**CALIFORNIA EQUINE MEDICATION RULE\*** 

## ATTENTION CONSIGNORS

## NOTIFICATION OF CALIFORNIA EQUINE MEDICATION RULE\*

Detection of any prohibited drug or non-steroidal antiinflammatory drugs (NSAID) in a sample collected from a horse consigned to a public sale is a violation.

## You are required by LAW to:

- Comply with the California Equine Medication Rule.
- Pay the \$14.00 drug fee for each horse entered in a public sale.
- Cooperate with Equine Medication Monitoring Program (EMMP) personnel from the time of horse selection for collection of a urine or blood sample until EMMP personnel officially release the selected horse.
- Withdraw a horse from a public sale for 72 hours after the administration of a prohibited substance or an NSAID.
- Withdraw a horse from a public sale for 90 days following the administration of an anabolic steroid.
- Withdraw a horse from a public sale for 45 days following the administration of reserpine or fluphenazine.
- File a drug declaration with sale manager for any horse that has received a prohibited substance or non steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAID) within the five (5) days prior to the public sale.

Failure to cooperate or adhere to the above regulations shall constitute a violation subject to a civil penalty of not less than \$100 and not more than \$10,000.

For more information on the EMMP administered by:

California Department of Food and Agriculture Mailing Address: 1220 N Street Sacramento, CA 95814 (916) 268-0609

Email: EMMP@cdfa.ca.gov

Website: <a href="http://www.cdfa.ca.gov/ahfss/Animal\_Health/emmp/">http://www.cdfa.ca.gov/ahfss/Animal\_Health/emmp/</a>

\*(Food and Agriculture Code sections 24000- 24018)