CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF

Industrial Hemp Registration Frequently Asked Questions:

REGISTRATION RENEWAL PROCESS

<u>Q: My registration to cultivate industrial hemp is expiring soon. How do I renew my registration?</u>

A. To renew your registration, you must submit a registration application along with a renewal fee and provide the supporting documents to the county agricultural commissioner no less than 30 calendar days prior to the expiration of your registration in accordance with Section 4901(e) in Title 3 of the California Code of Regulations (CCR).

Q: When must I renew my registration?

A. 3 CCR Section 4901(e) requires at least 30 days prior to the expiration of the registration, the registrant must submit a registration application to the county agricultural commissioner stating the applicant intends to renew the registration.

Will I be notified as to when I should renew?

A. A courtesy renewal notice will be mailed out to registrants prior to the expiration of registration. Regardless of whether you did or did not receive a renewal notice, you must submit a registration application and fees (if applicable) at least 30 days prior to the expiration of the registration.

I did not receive a registration renewal notice. How do I obtain it?

A. You do not need a renewal notice to renew your registration. Registration applications are available on <u>CDFA's Industrial Hemp Program webpage</u>. The renewal application is the same as the new registration application. Make sure to indicate "renewal" on the application and provide your registration number.

<u>Q: I am planning to renew and there will be no changes to my registration. Can I just submit</u> the renewal fee without filling out the application again?

A. 3 CCR Section 4901(e)(1) requires that registrants complete and submit a registration application the county agricultural commissioner in each county in which the applicant intends to renew the registration each year.

Is there a penalty in renewing my registration late?

A. There is no late fee associated with registration renewal at this time. However, any disruption in your registration may result in existing industrial hemp crops to be identified as non-compliant. In accordance with 3 CCR Section 4950, any industrial hemp crop that does not meet the requirements of California Food and Agricultural Code (FAC) Division 24 and 3 CCR Section 4901 must be destroyed in a manner approved by the county agricultural commissioner.

<u>Q: I am currently registered as a grower, but would like to renew as a different registration</u> class (breeder or established agricultural research institution) instead. What should I do?

A. Any changes to the registration class requires a new registration application and fee (if applicable). The applicant that is an established agricultural research institution must fill out the <u>Industrial Hemp Registration Application for Established Agricultural Research Institutions</u> if cultivating for agricultural or academic research. The applicant must fill out the <u>Industrial Hemp Registration Application for Breeders</u> if cultivating for the purpose of developing a new cultivar. The applicant must fill out the <u>Industrial Hemp Registration for Breeders</u> if cultivating for all other purposes.

<u>Q: I am not interested in cultivating industrial hemp and I do not plan to renew. What do I need to do?</u>

A. We recommend that you contact the county agricultural commissioner to let them know that you do not intend to renew the registration. Any industrial hemp cultivation activities, after registration expires, will be considered non-compliant.

FAC Sections 81003, 81004, and 81004.5 require registration prior to planting. Any activities related to the previous registration must be completed prior to the expiration.

For more information on the program, visit <u>CDFA's Industrial Hemp Program webpage</u>. If you have any questions, contact Industrial Hemp Program at (916) 654-0435 or industrialhemp@cdfa.ca.gov.