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CALIFORN I A DEPARTMENT O F 

FOOD & AGR ICU LTURE 

November 2019 

Rodeo, Exhibition, or Recreational 

Cattle Entry Requirements 

Entry Documentation 
(3 CCR §831.4; FAC 10610) 

California requires an Interstate Livestock 
Entry Permit for all cattle entering solely for 
rodeo, exhibition, or recreational purposes, 
including one-time event cattle used in team 
penning, roping, and cutting events. 

To obtain an Interstate Livestock Entry Permit, 
please call the California Department of Food 
and Agriculture (CDFA) Animal Health 
Branch (AHB) permit line at (916) 900-5052. 
Permits are valid for 15 days after being 
issued. 

California requires a Certificate of Veterinary 
Inspection (CVI) for cattle within 30 days 
before movement into the state. 

Official Identification (ID) 
(3 CCR §831.3, §831.4; FAC 10610) 

All rodeo, exhibition, or recreational cattle 
require official ID, and it must be listed on 
the CVI. 

See CDFA’s Fact Sheet “Cattle—Official 
Identification Options” for detailed information 
on options for official ID for cattle. 

Note: Brand inspection requirements remain 
in effect. 

Brucellosis 
(3 CCR §753.1; FAC 10326, 10327) 

California requires official brucellosis calfhood 
vaccination and a legible brucellosis tattoo for 
female dairy breed cattle 4 months of age and 
over and female beef breed cattle 12 months of 
age and over before entry. Sexually intact cattle of 
any age moving from a Designated Brucellosis 
Surveillance Area require a negative brucellosis 
blood test obtained within 30 days before entry 
and a Special Entry Permit. 

Tuberculosis (TB) 
(3 CCR §758; FAC 9932) 

California requires a negative TB test for all dairy 
breeding cattle 6 months of age and older, and 
beef breeding cattle 6 months of age and older if 
originating from states/zones that are not classified 
as “TB Free.” A negative test must be obtained 
within 60 days before movement into the state. 

Trichomonosis 
(3 CCR §820.3; FAC 10610) 

Bulls that will remain under confinement at the 
exhibition location without access to sexually 
mature female cattle are exempt from 
trichomonosis test requirements. Please call the 
AHB permit line at (916) 900-5052 for more 
information. 

Animal Health Branch Permit Line: 
(916) 900-5052 

For California entry requirements of other  
livestock and animals, please visit the 

following: Information About Livestock and 
Pet Movement or Animal Health Entry 

Requirement Interactive Website 

If you are transporting livestock into California with 
an electronic CVI, please print and present a hard 

copy to the Inspector at the Border Protection 
Station. 

Animal Health and Food Safety Services 
Animal Health Branch 

Headquarters - (916) 900-5002 
Redding District - (530) 225-2140 
Modesto District - (209) 491-9350 
Tulare District - (559) 685-3500 
Ontario District - (909) 947-4462 

For more information on the Animal 
Health Branch, please visit: 

www.cdfa.ca.gov/ah 
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https://govt.westlaw.com/calregs/Document/IAFE7F574CE754A51B77B68ADAD597A51?viewType=FullText&originationContext=documenttoc&transitionType=CategoryPageItem&contextData=(sc.Default)
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=FAC&division=5.&title=&part=2.&chapter=4.&article=
https://govt.westlaw.com/calregs/Document/IA57CEE580EAF46FD9966FD86E1DAAAD7?viewType=FullText&originationContext=documenttoc&transitionType=CategoryPageItem&contextData=(sc.Default)
https://govt.westlaw.com/calregs/Document/IAFE7F574CE754A51B77B68ADAD597A51?viewType=FullText&originationContext=documenttoc&transitionType=CategoryPageItem&contextData=(sc.Default)
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=FAC&division=5.&title=&part=2.&chapter=4.&article=
https://www.cdfa.ca.gov/ahfss/animal_health/pdfs/OfficialCattleTags.pdf
https://www.cdfa.ca.gov/ahfss/animal_health/pdfs/OfficialCattleTags.pdf
https://govt.westlaw.com/calregs/Document/I98AFF94E2F514D9383901791ED80DE2A?viewType=FullText&originationContext=documenttoc&transitionType=CategoryPageItem&contextData=(sc.Default)
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=FAC&division=5.&title=&part=2.&chapter=3.&article=2.
https://govt.westlaw.com/calregs/Document/I93BF26EB087A454CB7CB8BF7D01E396C?viewType=FullText&originationContext=documenttoc&transitionType=CategoryPageItem&contextData=(sc.Default)
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=FAC&division=5.&title=&part=2.&chapter=2.&article=2.
https://govt.westlaw.com/calregs/Document/IDF7CABA4D5E54731A352A36F46003A7F?viewType=FullText&originationContext=documenttoc&transitionType=CategoryPageItem&contextData=(sc.Default)
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=FAC&division=5.&title=&part=2.&chapter=4.&article=
http://www.cdfa.ca.gov
https://www.cdfa.ca.gov/ahfss/Animal_Health/Entry_Requirements.html
https://www.cdfa.ca.gov/ahfss/Animal_Health/Entry_Requirements.html
https://apps5.cdfa.ca.gov/AnimalPermitRequirements/
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