28

CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF
FOOD & AGRICULTURE

These requirements apply to horses, ponies,
mules, donkeys, burros, and zebras.

California requires a Certificate of Veterinary
Inspection (CVI) within 30 days before entry
into the state (FAC 9641.5).

« California also accepts the six (6) month
Extended Equine Certificate of Veterinary
Inspection (EECVI) in lieu of the standard 30-
day CVI.

« If you have horses used for livestock
husbandry or for other ranch-related
activities, please call the California
Department of Food and Agriculture (CDFA)
Animal Health Branch (AHB) permit line at
(916) 900-5052 to inquire about a Working
Horse Permit, which is used in lieu of a CVI.

California requires evidence of negative Equine
Infectious Anemia (EIA) test performed at a
United States Department of Agriculture (USDA)
-approved laboratory within 12 months before
entry into the state (FAC 9641.5).

Note:

« An EIA test “pending” result does not meet
the entry requirement.

« The CVI must list the date of the EIA test,
name of laboratory that performed the test,
laboratory accession number, and the test
result.
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Equine Entry Requirements

Official Methods of Equine Identification
Include:

« A description to identify the individual equine
including, but not limited to, name, age,
breed, color, gender, distinctive markings,
and unique permanent forms of identification
(e.g. brands, tattoos, scars, cowlicks,
blemishes, or iris scans),

« Digital photographs sufficient to identify the
individual equine (pictures of both sides,
front, and back), and/or

e Microchips:

+ USDA-compliant 134.2 kHz microchips, or
» All 125 kHz and 128 kHz microchips
implanted prior to March 2014.

See CDFA’s Fact Sheet “Equine - Official
Identification Options” for detailed information on
options for official ID for equids.

EIA Test Exemption
Nursing foals less than six (6) months of age
being moved with an EIA test negative dam.

For California entry requirements of other
livestock and animals, please visit the following:
Information About Livestock and Pet
Movement or Animal Health Entry
Requirement Interactive Website

If you are transporting livestock into California with
an electronic CVI, please have the information
readily available on your device or print and
present a hard copy to the Inspector at the Border
Protection Station.

Animal Health and Food Safety Services
Animal Health Branch
Headquarters - (916) 900-5002
Redding District - (530) 225-2140
Modesto District - (209) 491-9350

Tulare District - (559) 685-3500
Ontario District - (909) 947-5932
For more information on the Animal @EzEsE
Health Branch, please visit: o
www.cdfa.ca.gov/ah OEF 8
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https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=FAC&division=5.&title=&part=1.&chapter=3.&article=6.
https://www.globalvetlink.com/eecvi/
https://www.globalvetlink.com/eecvi/
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=FAC&division=5.&title=&part=1.&chapter=3.&article=6.
https://www.cdfa.ca.gov/ahfss/animal_health/pdfs/OfficialEquineID.pdf
https://www.cdfa.ca.gov/ahfss/animal_health/pdfs/OfficialEquineID.pdf
https://www.cdfa.ca.gov/ahfss/Animal_Health/Entry_Requirements.html
https://www.cdfa.ca.gov/ahfss/Animal_Health/Entry_Requirements.html
https://apps5.cdfa.ca.gov/AnimalPermitRequirements/
https://apps5.cdfa.ca.gov/AnimalPermitRequirements/
http://www.cdfa.ca.gov
www.cdfa.ca.gov/ah



