State of California Department of Food and Agriculture Bureau of Livestock Identification 1220 N Street, Sacramento, CA 95814 Office: (916) 900-5006, Fax: (916) 900-5335 APPLICATION FOR DAIRY EXEMPTION NUMBER

I hereby apply for a Dairy Exemption Number based on the qualifications as set forth in the State of California Food and Agriculture Code, Division 9, Chapter 3, Section 16522.5. Said section states that a dairy exemption number shall be evidence of ownership of cull beef cows and bulls of a recognized dairy breed presented for sale at a registered or posted saleyard or licensed slaughter plant for immediate slaughter. Any person owning a dairy farm as defined in Section 32505 may apply to the Secretary for an exemption number. The Secretary may refuse to issue such number to persons convicted of violating a provision of the Food and Agriculture Code, or to persons convicted of theft.

The Dairy Exemption Number shall be written on the bill of consignment, defined in Section 21703, when the cattle and consignment slip are presented to an inspector at the registered or posted saleyard, or licensed slaughter plant. An exemption number shall be deemed to meet the identification information requirements of section 21703. The cows shall be consigned, owned, and sold in the name of the person having the exemption number.

Upon approval, a certificate will be sent to you for your records. The number is valid for five years.

I hereby acknowledge that I have read the above information and am in compliance with the requirements as set forth in said Division 9, Chapter 3, Section 16522.5.

Application Fee is \$50.00. Make your check payable to CDFA – Cashiers and send with application to the above address (CDFA – Bureau of Livestock ID, 1220 N Street, Sacramento, CA 95814).

Dairy Name:	Office P	Office Phone:	
Incorporated: Yes No		Fax:	
Mailing Address:	Ci	ty: Zip:	
Physical Address of Dairy:	Ci	ty: Zip:	
Brand(s) Registered to Dairy:	Number	of Milking Cows:	
Brand Numb	per(s) & Location(s)		
Owners or Corporate Officers (Name & Ti	tle): Address:	Telephone:	
I hereby certify under penalty of perjury th	at I am the owner of the abov	e referenced cattle.	
Signature of Owner or Corporate Officer	I	Date	
Office Use Only			
Number Assigned:	Approval Date:	Renewal Date:	
Reviewing Officer: RC Da	ate: RC #:		
74-010A (Rev 10/2021)			

State of California Department of Food and Agriculture Bureau of Livestock Identification 1220 N Street, Sacramento, CA 95814 Office: (916) 900-5006, Fax: (916) 900-5335

16522.5.

(a) A dairy exemption number shall be evidence of ownership of cull beef cows and bulls of a recognized dairy breed presented for sale at a registered or posted salesyard, or licensed slaughter plant for immediate slaughter. Any person owning a dairy farm as defined in Section 32505 may apply to the secretary for an exemption number.

(b) Every five years, the secretary may charge a fee to cover the cost of issuing and renewing a dairy exemption number. The fee may not exceed fifty dollars (\$50). The secretary may refuse to issue such number to persons who have violated any provision of Division 9 (commencing with Section 16301), Division 10 (commencing with Section 20001), or Division 11 (commencing with Section 23001) of the Food and Agricultural Code, or to persons convicted of livestock theft.

(c) The dairy exemption number shall be written on the bill of consignment, defined in Section 21703, when the cattle and consignment slip are presented to an inspector at the registered or posted salesyard, or licensed slaughter plant. The salesyard operator shall display the letters "EX" in the description line of the salesyard outbilling. An exemption number shall be deemed to meet the identification information requirements of Section 21703. The cows shall be consigned, owned, and sold in the name of the person having the exemption number.

(d) The secretary may revoke the dairy exemption number of any person who violates any provision of the Food and Agricultural Code, or who is convicted of livestock theft. 21703. Except as provided in Section 21058, bills of sale or consignment required by any provision of Division 9 (commencing with Section16301) or Division 10 (commencing with Section 20001) shall be made on the "Bill of Sale or Consignment" form approved by the director, and shall state all of the following information for animals sold or consigned:

(a) The date of sale or consignment.

(b) The loading point.

(c) The name and address of the owner or the consignor, or both.

(d) The destination.

(e) The number and description of the animals including their brands, if any.

(f) The name and address of the buyer or consignee, or both.

(g) The name of the transporter or carrier and the license number of the vehicle used transport the animals.

(h) The signature of the owner or his authorized agent. 32505. "Dairy Farm" means any place or premises upon which milk is produced for sale or other distribution and where more than two (2) cows or six (6) goats are in lactation.