

April 1, 2010 DMS Notice D-10-3

Discard: Retain

## TO WEIGHTS AND MEASURES OFFICIALS

## **Subject: Type Evaluation Fee Schedule**

Pursuant to Section 12500.9 of Chapter 5, Division of the Business and Professions Code, the Department of Food and Agriculture is required to collect fees for the cost of staff time, mileage, and equipment expended in providing prototype-evaluation service and non-governmental agency testing for weighing and measuring devices.

The following Schedule of Fees is effective as of April 2010 and will remain in effect until revised.

## SCHEDULE OF UNIFORM FEES REQUIRED BY BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS CODE SECTION 12210.5

Staff Time Per Diem	- \$125.00 per hour (\$187.50 per hour for overtime) Actual costs.
Transportation	- Manufacturers are responsible for the round trip
Transportation	costs of transportation for the specialists between
	Sacramento and the test site. Transportation
	includes specialist's time; airline, rail or other fare;
	vehicle rental; tolls; parking and mileage cost.
Load Cell Test	- \$6000.00 first cell, \$3000.00 each additional cell
	per evaluation (same type)
Environmental Lab	- \$500.00 per device per full cycle.
	\$200.00 per device for less than full cycle.
Certificate of Approval, Updates,	- \$625.00 per certificate, up to two pages; plus
Cross references, Amendments, etc.	\$150.00 per each additional page
Letter of Certificate required by	- \$200.00 per device, component or part reviewed
California Air Resources Board	

EQUIPMENT (Typical)	PER DAY	PER MILE
Pickup truck, van Pickup truck or van used for carrying weights or pulling a prover	- \$40.00 - \$50.00	\$0.50 \$0.60
*Heavy capacity scale test truck (up to 20,000 lb)	- \$500.00	\$3.00



 DMS NOTICE D-10-3 April 1, 2010 Page 2

LPG Prover trailer (25 and 100 gallon)	- \$200.00
Electric watt-hour meter test unit	- \$80.00
1 gallon piston prover	- \$30.00
5 or 1 gallon test measure	- \$30.00
50 to 100 gallon prover	- \$75.00
300 gallon prover	- \$100.00
Gravimetric test equipment	- \$100.00
Cryogenic transfer standard	- \$250.00
Stillman bottle	- \$75.00

Nozzle test vessel - \$50.00 per evaluation

Bell prover - \$100.00

Water meter test bench - \$75.00 per water meter

Repetitive load tester - \$40.00 per device ≤ 50 lb. capacity \$65.00 per device ≥ 50 lb. capacity

The fees, established herein, also govern usage of county personnel and equipment in testing. All county costs incurred in testing will be submitted to the Division of Measurement Standards and will be included in invoices, sent to manufacturers.

All evaluations are to be covered by a deposit for the estimated costs. Deposits are to be submitted before any expenses are encumbered. Issuance of certificate is contingent on the payment of all fees.

Request for, and questions concerning, type evaluation examinations in California should be addressed to: Division of Measurement Standards, 6790 Florin Perkins Road, Suite 100, Sacramento, CA 95828, (916) 229-3000. Additional type evaluation information may be obtained by visiting our website at: http://www.cdfa.ca.gov/dms/programs/ctep/ctep.html

If you have any questions, please contact Dan Reiswig, Program Supervisor, Compliance and Evaluation Branch at (916) 229-3023 or via e-mail <a href="mailto:dreiswig@cdfa.ca.gov">dreiswig@cdfa.ca.gov</a>.

Sincerely,

Edmund E. Williams

Edul PWilliams

Director

cc: Kristin Macey, Director, CDFA County Liaison Office

<sup>\*2</sup> hour minimum charge.