses are originating. In addition to disease alerts, there are resources such as disease fact sheets and biosecurity resources. For more information visit <a href="http://www.equinediseasecc.org/">http://www.equinediseasecc.org/</a>.



	Number of Cases of Reportable Equine Diseases by Year						
Year	Equine Infectious Anemia (EIA)	Piroplasmosis	EIA/EP Dual Infection		Equine Herpes Virus (EHV- 1)	West Nile Virus (WNV)	Totals
2014	26	14	8	0	3	15	66
2015	3	0	0	0	5	19	27
2016	0	0	0	0	20	21	41
2017	1	0	0	0	5	21	27
2018	0	0	0	0	13	11	22
2019	0	0	0	0	17	15	32
2020	1	0	0	0	23	20	44
TOTALS	31	14	8	0	86	122	259

# **Disease Incidents in California**



#### West Nile Virus Update

For 2020, a total of twenty (20) horses were confirmed positive for West Nile Virus in California. The positive horses were located in Amador (2), Butte (1), Glenn (1), Kings (1), Merced (1), Modoc (1), Nevada (1), Riverside (2), Sacramento (1), San Bernardino (1), San Joaquin (4), Solano (1) and Stanislaus (3) counties. Fourteen (14) horses were unvaccinated, four (4) horses had unknown vaccine history and two (2) were vaccinated. Fifteen (15) horses are alive, one (1) horse died, and four (4) horses were euthanized. Horses ranged in age from one (1) to twenty (20) years, with both genders and multiple breeds represented.

West Nile Virus (WNV) is a mosquito-borne virus that is maintained in the wild bird population and is spread between birds by mosquitos. Birds are considered the natural reservoir for WNV since high levels of virus circulate in their bloodstream. Mosquitos acquire WNV in blood

meals from infected birds and pass it on to other birds, animals, and people. Mosquitos that feed on an infected horse or human have not demonstrated the ability to ingest enough of the virus to transmit it to other animals or humans; therefore, horses and humans are considered "dead end hosts."

West Nile Virus may cause a wide range of clinical illness ranging from mild" flu-like" signs to encephalitis (inflammation of the brain) that may be fatal to both humans and horses. While horses are susceptible to WNV infection, many infected horses do not develop clinical illness and recover uneventfully. WNV vaccination is considered a core vaccination by the American Association of Equine Practitioners and an essential standard of care for all horses in North America.

# **Disease Incidents in California (continued)**

#### Equine Herpesvirus-1 (EHV-1) Update

In 2020, there were several Equine Herpes Myeloencephalopathy (EHM) incidents. The first incident was in Santa Barbara county in January 2020 when a 21-year-old Quarter horse gelding displayed a fever and neurologic signs and was confirmed positive for Equine Herpesvirus-1 (EHV-1). The gelding was euthanized due to severity of clinical signs. The two exposed horses on the gelding's home premise were quarantined and both tested positive for EHV-1. One of those two horses became neurologic and the other was only febrile. Both horses recovered and the quarantine was released after twenty-seven (27) days.

The second incident was in Alameda county in March 2020 when a 14-year-old pony mare displayed neurologic signs and was confirmed positive for EHV-1. The mare was isolated and quarantined at a veterinary hospital and forty-four (44) exposed horses on the home premise were quarantined. Ten (10) additional horses on the premise became febrile and tested positive for EHV-1, however there were no additional neurologic horses. The quarantine lasted fifty-eight (58) days as there was very limited personal protective equipment (PPE) available due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The third incident was in Sonoma county in April 2020 when a 10-year-old Warmblood mare displayed neurologic signs, was sent to an outside veterinary hospital for treatment and confirmed positive for EHV-1. The home premise of forty-eight (48) exposed horses were quarantined, there were no additional cases and quarantine was released after fourteen (14) days.

The fourth incident was in Imperial county in August 2020 when a one-year-old Quarter Horse filly was euthanized due to severe neurologic signs and was confirmed positive for Equine herpesvirus-4 (EHV-4). Three (3) horses on the home premise were quarantined and one additional horse became febrile and tested positive for EHV-4. The quarantine was released after twenty-five (25) days.

The fifth incident was in El Dorado county in August 2020. A 17-year-old Thoroughbred gelding with fever and neurologic signs was euthanized and confirmed positive for EHV-1. The home premise had ten (10) additional horses put under quarantine and there were no additional cases, so quarantine was released after fourteen (14) days.

The sixth incident was in Sonoma county in October 2020 when a 30-year-old Warmblood gelding displaying fever and neurologic signs was confirmed positive for EHV-1. The gelding was quarantined in the isolation barn on the premise where it was temporarily residing after evacuating from a nearby fire in the weeks prior. One additional case, a 30-year-old Warmblood mare, displayed mild respiratory signs and possible mild neurological signs was also confirmed positive for EHV-1. No other cases were confirmed, and the quarantine was released after fourteen (14) days.

The seventh incident was in November 2020 in Los Angeles County when a 14-year-old Saddlebred gelding was displaying neurologic signs and confirmed positive for EHV-1. A quarantine was issued for sixty-six (66) additional horses on the home premise and one additional horse on the premise became febrile and tested positive for EHV-1. No additional cases were confirmed, and the quarantine was released after twenty-eight (28) days.

# **Disease Incidents in California (continued)**

The final EHV-1 incident of 2020 was in Ventura county in December 2020. A 13-year-old Quarter horse mare in Ventura County displayed fever and neurological signs and was confirmed positive for EHV-1. The mare was quarantined and isolated at a veterinary hospital where she was receiving supportive care and the home premises of thirty-two (32) potentially exposed horses were quarantined. The home premises' quarantine was released after fourteen (14) days with no additional cases and the quarantine on the index case at the veterinary hospital was released after twenty (20) days after the index mare received two (2) negative tests seven (7) days apart. For more information regarding EHV-1, see

https://www.cdfa.ca.gov/ahfss/animal\_health/equine\_herpes\_virus.html.





# STATE OF CALIFORNIA - DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE ECONOMIC AND FISCAL IMPACT STATEMENT (REGULATIONS AND ORDERS) STD. 399 (Rev. 10/2019)

# **ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT**

DEPARTMENT NAME	CONTACT PERSON	EMAIL ADDRESS	TELEPHONE NUMBER	
Food and Agriculture	Angelina Velez	angelina.velez@cdfa.ca.gov	916-718-8284	
DESCRIPTIVE TITLE FROM NOTICE REGISTER OR FORM 400	1		NOTICE FILE NUMBER	
EMMP Fee Increase			Ζ	
A. ESTIMATED PRIVATE SECTOR COST IMPA	<b>CTS</b> Include calculations and as	sumptions in the rulemaking record		
1. Check the appropriate box(es) below to indicat				
a. Impacts business and/or employees	e. Imposes report			
b. Impacts small businesses		ptive instead of performance		
C. Impacts jobs or occupations	$\bigotimes$ g. Impacts individ			
d. Impacts California competitiveness	h. None of the ab	ove (Explain below):		
		lete this Economic Impact Statement. al Impact Statement as appropriate.		
U U	s checkeu, compiete the Fisci	u Impuci Statement us uppropriate.		
2. The	estimates that the econ	omic impact of this regulation (which includes t	he fiscal impact) is:	
(Agency/Department)				
🔀 Below \$10 million				
Between \$10 and \$25 million				
Between \$25 and \$50 million				
 Over \$50 million [If the economic impact]	is over \$50 million, agencies are req	uired to submit a <u>Standardized Regulatory Impact</u>	<u>Assessment</u>	
as specified in Governme	ent Code Section 11346.3(c)]			
	0			
3. Enter the total number of businesses impacted	: 0			
Describe the types of businesses (Include nong	vrofitc).			
Describe the types of businesses (include non	nonts):			
Enter the number or percentage of total businesses impacted that are small businesses	0			
businesses impacted that are small businesses	<u> </u>			
4. Enter the number of businesses that will be cre	ated: 0 el	iminated: 0		
Explain: This proposal does that affec	t businesses, only persons	choosing to participate in equine eve	ents	
5. Indicate the geographic extent of impacts:	Statewide			
L	Local or regional (List areas):			
6. Enter the number of jobs created: 0	and eliminated: 00			
Describe the types of jobs or occupations impa	acted: This proposal does not	ot affect the creation/elimination of j	obs	
<ol><li>Will the regulation affect the ability of California other states by making it more costly to produc</li></ol>		YES 🔀 NO		
		YES 🗙 NO		
If YES, explain briefly:				

#### STATE OF CALIFORNIA — DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE ECONOMIC AND FISCAL IMPACT STATEMENT (REGULATIONS AND ORDERS) STD. 399 (Rev. 10/2019)

ECONOMIC IMPA	CT STATEMEN	Γ (CONTINUED)
---------------	-------------	---------------

-			,
B	<b>B. ESTIMATED COSTS</b> Include calculations and assumptions in t	he rulemaking record.	
1	1. What are the total statewide dollar costs that businesses and indi	viduals may incur to comply with this regu	Ilation over its lifetime? \$
	a. Initial costs for a small business: $0$	Annual ongoing costs: \$ 0	Years:
	b. Initial costs for a typical business: \$0	Annual ongoing costs: \$ 0	
	c. Initial costs for an individual: \$0	Annual ongoing costs: \$ 0	
	d. Describe other economic costs that may occur: The Dept i	is not aware of any other econon	nic costs that may occur.
2	2. If multiple industries are impacted, enter the share of total costs	for each industry:	
3	<ol> <li>If the regulation imposes reporting requirements, enter the annu- Include the dollar costs to do programming, record keeping, reportin</li> </ol>		
4.	4. Will this regulation directly impact housing costs? 🔲 YES	× NO	
	lf YES, enter t	:he annual dollar cost per housing unit:	
		Number of units:	
5.	5. Are there comparable Federal regulations?	× NO	
	Explain the need for State regulation given the existence or absen	nce of Federal regulations:	
	Enter any additional costs to businesses and/or individuals that m	ay be due to State - Federal differences: \$	
C.	<b>C. ESTIMATED BENEFITS</b> Estimation of the dollar value of benefi	its is not specifically required by rulemakin	g law, but encouraged.
1	<ol> <li>Briefly summarize the benefits of the regulation, which may inclu health and welfare of California residents, worker safety and the S</li> </ol>	de among others, the State's environment: <u>The Dept is not</u>	aware of any specific benefits this
	proposal will have on the health of California resid	lents, worker safety, or the State'	s environment. The Dept believes the
	proposal benefits the welfare of California residen	ts by protecting the economic h	ealth of the affected equine industry.
2.	2. Are the benefits the result of: $\overline{ imes}$ specific statutory requirements	s, or 📃 goals developed by the agency	based on broad statutory authority?
	Explain: The Dept is increasing equine event entry fe	e to sufficiently fund the EMMP	program section per FAC 24012
3	3. What are the total statewide benefits from this regulation over its	i lifetime? \$ 0	
4	4. Briefly describe any expansion of businesses currently doing busi	ness within the State of California that wo	uld result from this regulation:
	This proposal will not expand any businesses in th	nis State	
D	<b>D. ALTERNATIVES TO THE REGULATION</b> Include calculations c specifically required by rulemaking law, but encouraged.	and assumptions in the rulemaking record	l. Estimation of the dollar value of benefits is not
1	1. List alternatives considered and describe them below. If no altern	natives were considered, explain why not:	The alternatives available to the
	Department were to seek a fee increase measurab	bly less than the proposed \$6.00 (	or decrease the fee.

#### STATE OF CALIFORNIA – DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE ECONOMIC AND FISCAL IMPACT STATEMENT (REGULATIONS AND ORDERS) STD. 399 (Rev. 10/2019)

ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT (	(CONTINUED)
-----------------------------	-------------

2. Summarize the total statewide costs and benefits fr	om this regulation and each alterna	tive considered:	
Regulation: Benefit: \$0	Cost: \$ 0		
Alternative 1: Benefit: \$	Cost: \$		
Alternative 2: Benefit: \$	Cost: \$		
3. Briefly discuss any quantification issues that are releved of estimated costs and benefits for this regulation	n or alternatives: No quant	fication issues relevant to a	comparison of estimated
costs and benefits exist for this regulati	on or its alternatives.		
<ol> <li>Rulemaking law requires agencies to consider per regulation mandates the use of specific technolog actions or procedures. Were performance standar</li> </ol>	gies or equipment, or prescribes s		
Explain: This regulation does not mandat	te the use of specific techno	ologies or equipment.	
E. MAJOR REGULATIONS Include calculations and	l assumptions in the rulemaking r	pcord	
		oards, offices and departments	are required to
		section 57005). Otherwise, skip	
1. Will the estimated costs of this regulation to Califor	nia business enterprises <b>exceed \$1</b>	0 million? 🗌 YES 🛛 🗙 NO	
	If YES, complete E2. If NO, skip to I		
2. Briefly describe each alternative, or combination of	alternatives, for which a cost-effect	iveness analysis was performed:	
Alternative 1:			
Alternative 2:			
(Attach additional pages for other alternatives)			
2. For the requilibility and each alternative just description			
<ol> <li>For the regulation, and each alternative just describ Regulation: Total Cost \$</li> </ol>			
Alternative 1: Total Cost \$		: \$	
Alternative 2: Total Cost \$			
<ol> <li>4. Will the regulation subject to OAL review have an es exceeding \$50 million in any 12-month period betv after the major regulation is estimated to be fully in</li> </ol>	timated economic impact to busin ween the date the major regulation	ess enterprises and individuals locat	— ted in or doing business in California
YES 🔀 NO			
If YES, agencies are required to submit a <u>Standardizec</u> Government Code Section 11346.3(c) and to include t			
5. Briefly describe the following:			
The increase or decrease of investment in the State		N/A	
The incentive for innovation in products, materials	or processes:	N/A	
The benefits of the regulations, including, but not I residents, worker safety, and the state's environments	nt and quality of life, among any ot	her benefits identified by the agenc	

aware of any benefits this proposal will have on the health of CA residents, worker safety, or the State's environment.

# STATE OF CALIFORNIA - DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE ECONOMIC AND FISCAL IMPACT STATEMENT (REGULATIONS AND ORDERS) STD. 399 (Rev. 10/2019)

\_

## FISCAL IMPACT STATEMENT

	FISCAL EFFECT ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT Indicate urrent year and two subsequent Fiscal Years.	appropriate boxes 1	through 6 and attach calculations	and assumptions of fiscal impact for the	
	1. Additional expenditures in the current State Fiscal Y (Pursuant to Section 6 of Article XIII B of the Californ				
	\$				
	a. Funding provided in				
	Budget Act of	or Chapter	, Statutes of		
	b. Funding will be requested in the Governor's Bu	udget Act of			
		Fiscal Year:			
	2. Additional expenditures in the current State Fiscal Y (Pursuant to Section 6 of Article XIII B of the Californ				
	\$ Check reason(s) this regulation is not reimbursable and p	provide the appropriate	e information:		
	a. Implements the Federal mandate contained in				_
	b. Implements the court mandate set forth by the	<u></u>		Court.	
	Case of:		VS		-
	c. Implements a mandate of the people of this Sta	ate expressed in their	approval of Proposition No.		
	Date of Election:				
	d. Issued only in response to a specific request fro	om affected local entit	y(s).		
	Local entity(s) affected:				_
					_
	e. Will be fully financed from the fees, revenue, et	c. from:			
	Authorized by Section:		of the	Code;	
	f. Provides for savings to each affected unit of loc	al government which	will, at a minimum, offset any add	itional costs to each;	
	g. Creates, eliminates, or changes the penalty for	a new crime or infract	ion contained in		
	3. Annual Savings. (approximate)				
	\$				
	4. No additional costs or savings. This regulation makes	only technical, non-su	bstantive or clarifying changes to cu	rrent law regulations.	
$\times$	5. No fiscal impact exists. This regulation does not affect	t any local entity or pro	ogram.		
	6. Other. Explain				
					-

#### STATE OF CALIFORNIA – DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE ECONOMIC AND FISCAL IMPACT STATEMENT (REGULATIONS AND ORDERS) STD. 399 (Rev. 10/2019)

## FISCAL IMPACT STATEMENT (CONTINUED)

<b>B. FISCAL EFFECT ON STATE GOVERNMENT</b> In year and two subsequent Fiscal Years.	ndicate appropriate boxes 1 through 4 and attach calculo	tions and assumptions of fiscal impact for the current
1. Additional expenditures in the current State	Fiscal Year. (Approximate)	
\$		
It is anticipated that State agencies will:	—	
a. Absorb these additional costs within the	eir existing budgets and resources.	
b. Increase the currently authorized budge	et level for theFiscal Year	
2. Savings in the current State Fiscal Year. (App	proximate)	
\$	_	
$\boxed{\times}$ 3. No fiscal impact exists. This regulation does n	ot affect any State agency or program.	
4. Other. Explain		
<b>C. FISCAL EFFECT ON FEDERAL FUNDING OF S</b> impact for the current year and two subsequent	<b>TATE PROGRAMS</b> Indicate appropriate boxes 1 throug	h 4 and attach calculations and assumptions of fiscal
1. Additional expenditures in the current State	Fiscal Year. (Approximate)	
\$	_	
2. Savings in the current State Fiscal Year. (App	proximate)	
\$	_	
$\boxtimes$ 3. No fiscal impact exists. This regulation does n	ot affect any federally funded State agency or program.	
4. Other. Explain		
FISCAL OFFICER SIGNATURE		DATE
Nathan Johnson	Digitally signed by Nathan Johnson Date: 2021.10.08 14:38:23 -07'00'	10-8-2021
	pleted the STD. 399 according to the instructions in boards, offices, or departments not under an Agen	
AGENCY SECRETARY		DATE
Annette Jones, D.V.M.	Digitally signed by Annette Jones, D.V.M. Date: 2021.10.12 10:34:57 -07'00'	October 12, 2021
Finance approval and signature is required w	hen SAM sections 6601-6616 require completion of	f Fiscal Impact Statement in the STD. 399.
DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE PROGRAM BUDGET M	ANAGER	DATE
A		