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Bovine trichomonosis is a highly contagious venereal disease 
of cattle caused by the protozoa Tritrichomonas foetus. The 
organism lives in microscopic folds, or crypts of the skin of 
penis and prepuce of bulls and colonizes the reproductive 
tract of cows. It causes abortion and extended calving 
seasons. While cows can clear the infection, bulls remain 
persistently infected and spread infection during natural 
service. 
California’s Trichomonosis Program 
Trichomonosis is a serious economic 
threat to California’s cattle herds. The 
livestock industry sponsored legislation to 
develop a trichomonosis control program 
and the California Department of Food and 
Agriculture (CDFA) developed regulations 
that became effective in 2003. New laws 
strengthened the program in 2007, and the Polymerase 
Chain Reaction (PCR) test was added in 2011. Additional 
changes to the program went into effect in 2017, including 
requiring individual PCR for certain testing, addressing non-
virgin bulls  less than 18 months of age, and utilizing 
“trichomonosis approved eartags”. 

Requirements for Bulls Sold in California 
Bulls 18 months of age and older, and non-virgin bulls less 
than 18 months of age, changing ownership in California 
require a negative PCR trichomonosis test within 60 days 
before the sale. The sample for testing has to be collected 
after 10 days without contact with sexually mature 
female cattle. 
Exemption from testing include: 
• Bulls going directly to slaughter, or to a feedlot for 

feeding (no grazing or exposure to female cattle) and 
then to slaughter 

• Bulls used only for artificial insemination that meet 
Certified Semen Services standards 

• Bulls sold to a buyer with a current Bull Slaughter 
Agreement 

Signs are placed at sale yards informing producers that: 
“Non-virgin bulls less than 18 months of age and all bulls 18 
month of age and over sold for breeding must have a 
negative trichomonosis test or be consigned as slaughter 
only.” 

 

 
 

Standardization Sampling and Testing 
Sample quality and testing are critical for diagnosing and 
controlling trichomonosis. Current laws require biennial 
training and approval for veterinarians collecting 
trichomonosis samples, and for laboratories processing 
samples, as diagnostics can be affected by sample 
contamination or shipping temperature. 

 
Requirements for Bulls Entering California 
All bulls 18 months of age and over, and non-virgin bulls less 
than 18 months of age, require a permit, health certificate 
with a statement that trichomonosis has not been diagnosed 
in the herd of origin within the past 24 months, official ID, 
and a negative individual PCR trichomonosis test within 60 
days prior to entry. The sample for testing has to be 
collected after 10 days without contact with sexually mature 
female cattle. 
Exemptions from testing include: 
• Bulls going directly to slaughter, or to a feedlot for 

feeding (no grazing or exposure to female cattle) and 
then to slaughter 

• Bulls used only for artificial insemination that meet 
Certified Semen Services standards 

• Bulls used only for exhibition and not commingling with                        
breeding cattle 

Reporting and Investigating Trichomonosis Cases 
Trichomonosis is a reportable disease. Veterinarians, 
laboratories, or owners must report cases of trichomonosis 
to CDFA within two days of a diagnosis. Negative tests must 
be reported to CDFA within 30 days. 

CDFA personnel investigate trichomonosis cases, notify 
owners of potentially exposed cattle, and quarantine bulls in 
affected and exposed herds. 
• Infected bulls will be quarantined and may only be sold 

for slaughter. 
• One (or two for some herds) negative individual real-time 

PCR test  at the owner’s expense is required for all herd-
mate bulls, and bulls in exposed herds 

 

Between Oct. 1, 2020 - Sept. 30, 2021, a total of 11,438 
bulls were tested. Of those 19 bulls tested positive and orig- 
inated from 3 affected premises. 

Animal Health and Food Safety Services 
Animal Health Branch 

Headquarters - (916) 900-5002 
Redding District - (530) 225-2140 
Modesto District - (209) 491-9350 

Tulare District - (559) 685-3500 
Ontario District - (909) 947-5932 

USDA-APHIS-VS - (916) 854-3950 or (877) 741-3690 

 
http://www.cdfa.ca.gov/AHFSS/Animal_Health/Trichomonosis_Info.html 
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