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Dairy Cattle Entry Requirements 

Interstate Livestock Entry Permit 
(3 CCR §831.4; FAC 10610) 

California requires an Interstate Livestock 
Entry Permit for all cattle (including steers and 
slaughter cattle). To obtain an Interstate 
Livestock Entry Permit, please call the California 
Department of Food and Agriculture (CDFA) 
Animal Health Branch (AHB) permit line at 
(916) 900-5052. Permits are valid for 15 days
after being issued.

Certificate of Veterinary Inspection 
(3 CCR §831.4; FAC 10610) 

California requires a Certificate of Veterinary 
Inspection (CVI) for cattle within 30 days before 
movement into the state. 

Exemptions: 
• Cattle moving directly to slaughter if a brand

certificate, owner-shipper statement, or
saleyard release accompanies the shipment.

Official Identification (ID) 
(3 CCR §831.3, §831.4; FAC 10610) 

All dairy cattle require individual official ID. 

Official ID must be listed on the CVI, except: 
• Cattle moving from an Approved Livestock

Market directly to a recognized slaughtering
establishment.

• Steers or spayed heifers.

Note: 
• If official ID is required, but listing it is not, the

CVI must state “all animals are officially
identified”.

• Brand inspection requirements remain in
place.

See CDFA’s Fact Sheet “Cattle - Official 
Identification Options” for detailed information on 
options for official ID for cattle. 

If you are transporting livestock into California 
with an electronic CVI, please have the 

information readily available on your device or
print and present a hard copy to the Inspector 

at the Border Protection Station. 

Animal Health Branch Permit Line: 
(916) 900-5052

Animal Health and Food Safety Services 
Animal Health Branch 

Headquarters - (916) 900-5002 
Redding District - (530) 225-2140 
Modesto District - (209) 491-9350 
Tulare District - (559) 685-3500 
Ontario District - (909) 947-5932

For California entry requirements of other live-
stock and animals, please visit the following: 

Information About Livestock and Pet    
Movement or Animal Health Entry 
Requirement Interactive Website 

For more information on the Animal 
Health Branch, please visit: 

www.cdfa.ca.gov/ah 

Page 1 of 2 

w
w

w
.c

d
fa

.c
a

.g
o

v 

https://govt.westlaw.com/calregs/Document/I5229D2715A0D11EC8227000D3A7C4BC3?viewType=FullText&listSource=Search&originationContext=Search+Result&transitionType=SearchItem&contextData=(sc.Search)&navigationPath=Search%2fv1%2fresults%2fnavigation%2fi0ad720f200000182dbfdd9d0101aad70%3fppcid%3dcd5147ecd6c74b289750a14f30ac6c47%26Nav%3dREGULATION_PUBLICVIEW%26fragmentIdentifier%3dI5229D2715A0D11EC8227000D3A7C4BC3%26startIndex%3d1%26transitionType%3dSearchItem%26contextData%3d%2528sc.Default%2529%26originationContext%3dSearch%2520Result&list=REGULATION_PUBLICVIEW&rank=1&t_T2=831.4&t_S1=CA+ADC+s
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=FAC&division=5.&title=&part=2.&chapter=4.&article=
https://govt.westlaw.com/calregs/Document/I5229D2715A0D11EC8227000D3A7C4BC3?viewType=FullText&listSource=Search&originationContext=Search+Result&transitionType=SearchItem&contextData=(sc.Search)&navigationPath=Search%2fv1%2fresults%2fnavigation%2fi0ad720f200000182dbfdd9d0101aad70%3fppcid%3dcd5147ecd6c74b289750a14f30ac6c47%26Nav%3dREGULATION_PUBLICVIEW%26fragmentIdentifier%3dI5229D2715A0D11EC8227000D3A7C4BC3%26startIndex%3d1%26transitionType%3dSearchItem%26contextData%3d%2528sc.Default%2529%26originationContext%3dSearch%2520Result&list=REGULATION_PUBLICVIEW&rank=1&t_T2=831.4&t_S1=CA+ADC+s
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=FAC&division=5.&title=&part=2.&chapter=4.&article=
https://govt.westlaw.com/calregs/Document/I521D01335A0D11EC8227000D3A7C4BC3?viewType=FullText&listSource=Search&originationContext=Search+Result&transitionType=SearchItem&contextData=(sc.Search)&navigationPath=Search%2fv1%2fresults%2fnavigation%2fi0ad720f200000182dc0dc5a5101aafa2%3fppcid%3dbcd8402627e5436690709cc280a4dab4%26Nav%3dREGULATION_PUBLICVIEW%26fragmentIdentifier%3dI521D01335A0D11EC8227000D3A7C4BC3%26startIndex%3d1%26transitionType%3dSearchItem%26contextData%3d%2528sc.Default%2529%26originationContext%3dSearch%2520Result&list=REGULATION_PUBLICVIEW&rank=1&t_T2=831.3&t_S1=CA+ADC+s
https://govt.westlaw.com/calregs/Document/I5229D2715A0D11EC8227000D3A7C4BC3?viewType=FullText&listSource=Search&originationContext=Search+Result&transitionType=SearchItem&contextData=(sc.Search)&navigationPath=Search%2fv1%2fresults%2fnavigation%2fi0ad720f200000182dbfdd9d0101aad70%3fppcid%3dcd5147ecd6c74b289750a14f30ac6c47%26Nav%3dREGULATION_PUBLICVIEW%26fragmentIdentifier%3dI5229D2715A0D11EC8227000D3A7C4BC3%26startIndex%3d1%26transitionType%3dSearchItem%26contextData%3d%2528sc.Default%2529%26originationContext%3dSearch%2520Result&list=REGULATION_PUBLICVIEW&rank=1&t_T2=831.4&t_S1=CA+ADC+s
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=FAC&division=5.&title=&part=2.&chapter=4.&article=
https://www.cdfa.ca.gov/ahfss/animal_health/pdfs/OfficialCattleTags.pdf
https://www.cdfa.ca.gov/ahfss/animal_health/pdfs/OfficialCattleTags.pdf
https://www.cdfa.ca.gov/ahfss/Animal_Health/Entry_Requirements.html
https://www.cdfa.ca.gov/ahfss/Animal_Health/Entry_Requirements.html
https://apps5.cdfa.ca.gov/AnimalPermitRequirements/
https://apps5.cdfa.ca.gov/AnimalPermitRequirements/
http://www.cdfa.ca.gov
www.cdfa.ca.gov/ah
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Dairy Cattle Entry Requirements 

Brucellosis 
(3 CCR §753.1; FAC 10326, 10327) 

California requires official brucellosis calfhood 
vaccination and a legible brucellosis tattoo for all 
female breeding dairy cattle 4 months of age 
and over before movement into the state. 

• Non-vaccinated dairy heifers 4-12 months of
age require a Special Entry Permit to: be
vaccinated or spayed after arrival, or move to
a registered feedlot or slaughter pen.

• Non-vaccinated female cattle over 12 months
of age can only enter for slaughter or on a
Special Entry Permit to: be spayed after
arrival, or move to a registered feedlot (if
under 18 months) or slaughter pen/terminal
feedlot.

Sexually intact cattle of any age moving from a 
Designated Brucellosis Surveillance Area 
require a negative brucellosis blood test 
obtained within 30 days before movement into 
the state and a Special Entry Permit. 

Tuberculosis (TB) 
(3 CCR §758; FAC 9932) 

California requires a negative TB test for dairy 
breeding cattle 6 months of age and over, 
obtained within 60 days before movement into 
the state. 

Trichomonosis 
(3 CCR §820.3; FAC 10610) 

California requires a negative individual PCR 
trichomonosis test on bulls 18 months of age 
and over and non-virgin bulls less than 18 
months of age. 

Samples must be taken at least 10 days after 
last contact with sexually mature cows, and 
within 60 days before movement into the state. 

California requires the CVI to include the test 
date, test type, test result, and statement, 
“Trichomonosis has not been diagnosed in 
the herd of origin within the past 24 months.” 

Note: Test results from pooled samples are 
not acceptable. 

Exemptions: 
• Bulls moving to a certified semen collection

facility.
• Bulls used solely for exhibition, confined to

an exhibition location without access to
mature female cattle.

• Bulls moving directly to a recognized
slaughtering facility, or to a feedlot for feeding
(no grazing or exposure to female cattle) and
then to slaughter.
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Distinction between Beef and Dairy Cattle 
(3 CCR §830; FAC 10610)

“Dairy cattle” means all cattle, regardless of age 
or sex or current use, that are 40 percent or 
more dairy in breed(s).

https://govt.westlaw.com/calregs/Document/I4C2E9A435A0D11EC8227000D3A7C4BC3?viewType=FullText&listSource=Search&originationContext=Search+Result&transitionType=SearchItem&contextData=(sc.Search)&navigationPath=Search%2fv1%2fresults%2fnavigation%2fi0ad720f100000182dc01712ccd2d3eb2%3fppcid%3dcb4511442d0d49c1bd79bfd1f840bfa4%26Nav%3dREGULATION_PUBLICVIEW%26fragmentIdentifier%3dI4C2E9A435A0D11EC8227000D3A7C4BC3%26startIndex%3d1%26transitionType%3dSearchItem%26contextData%3d%2528sc.Default%2529%26originationContext%3dSearch%2520Result&list=REGULATION_PUBLICVIEW&rank=1&t_T2=753.1&t_S1=CA+ADC+s
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=FAC&division=5.&title=&part=2.&chapter=3.&article=2.
https://govt.westlaw.com/calregs/Document/I4D4ADFB35A0D11EC8227000D3A7C4BC3?viewType=FullText&listSource=Search&originationContext=Search+Result&transitionType=SearchItem&contextData=(sc.Search)&navigationPath=Search%2fv1%2fresults%2fnavigation%2fi0ad720f100000182dc027e04cd2d3ef2%3fppcid%3d09e0f8c9a24146739a46db431af87610%26Nav%3dREGULATION_PUBLICVIEW%26fragmentIdentifier%3dI4D4ADFB35A0D11EC8227000D3A7C4BC3%26startIndex%3d1%26transitionType%3dSearchItem%26contextData%3d%2528sc.Default%2529%26originationContext%3dSearch%2520Result&list=REGULATION_PUBLICVIEW&rank=1&t_T2=758&t_S1=CA+ADC+s
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=FAC&division=5.&title=&part=2.&chapter=2.&article=2.
https://govt.westlaw.com/calregs/Document/I50E98A415A0D11EC8227000D3A7C4BC3?viewType=FullText&listSource=Search&originationContext=Search+Result&transitionType=SearchItem&contextData=(sc.Search)&navigationPath=Search%2fv1%2fresults%2fnavigation%2fi0ad720f100000182dc01f125cd2d3ef0%3fppcid%3d6c8c4231ca4d461a90d6138646425617%26Nav%3dREGULATION_PUBLICVIEW%26fragmentIdentifier%3dI50E98A415A0D11EC8227000D3A7C4BC3%26startIndex%3d1%26transitionType%3dSearchItem%26contextData%3d%2528sc.Default%2529%26originationContext%3dSearch%2520Result&list=REGULATION_PUBLICVIEW&rank=1&t_T2=820.3&t_S1=CA+ADC+s
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=FAC&division=5.&title=&part=2.&chapter=4.&article=
http://www.cdfa.ca.gov
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=FAC&division=5.&title=&part=2.&chapter=4.&article=
https://govt.westlaw.com/calregs/Document/I519581B35A0D11EC8227000D3A7C4BC3?viewType=FullText&originationContext=documenttoc&transitionType=CategoryPageItem&contextData=(sc.Default)



