## DEPARTMENT OF FOOD AND AGRICULTURE

Division of Measurement Standards 6790 Florin Perkins Road, Suite 100 Sacramento, California 95828-1812 Phone: (916) 229-3000 FAX: (916) 229-3026

December 3, 2007

ARNOLD SCHWARZENEGGER, Governor

A.G. KAWAMURA, Secretary

DMS Notice D–07-7



Discard: Retain

TO WEIGHTS AND MEASURES OFFICIALS

## Subject: Type Evaluation Fee Schedule

Pursuant to Section 12500.9 of Chapter 5, Division of the Business and Professions Code, the Department of Food and Agriculture is required to collect fees for the cost of staff time, mileage, and equipment expended in providing prototype-evaluation service and non-governmental agency testing for weighing and measuring devices.

The following Schedule of Fees is effective as of February 2008 and will remain in effect until revised.

## SCHEDULE OF UNIFORM FEES REQUIRED BY BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS CODE SECTION 12210.5

Per Diem -	-	<ul> <li>\$110.00 per hour (\$165.00 per hour for overtime).</li> <li>Actual costs.</li> <li>Manufacturers are responsible for the round trip costs of transportation for the specialists between</li> <li>Sacramento and the test site. Transportation includes specialist's time; airline, rail or other fare; vehicle rental; tolls; parking and mileage cost.</li> </ul>			
Load Cell Test	-	<ul> <li>\$5000.00 first cell, \$2500.00 each additional cell per evaluation (same type)</li> <li>\$425.00 per device per full cycle.</li> <li>\$175.00 per device for less than full cycle.</li> <li>\$475.00 per certificate, up to two pages; plus</li> </ul>			
Environmental Lab	-				
Certificate of Approval, Updates, Cross references, Amendments, etc. Letter of Certificate required by California Air Resources Board	-				
EQUIPMENT (Typical)		PER DAY	PER MILE		
Pickup truck, van	-	\$40.00	\$0.50		
Pickup truck or van used for carrying weights or pulling a prover	-	\$50.00	\$0.60		
*Heavy capacity scale test truck and trailer (25 000 plus lb cert.)	-	\$350.00	\$3.00		

DMS NOTICE D-07-7 December 3, 2007 Page 2

*Medium capacity scale test truck (10 000 lb cert.)	-	\$275.00	\$2.50
LPG Prover Trailer	-	\$125.00	
(25 and 100 gallon)			
Electric watt-hour meter test unit	-	\$80.00	
1 gallon piston prover	-	\$30.00	
5 or 1 gallon test measure	-	\$30.00	
50 to 100 gallon prover	-	\$75.00	
300 gallon prover	-	\$100.00	
Gravimetric test equipment	-	\$100.00	
Cryogenic transfer standard	-	\$250.00	
Stillman bottle	-	\$75.00	
Nozzle test vessel	-	\$50.00 per evaluation	
Bell prover	-	\$100.00	
Water meter test bench	-	\$75.00 per water meter	
Repetitive load tester	-	\$40.00 per device $\leq$ 50 lb.	capacity
		\$65.00 per device $\geq$ 50 lb.	capacity

\*2 hour minimum charge.

The fees, established herein, also govern usage of county personnel and equipment in testing. All county costs incurred in testing will be submitted to the Division of Measurement Standards and will be included in invoices, sent to manufacturers.

All evaluations are to be covered by a deposit for the estimated costs. Deposits are to be submitted before any expenses are encumbered. Issuance of certificate is contingent on the payment of all fees.

Request for, and questions concerning, type evaluation examinations in California should be addressed to: Division of Measurement Standards, 6790 Florin Perkins Road, Suite 100, Sacramento, CA 95828, (916) 229-3000. Additional information may be obtained by visiting our website at: www.cdfa.ca.gov/dms

If you have any questions, please contact Gary Castro, Program Supervisor, Compliance and Evaluation Branch at (916) 229-3049 or via e-mail <u>gcastro@cdfa.ca.gov</u>.

Sincerely,

Vennis R. Johannes

Dennis R. Johannes Director

cc: Kevin Masuhara, Director, County Liaison Office